SubjectsPlus: JINS 388 - Hunting in America

TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
Book Search
Search the Library Catalog: for:

More library catalogs:   MOBIUS  | WorldCat

All Items by Source

Articles

America: History and Life Restricted Resource openURL
Indexes history journals and some other publications covering the US and Canada.
Art Full Text Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
A comprehensive resource for art information featuring full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, high-quality indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations.
Art Index Retrospective Restricted Resource openURL
A companion to Art Full Text, this database provides citations to older articles published between 1929 - 1984 in international arts periodicals. 
Index to Nineteenth Century American Art Periodicals
Print Location: Reference N 6510 .S35 1999
This two volume set indexes about 40 American art periodicals that were published during the 19th century.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.

Online Book Collection

eBook Collection (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:

      eBook Academic Collection
      eBook Clinical Collection
      eBook Community College Collection
      eBook High School Collection
      eBook K-8 Collection
      eBook Public Library Collection
ebrary Restricted Resource Some full text available
ebrary's Academic Complete is a growing ebook collection offering online, full-text access to over 70,000 titles in all academic subject areas.

Primary Sources

America's Historical Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full-text collection of over 1000 U.S. historical newspapers.  Divided into three collections: Series I (1690-1876), Series II (1758-1900), Series III (1829-1922).  Part of the Readex Archive of Americana database.
American Memory Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
American Memory is a gateway to the Library of Congress’s vast resources of digitized American historical materials. Comprising more than 9 million items that document U.S. history and culture, American Memory is organized into more than 100 thematic collections based on their original format, their subject matter, or who first created, assembled, or donated them to the Library.
American West Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available

A collection of digitized sources from the the Everett D. Graff Collection of Western Americana at the Newberry Library, Chicago.  This database contains a mixture of original manuscripts, maps, ephemeral material and rare printed sources:

  • Papers of early pioneers, explorers and hunters are well represented, including items such as the original manuscript journal and papers of James Audubon.
     
  • The evolution of Western towns can be seen through materials such as prospectuses and city directories.
  • The growth of railway and road networks can be explored through maps and through records of key railroad companies.
  • Emigrants guides, manuscript travel journals, store catalogues, illustrations and maps enable scholars to understand the phenomenon of Westward expansion.
  • Accounts of ranches and of the prairie lands document the agricultural transformation of the West.

Early American Imprints, Series I: Supplement LCP 1670-1800 Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Library Company of Philadelphia supplement collection offers nearly 1,000 rare and unique items printed during a 130-year period spanning the colonial era and the formation of the new nation.
Early American Imprints, Series II : Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819 Restricted Resource Some full text available
Covering every aspect of American life during the early decades of the United States,this database provides full-text access to the 36,000 American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the first nineteen years of the nineteenth century -- based on the authoritative bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker
Early American Imprints, Series II : Supplement LCP 1801-1819 Restricted Resource Some full text available
From the acclaimed holdings of the Library Company of Philadelphia comes a broad range of recently uncovered books, pamphlets and broadsides, most of which were not included in Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker's American Bibliography.
Searchable database of digitzed books & pamphlets published during the early part of the 19th century.
Making of America - Cornell University Some full text available
Making of America  is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. This site provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.

Making of America at University of Michigan is a couterpart to this collection.
http://quod.lib.umich.edu/m/moagrp/

Smithsonian Archive of American Art
A digitized collection of papers of artists and other archival material from the Archives of American Art including  letters, postcards, sketches, exhibition records, diaries, and other unique documents. The collection also includes transcripts of interviews with artists, collectors, gallery directors, and art historians.
Readers' Guide Retrospective. Restricted Resource openURL
Use this to identify articles published in popular interest magazines from 1890-1984.