SubjectsPlus: Library & Information Science

TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
Book Search
Search the Library Catalog: for:

More library catalogs:   MOBIUS  | WorldCat

All Items by Source

Articles

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available

The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.


DLIST, The Digital Library of Information Science and Technology Some full text available
A web-accessible, open, digital repository for Library and Information Science.  Has articles, conference papers, information literacy instruction materials, staff trainng guides, pathfinders, bibliographies and database guides.  
DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals Some full text available
Scientific and scholarly journals which have been peer-reviewed and are free.

E-Prints in Library and Information Science Some full text available
An open access archive of documents on librarianship and information science.

Google Scholar
Scholarly journal articles on all subjects, some are full text; many have links to cited references.
Library, Information Science and Technology Abstracts Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Indexes more than 500 core journals, more than 50 priority journals, and 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.

Data/Statistics

Association of Research Libraries Statistics Some full text available
ARL Statistics is a series of annual publications that describe the collections, expenditures, staffing, and service activities for ARL member libraries. Statistics have been collected and published annually for the members of the Association since 1961-62.
Bowker Annual:Library and Book Trade Almanac.
Print Location: Reference Z 731 A472 2008 Restricted Resource Some full text available
Reports from federal agencies, federal libraries, national library and book  organizations;  Information on legislation and funding programs; library education, placement and salary statistics; library research statistics; book trade statistics; bibliographies; ready reference; distinguished books; directory of library, book trade,  and related organizations.

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

American Library Directory.
Print Location: Reference Z 731 A53 2008/2009 Restricted Resource Some full text available


Credo Reference Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas.  Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Directory of Special Libraries and Information Centers.
Print Location: Reference Z 731 D57 Ed. 26 2001 Restricted Resource Some full text available


Encyclopedia of Library History.
Print Location: Reference Z 721 E54 1994 Restricted Resource Some full text available


Information Industry Directory.
Print Location: Reference Z 674.3 E532 2009 Restricted Resource Some full text available


Library Catalogs

Libweb: Library Servers via WWW Resource contains images Some full text available
Libweb currently lists over 7,700 pages from libraries in 146 countries. Search by keyword, or browse by geographic location.
National Libraries of Europe Resource contains images Some full text available
Information on the collections, services, addresses, and online presences of European national libraries from The European Library.
National Libraries of the World Resource contains images Some full text available

This website provides an extensive list of national libraries, including those claiming a national function but not having the actual title.


Search for Public Libraries Resource contains images Some full text available
A feature of the National Center for Education Statistics which allows users to search for U.S. public libraries by zip code, county, and other criteria.

Online Book Collection

eBook Collection (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:

      eBook Academic Collection
      eBook Clinical Collection
      eBook Community College Collection
      eBook High School Collection
      eBook K-8 Collection
      eBook Public Library Collection

Style & Citation Guides

Citation and Writing Guides Some full text available
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style.  This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: EndNote, Zotero, and EasyBib.com.

Web Sites

Center for the Book Some full text available
Library of Congress.
Copyright & Fair Use Some full text available
From Stanford University.

Internet Library for Librarians Some full text available
Links to more than 3000 Internet resources related to librarianship.  All are recommended, selected and reviewed by librarians.

Librarian's Yellow Pages Resource contains images Some full text available
Search or browse a database of vendors and products for libraries.

Researching Librarian: Web Resources for Librarians Doing Research Some full text available
This site was created to help librarians with research by supplementing pritn resources found in libraries with web resources including citation databases, funding information, statistics, research tools, etc.

Subject Specialist
Picture: Carol Lockhart

Carol Lockhart
Reference Librarian
Tel: (660) 785- 7417

Research Assistance Program
  • Provides one-on-one assistance for research assignments with a subject reference librarian.
  • Helps you find appropriate sources of information (databases, electronic sources, etc.) based on the requirements of your assignment.
  • Shows you search techniques.Helps you find valuable resources outside of Pickler through our MOBIUS and Interlibrary Loan service.
To schedule a RAP consultation, you can:
  • Send an email to: RAP session
  • Call 660-785-4051
  • Come to the Library Service Desk
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files