TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
Book Search
Search the Library Catalog: for:

More library catalogs:   MOBIUS  | WorldCat

All Items by Source

Articles

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available

The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.


Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO). Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Full text articles from over 200 journals covering all areas of communication and media and indexing and abstracting for many more. 
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) Restricted Resource openURL
On the Web through EBSCO.
        On the Web through the official ERIC site, free to the public.
ERIC is a comprehensive database containing abstracts of journal articles, reports, curriculum guides, conference proceedings, etc. It covers all areas of education at all age and grade levels.   ERIC Documents 1993+ are now freely available online.  Documents before 1993 are in the library on microfiche.  The library's microfiche subscription ended with ED455358.
The ERIC database, as well as lesson plans, web sites and other useful information, is available on the Web through the Educator's Reference Desk, also free to the public.  (ERIC documents are not available at this site.)  Coverage:  Click here to show journal list.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) Restricted Resource
On the Web through EBSCO.
        On the Web through the official ERIC site, free to the public.
ERIC is a comprehensive database containing abstracts of journal articles, reports, curriculum guides, conference proceedings, etc. It covers all areas of education at all age and grade levels.   ERIC Documents 1993+ are now freely available online.  Documents before 1993 are in the library on microfiche.  The library's microfiche subscription ended with ED455358.
The ERIC database, as well as lesson plans, web sites and other useful information, is available on the Web through the Educator's Reference Desk, also free to the public.  (ERIC documents are not available at this site.)  Coverage:  Click here to show journal list.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective Restricted Resource openURL
Indexing of over 1200 periodicals, some going back as far as 1907.  Also has coverage of many important scientific journals up to the 1950s.
Humanities International Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 1,200 journals.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
PsycINFO Restricted Resource
Citations and abstracts of articles from journals in Psychology and other social science disciplines including Anthropology, Education, Medicine, Nursing, and Psychiatry, from mid-19th century to present.  Also includes citations to books and book chapters from 1987 to present.
MLA Bibliography Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
A bibliography of scholarship in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4400 journals and series and 1000 book publishers.  About 75% are language and literature journal articles.
Project MUSE Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full-text titles from over 100 scholarly journals in the Basic Undergraduate Collection. There is no way to limit to language on Project Muse searches. 

Readers' Guide Retrospective. Restricted Resource openURL
1890-1982.  Index to older magazine articles.
Communication Abstracts, 1967-2001
Print Location: Reference P90 C65
Provides coverage of recent literature in the areas of general communication, mass communication, advertising and marketing, broadcasting, communication theory, interpersonal and intrapersonal communication, small group communication, organizational communication, journalism, public relations, radio, public opinion, speech, and television. 
Essay and General Literature Index,1900-2001.
Print Location: Reference AI 3 E752
A detailed index by author, subject, and some titles to essays published in books.
Index to Journals in Communication Studies
Print Location: Reference P87 M37
Often referred to as the Matlon guide, this subject and author index covers a number of important communication journals.
Language Teaching, 1982+
Print Location: Periodicals PB35 L322
Indexes scholarly journals on learning and teaching languages.
MLA Directory of Periodicals Restricted Resource
Detailed descriptions of over 7100 journals, including information on editorial contacts, publication frequency, circulation, subscription prices, and submission guidelines.

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas.  Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Phonetic symbol guide.
Print Location: Reference P226 P85 1996
Phonetic Symbol Guide is a comprehensive and authoritative encyclopedia of phonetic alphabet symbols, providing a complete survey of the hundreds of characters used by linguists and speech scientists to record the sounds of the world's languages.
Dictionary of Linguistics and Phonetics.
Print Location: Reference P29 .C65 2003 Restricted Resource

Encyclopedia of Linguistics.
Print Location: Reference P29 .E483 2005 Restricted Resource

International Encyclopedia of Linguistics.
Print Location: Reference P29 .I58 2003 Restricted Resource

A Student's Dictionary of Language and Linguistics.
Print Location: Reference P29 .T69 1997 Restricted Resource

Online Book Collection

eBook Collection (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:

      eBook Academic Collection
      eBook Clinical Collection
      eBook Community College Collection
      eBook High School Collection
      eBook K-8 Collection
      eBook Public Library Collection
ebrary Restricted Resource Some full text available
ebrary's Academic Complete is a growing ebook collection offering online, full-text access to over 70,000 titles in all academic subject areas.

Style & Citation Guides

Citation and Writing Guides Some full text available
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style.  This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: EndNote, Zotero, and EasyBib.com.

Web Sites

Center for Applied Linguistics
a group of scholars and educators who use the findings of linguistics and related sciences in identifying and addressing language-related problems

Defense Language Institute Foreign Language Center
 The acknowledged leader in all aspects of culturally based foreign language education, DLIFLC is an innovative and continuously adapting organization, operating on the cutting edge of language instruction and technology."
Ethnologue
a catalogue of more than 6,700 languages spoken in 228 countries
iLoveLanguages
a comprehensive catalog of language-related Internet resources; it has over 2,400 of the best language links the Web has to offer. Whether you're looking for online language lessons, translating dictionaries, native literature, translation services, software, language schools, or just a little information on a language in which you are interested, this site probably has something to suit your needs.

Linguist List
international clearinghouse for linguistic information
Subject Specialist
Picture: Daisy Rearick

Daisy Rearick
Head of Periodicals/Microforms
Tel: (660) 785- 4048

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files