TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
Book Search
Search the Library Catalog: for:

More library catalogs:   MOBIUS  | WorldCat

All Items by Source

Articles

America's Historical Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full-text collection of over 1000 U.S. historical newspapers.  Divided into three collections: Series I (1690-1876), Series II (1758-1900), Series III (1829-1922).  Part of the Readex Archive of Americana database.
New York Times Article Archives 1851-the present. Some full text available
Indexes over 15 million articles published in the New York Times from September 1851 to the present.  Searching is free, however, you must either use the citation information to locate the articles on microfilm in Truman's library collection or purchase the full-text through the web site.

Users can search for  articles by keyword or phrase, author, headline, date, or date range.  Searches may be limited to articles only or broadened to include advertisements and other listings. 
Times (London) Digital Archive 1785-2008 Restricted Resource
The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for the 19th – 20th Century history detailing every complete page of every issue from 1785.

*Note: full text of articles from current issues of The Times are avaialbe in these databases: 
LexisNexis Academic
Newspaper Source
Wall Street Journal Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of the newspaper from 1984 to the present.
LexisNexis News Restricted Resource Some full text available
A wide variety of newspapers with a variety of days covered. The Guided News Search can narrow searches to business, legal, medical, university, arts & sports, and non-English language news (Dutch, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish).
NewspaperARCHIVE.com Some full text available
The link takes you to the free special collections portion of the archive. Includes newspapers from the 18th century to the present.  A membership fee is required for searching the complete archive.
Trudex
Index to Truman publications including:
  • Northeast Review
  • Purple Pride
  • Kirksville Daily Express (selected issues)
  • Index
  • Pundit
  • Echo
  • Nemoscope Notes
  • Northeast Today
  • Bite This!
  • Truman Today
  • Truman Review

Washington Post Articles Archive 1877 - the present
Indexes articles published in the Washington Post from 1877 to the present.  Users can search for specific articles by keyword or phrase, author, headline, date, or date range.  Searches may be limited to articles only or broadened to include advertisements and other listings.  Searching is free and the full-text is available for purchase through this web site or you can use the citation information to locate the articles on microfilm in Truman's library collection.

Online Book Collection

eBook Collection (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:

      eBook Academic Collection
      eBook Clinical Collection
      eBook Community College Collection
      eBook High School Collection
      eBook K-8 Collection
      eBook Public Library Collection

Primary Sources

America's Historical Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full-text collection of over 1000 U.S. historical newspapers.  Divided into three collections: Series I (1690-1876), Series II (1758-1900), Series III (1829-1922).  Part of the Readex Archive of Americana database.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Sponsored jointly by the Library of Congress and the National Endowment for the Humanities as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP), this site provides select digital access to American newspapers from 1880 to 1910 and from mainly ten states. Additionally, access to an invaluable directory of newspapers published in the United States from 1690 to the present is available. The directory can be browsed by title or searched by state, county and city, date, keyword, frequency, language, or type of newspaper. The directory usually offers comprehensive information, such as titles, alternative titles, publication places, geographic coverage, persistent links, publishers, dates of publication, descriptions, frequencies, languages, subjects, general notes, LCCN, OCLC numbers, succeeding titles, and links to holdings.

Specialized Sources

CBS News Transcripts .
Microform Location: Microfiche Cabinet 3, Drawer 3-4 Restricted Resource
Pickler Library has CBS News Transcripts for 1975 - October 1987 available in microfiche in Microfiche Cabinet 3, Drawer 3-4. (See Guide for more information.)

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Lexis Nexis has news transcripts from ABC, CBS, CNN, Fox News Network, National Public Radio, Official Kremlin International News Broadcasts, and more

Web Sites

Newspapers
Links to all kinds of newspapers, old and new.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Daisy Rearick

Daisy Rearick
Head of Periodicals/Microforms
Tel: (660) 785- 4048

Helpguides
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files