SubjectsPlus: Justice Systems

TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
Book Search
Search the Library Catalog: for:

More library catalogs:   MOBIUS  | WorldCat

All Items by Source

Articles

Proquest Criminal Justice Restricted Resource openURL
Index to U.S. and international journals in criminal justice.  Articles cover law enforcement, corrections administration, rehabilitation, family law and other areas.  Coverage goes back to 1975 and roughly 245 journals are indexed, with 90 of these providing full text articles.  Some coverage of sociologcial and psychological theories of crime is included.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Some full text available
Contains summaries of more than 160,000 publications on criminal justice, including federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research. Subject areas include corrections, courts, drugs and crime, law enforcement, juvenile justice, crime statistics, and victims of crime. Covers items published from early 1970's to the present. 
More information from various government agencies (mainly from the Department of Justice) are listed under the "Data/Statistics" section.
SocIndex with Full Text Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
A comprehensive sociology research database with more than 1.9 million records and the full text for over 400 journals dating back to 1908.  Also contains full text for more than 700 books and monographs and more than 6000 conference papers.  Journals related to Criminology & Criminal Justice, Education, Gender Studies/GLBT Studies, History, and Education are also found in this database.  For some journals, there may be a 12 month delay in provision of full text content.
PsycINFO Restricted Resource
Citations and abstracts of articles from journals in Psychology and other social science disciplines including Anthropology, Education, Medicine, Nursing, and Psychiatry, from mid-19th century to present.  Also includes citations to books and book chapters from 1987 to present.
Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available

The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.


LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available

Provides a wide range of full-text news, business, legal, and reference information.


Data/Statistics

Bureau of Justice Statistics Publications Some full text available
The Bureau of Justice Statistics is the primary statistical agency of the U.S. Department of Justice-Office of Justice Programs.  This is an alphabetical list of the Bureau's online publications.

Also from the Office of Justice Programs:
     Search Questions and Answers

     A-Z Topics
Statistical Abstract of the United States (ProQuest) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.

Older print volumes can be found in General Collection HA202 .A32.
Crime and the Nation's Households Some full text available

Compiled by the U.S. Department of Justice, Bureau of Justice Statistics.


Crime State Rankings.
Print Location: REF HV 6787 .C75 (latest edition)

Hate Crime Statistics Some full text available
Part of the Uniform Crime Reports from the FBI
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data
click here for Help Documentation
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics (1994-currently available) Some full text available

"The Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics brings together data from more than 100 sources about many aspects of criminal justice in the United States. These data are displayed in over 1,000 tables. The site is updated regularly as new statistics become available. The Sourcebook is supported by the U.S. Department of Justice-- Bureau of Justice Statistics."      United States. Dept. of Justice. Bureau of Justice Statistics.  Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics. Web. 28 July 2009.


Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics (1994-currently available)
Print Location: General HV 6787.S68 (1973-1974,1979,1981-2003)
Crime in the United States Some full text available

"Crime in the United States (CIUS) is an annual publication in which the FBI compiles volume and rate of crime offenses for the nation, the states, and individual agencies. This report also includes arrest, clearance, and law enforcement employee data."  United States. Dept. of Justice. Federal Bureau of Investigation. Uniform Crime Reports:Crime in the United States. Web. 27 July 2009.


Crime in the United States
Print Location: REF HV 6787 .A32 2005
Crime in the United States
Print Location: General HV 6787 .A32 1998-2004
Atlas of Crime: Mapping the Criminal Landscape.
Print Location: REF HV 6783 .A85 2000

Demographic Information

U.S. Census Bureau Some full text available
The Census offers numerous sources regarding population, income and housing. One of the most useful areas will be the American Factfinder. You can look at the population and spending patterns by state, county, city, or zip code.

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Encyclopedia of DNA and the United States Criminal Justice System.
Print Location: REF RA 1057.55 P34 2004

Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol, & Addictive Behavior.
Print Location: REF HV 5804 .E528 2009

Encyclopedia of Bioterrorism Defense.
Print Location: REF HV 6433.3 .E53 2005
Click here for Table of Contents
Encyclopedia of Child Abuse.
Print Location: REF HV 6626.5 .C57 2001

Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice.
Print Location: REF HV 6017 .E52 2002 (4 vols.)

Encyclopedia of Crime in the United States.
Print Location: REF HV 6446 .K43 2000

Encyclopedia of Criminology and Deviant Behavior.
Print Location: REF HV 6017 .E53 2001 (4 vols.)

Encyclopedia of Forensic Sciences.
Print Location: REF HV 8073 .E43 2000 (3 vols.)

