TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
Book Search
Search the Library Catalog: for:

More library catalogs:   MOBIUS  | WorldCat

Important Searching TIPS!
All Items by Source

Articles

America: History and Life Restricted Resource openURL
Indexes history journals and some other publications covering the US and Canada.
ATLA Religion Database Restricted Resource openURL
ATLA (American Theological Library Association) includes citations to journal articles, book reviews, and essays from over 1,500 sources supporting many areas of religious and theological scholarship.  Subjects covered include  archaeology and antiquities, church history, ecumenism, ethics, pastoral ministry,  philosophy, and world religions.
Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource openURL
Historical coverage of  the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Articles from 1800 jouranls are indexed, same dating back to 1955.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
Philosopher's Index Restricted Resource openURL
This index provides article citations to journals and books in philosophy and related disciplines including aesthetics, epistemology, ethics,and logic.  Material on the philosophy of disciplines, such as law, religion, science, and history is also included. 

Biographical Information

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Dictionary of Philosophy of Religion: Eastern and Western Thought
Print Location: B 41 .R43 1980 Some full text available


Edinburgh Encyclopedia of Continental Philosophy Restricted Resource Some full text available
There is an entry for "continental philosophy of science."
Encyclopedia of Religion
Print Location: Ref BL 31 .E46 2005 (15 vols.)


Encyclopedia of Science and Religion
Print Location: Ref BL 240.3 .E43 2003 (2 vols.)


Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Print Location: Ref B 51 .R68 1998 (10 vols).


Science in the Contemporary World Restricted Resource Some full text available
You will find articles for "philosophy of science" and "religion" in this source.
Science in the Early Twentieth Century Restricted Resource Some full text available
You will find an article on "philosophy of science" in this source.
Science, Religion, and Society: An Encyclopedia of History, Culture, and Controversy
Print Location: Ref BL 240.3 .S37 2007 (2 vols.)


The History of Science and Religion in the Western Tradition
Print Location: Ref BL 245 .H57 2000

The Philosophy of Science: An Encyclopedia
Print Location: Ref Q 174.7 .P55 2006 (2 vols.)


Online Book Collection

eBook Collection (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:

      eBook Academic Collection
      eBook Clinical Collection
      eBook Community College Collection
      eBook High School Collection
      eBook K-8 Collection
      eBook Public Library Collection
ebrary Restricted Resource Some full text available
ebrary's Academic Complete is a growing ebook collection offering online, full-text access to over 70,000 titles in all academic subject areas.

Recommended Works

A Companion to Philosophy of Religion
Print Location: BL 51 .C634 2010
Table of Contents

But Is It Science?: The Philosophical Question in the Creation/Evolution Controversy
Print Location: QH 360.5 .B87 2009 (on Reserve)
Table of Contents

Exploring the Philosophy of Religion
Print Location: BL 51 .E96 1998
Table of Contents

Introduction to the Philosophy of Science
Print Location: Q 175 .I633 1999


Philosophy of Religion: A Contemporary Introduction
Print Location: BL 51 .Y275 1999

Philosophy of Science: The Natural Sciences in Christian Perspective
Print Location: BL 240.2 .R34 1986


Philosophy of Science: The Central Issues
Print Location: Q 175 .P5129 1998
Table of Contents

Science and Religion Around the World
Print Location: BL 240.3 .S3485 2011
Table of Contents

The Blackwell Guide to the Philosophy of Science
Print Location: Q 175 .B56 2002


The Cambridge Companion to Science and Religion
Print Location: BL 241 .C317 2010 (on Reserve)
Summary

The Oxford Handbook of Religion and Science
Print Location: BL 240.3 .O94 2008 (on Reserve)
Table of Contents

The Sacred Neuron: Extraordinary Discoveries Linking Science and Religion
Print Location: BL 240.3 .B786 2005
Summary

Theory and Reality: An Introduction to the Philosophy of Science
Print Location: Q 175 .G596 2003
Also available online in ebrary

Where the Conflict Really Lies: Science, Religion, and Naturalism
Print Location: BL 240.3 .P53 2011
Summary

Streaming Video Collections

Films on Demand Restricted Resource Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Films on Demand is a multi-disciplinary collection of streaming videos from Films Media Group. It includes over 8,000 full-length videos / 90,000 clips  that cover a wide range of academic disciplines: psychology, history, literature, languages, engineering, business, art, sociology, sciences and more. A tutorial is available that will show you how to access Films On Demand from anywhere.  It also instructs on how to add a Films On Demand video to Blackboard.  The tutorial is available at: http://clockhar.sites.truman.edu/films-on-demand/

Style & Citation Guides

A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations: Chicago Style for Students and Researchers
Print Location: LB 2369 .T8
This manual is published by the University of Chicago and is the definitive guide to the "Turabian citation style" (after its original author, Kate L. Turabian). If you cannot locate something related to Turabian style in one of the online guides, be sure to check this source. We have multiple copies in the library: General Collection, Reference, and on Reserve at the Library Service Desk.
Citation and Writing Guides Some full text available
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style.  This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: EndNote, Zotero, and EasyBib.com.
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
Print Location: LB 2369 .G53 2009
This is the definitive guide to MLA citation style. If you cannot find what you are looking for in one of the online guides to MLA style, be sure to check this source. The library has multiple copies available in General Collection, Reference, and on Reserve at the Library Service Desk.

Web Sites

Zygon: Journal of Religion and Science
The link takes you to the home page of this academic journal where you can learn more about the journal and read abstracts of articles. You can also access the first issue of the current year for free.  Pickler subscribes to Zygon and we have substantial coverage in both print and electronic formats:

Zygon  (0591-2385)    Look up Article
      
from 1966 to 2007 in Pickler Memorial Library Print Holdings
from 1997 to present in Wiley-Blackwell Journals (Frontfile Content)
from 03/01/1997 to 1 year ago in Academic Search Premier



Subject Specialist
Picture: Lisa Glaubitz

Lisa Glaubitz
Reference
Tel: (660) 785- 7412

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files