TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
Book Search
Search the Library Catalog: for:

More library catalogs:   MOBIUS  | WorldCat

All Items by Source

Articles

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available

The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.


Handbook of Latin American Studies
Bibliography on Latin American studies materials by Library of Congress. 
JSTOR Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Some of the Latin American Studies journals include: Hispania, Journal of Latin American Studies, Latin American Perspectives, and Latin American Research Review.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) Restricted Resource Some full text available
authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States.  You can limit your searches by the following languages: English, Spanish, Portuguese, French, German, and Italian. Click here for a list of journals indexed in HAPI since 1970.
Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource openURL
Historical coverage of  the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Articles from 1800 jouranls are indexed, same dating back to 1955.
LAPTOC - Latin American Periodicals Table of Contents
A searchable Web database that provides access to the tables of contents of more than 950 journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences, published in Latin America. *Note the Interlibrary loan link in this database is not connected to Pickler Library's system, you must request articles using our form: ILL Article Requests
Humanities International Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 1,200 journals.
AnthroSource Restricted Resource Some full text available
From the American Anthropological Association, full text coverage of 32 journals covering various areas in anthropology.

Online Book Collection

eBook Collection (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:

      eBook Academic Collection
      eBook Clinical Collection
      eBook Community College Collection
      eBook High School Collection
      eBook K-8 Collection
      eBook Public Library Collection
ebrary Restricted Resource Some full text available
ebrary's Academic Complete is a growing ebook collection offering online, full-text access to over 70,000 titles in all academic subject areas.

Primary Sources

Digital National Security Archive Restricted Resource Some full text available

The Digital National Security Archive (DNSA) contains over 80,000 declassified documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. This database is comprised of 35 collections, each focused on a single topic, that contain a diverse range of policy documents including presidential directives, memos, diplomatic dispatches, meeting notes, independent reports, briefing papers, White House communications, email, confidential letters and other secret material.


Pickler Library Microforms Collections
Our Microform Collections are another great place to find primary source material.

Specialized Sources

eHRAF World Cultures Restricted Resource Some full text available
eHRAF World Cultures is a cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The database includes more than 350,000 pages of descriptive information on cultures and ethnic groups. The easiest way to use eHRAF is to browse by culture. Click Browse along the top then click on Browse Cultures by Regions (located on the left). Relevant regions include Middle America & the Caribbean and South America. Each Region is divided by country and then by cultures (i.e. Mexico--Huichol, Tzeltal, Zapotec).  

Web Sites

LANIC: Latin American Network Information Center
associated with the Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies at the University of Texas (UT)-Austin, LANIC seeks to "provide Latin American users with access to academic databases and information services throughout the Internet, and to provide Latin Americanists around the world with access to information on and from Latin America."

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Janet Romine

Janet Romine
Head of Public Services
Tel: (660) 785- 7418