Encyclopedia of High-Tech Crime and Crime-Fighting.
Print Location: REF HV 6773 .N48 2004

Encyclopedia of Kidnappings.
Print Location: REF HV 6595 .N49 2002

Encyclopedia of Police Science.
Print Location: REF HV 7901 .E53 2007 (2 vols.)
Click here for Publisher Description
Encyclopedia of the FBI's Ten Most Wanted List, 1950 to Present.
Print Location: REF HV 6786 .S95 2004

World Encyclopedia of Police Forces and Correctional Systems.
Print Location: REF HV 7901 .W63 2006 (2 vols.)
Click here for Summary

Government Information

CrimeSolutions.gov Some full text available
From the U.S. Department of Justice's Office of Justice Programs, this site is a "clearinghouse of evaluative information on 150 programs in criminal justice, crime victim services, and juvenile justice."  Information comes from various agenices including the National Institute of Justice and the Bureau of Justice Statistics.  Pages include links to the database, NCJRS: The National Criminal Justice Research Service (a database that includes some full text journal articles; it is also listed on our library's A-Z list of databases).  "Upper-level undergraduate students in courses in public administration, criminology, and political science . . .recommended."  R.B. M. Ridinger, Northern Illinois University.  Choice Reviews, Nov. 2011.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Some full text available
Contains summaries of more than 160,000 publications on criminal justice, including federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research. Subject areas include corrections, courts, drugs and crime, law enforcement, juvenile justice, crime statistics, and victims of crime. Covers items published from early 1970's to the present. 
More information from various government agencies (mainly from the Department of Justice) are listed under the "Data/Statistics" section.
National Institute of Corrections
"People who work in, teach about, or research jails and prisons need disinterested information on topics related to corrections.  That is a task of the National Institute of Corrections (NIC), a budget line within the FBoP (Federal Bureau of Prisons).  . . .provides access to its library collection and 25 percent of the items are digitally accessible. . .Users may pose a research question and receive an answer within five days. . .Government employees always have priority."  McCrie, R.D.  John Jay College of Criminal Justice-CUNY.  CHOICE Reviews Online. May, 2010.  7 Aug 2012 Web.

ProQuest Congressional Restricted Resource Some full text available
Index of U.S. legislative information including Congressional publications, bills, laws, regulations, member and committee information, hot topics, etc.
National Institute of Justice Some full text available
This is the research/development and evaluation arm of the U.S. Department of Justice-Office of Justice Programs.  Below are some links from the NIJ page:

     Recenlty Published: Reports & Articles

     NIJ Annual Reports to Congress

     NIJ Journal

     Arrestee Drug Abuse Monitoring Program (ADAM)

Handbooks & Guides

Handbook of Crime and Punishment.
Print Location: REF HV 6789.H25 1998
Click here for Table of Contents

Online Book Collection

eBook Collection (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:

      eBook Academic Collection
      eBook Clinical Collection
      eBook Community College Collection
      eBook High School Collection
      eBook K-8 Collection
      eBook Public Library Collection
ebrary Restricted Resource Some full text available
ebrary's Academic Complete is a growing ebook collection offering online, full-text access to over 70,000 titles in all academic subject areas.

Primary Sources

Specialized Sources

CQ Researcher (1991-current year).
Print Location: REF H 35 .E352
Each volume contains a cumulative index to the issues which cover various topics such as gun control, cybercrime, prison reform, etc.
Crime and Punishment in America.
Print Location: REF HV 9950 .H39 2005 (5 vols.)
Click here for Table of Contents
Cybercrime: A Reference Handbook.
Print Location: REF HV 6773 .S3547 2004

Profiling and Criminal Justice in America.
Print Location: General HV 9950 .B86 2004

Racial Issues in Criminal Justice: The Case of African Americans.
Print Location: General HV 9950 .R34 2004

World Drug Report 2008.
Print Location: REF HV 5801 .A15 2008
note: (Print copy)

Style & Citation Guides

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.
Print Location: REF BF 76.7 .P83 2009
This is the latest edition of the official style manual from the American Psychological Association and contains detailed guidelines for citing all information formats: print, online, and other types of media. 

Web Sites

Death Penalty Information Center
"The Death Penalty Information Center, a nonprofit organization located in Washington, D.C., promotes its site as a method to disseminate information on issues concerning capital punishment.  Supreme Court cases on the death penalty, pending and final, are summarized and linked to full opinions.  Statistical information taken from government resources and statistics on death sentences (by state and by year) are available, as well as state-by-state legislative activity.. .Highly recommended."  Sylvia, M., St. Mary's University.  Choice Reviews Online. 2006 Supp. Web. 9 Aug 2012.

Online Encyclopedia of Mass Violence
Edited by Jacques Semelin, research director at the Center for International Studies and Research.
World Criminal Justice Library Network
"This website compiles many different resources related to criminal justice worldwide. . . It brings together data from 100-plus nations. . .users may retrieve relevant material on crime statistics, corrections, police, and law enforcement. . . Students and scholars looking at issues from a global perspective will find this resource valuable."  Gelfand, J.  University of California.  Choice Reviews Online.  Aug 2012.  Web.  29 Jan. 2013.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Lisa Glaubitz

Lisa Glaubitz
Reference
Tel: (660) 785- 7412

Research Assistance Program
  • Provides one-on-one assistance for research assignments with a subject reference librarian.
  • Helps you find appropriate sources of information (databases, electronic sources, etc.) based on the requirements of your assignment.
  • Shows you search techniques.Helps you find valuable resources outside of Pickler through our MOBIUS and Interlibrary Loan service.

    To schedule a RAP consultation, you can:
  • Send an email to: RAP session
  • Call 660-785-4051
  • Come to the Library Service Desk
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files