SubjectsPlus: PHYS 145 - Physics Seminar

TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
Services for Undergraduate Students
Book Search
Search the Library Catalog: for:

More library catalogs:   MOBIUS  | WorldCat

Basics of Keyword Searching
Scholarly vs. Popular Periodicals
All Items by Source

Articles

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available

The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.


Google Scholar
Scholarly journal articles on all subjects, some are full text; many have links to cited references.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
NASA Astrophysics Data System - ArXiv Preprints Restricted Resource Some full text available
Open access to 545,099 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics.  From Cornell University.
NASA Astrophysics Data System - Astronomy and Astrophysics Index
Article bibliographic citations from planetary science and solar physics journals.
NASA Astrophysics Data System - Physics and Geophysics Index
Bibliographic citations from the American Physical Society journals.
Physical Review Online Archive 1893+ Restricted Resource Some full text available
A full text archive of articles from  Physical Review A-E, Physical Review Letters and Reviews of Modern Physics.
Scitation/ SPIN
1893+ One million documents from scholarly journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and other special publications from prestigious scientific societies and technical publishers.

Biographical Information

Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science : Pioneering Lives from Ancient Times to the mid-20th Century.
Print Location: Reference Q 141 B5285 2000 Restricted Resource Some full text available
Biographical information for 2,500 women scientists from antiquity to mid-20th  century ( all are dead).  Give several paragraphs of information for each woman and bibliographic references.

Eric Weisstein's World of Scientific Biography Some full text available
Biographical information for over 1000 scientists.  Can search by name, gender, minority status, historical period, nationality, and prize winners
Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
This dictionary provides an authoritative and accessible guide to the lives, labours and achievements of the men and women who have shaped the world of science.
New Dictionary of Scientific Biography.
Print Location: Reference Q 141 N45 2008 Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available


New Dictionary of Scientific Biography.
Print Location: Reference Q 141 N45 2008 Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available

Data/Statistics

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics.
Print Location: Reference QD 65 H3 Ed.89 2008/09 Restricted Resource Some full text available
Many tables of information.  Includes conversion factors, laboratory safety, geology, astronomy and pure mathematics.

Fundamental Physical Constants Some full text available
This National Institute of Standards and Technology Web site offers values for physics constants, conversion factors for energy equivalents, a searchable bibliography of physics constants, and background information on constants.

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Encyclopedia of Physics.
Print Location: Reference QC 5 E454 2005 Restricted Resource Some full text available


Credo Reference Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas.  Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.

Online Book Collection

eBook Collection (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:

      eBook Academic Collection
      eBook Clinical Collection
      eBook Community College Collection
      eBook High School Collection
      eBook K-8 Collection
      eBook Public Library Collection

Style & Citation Guides

Citation and Writing Guides Some full text available
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style.  This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: EndNote, Zotero, and EasyBib.com.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Carol Lockhart

Carol Lockhart
Reference Librarian
Tel: (660) 785- 7417

Research Assistance Program
  • Provides one-on-one assistance for research assignments with a subject reference librarian.
  • Helps you find appropriate sources of information (databases, electronic sources, etc.) based on the requirements of your assignment.
  • Shows you search techniques.Helps you find valuable resources outside of Pickler through our MOBIUS and Interlibrary Loan service.
To schedule a RAP consultation, you can:
  • Send an email to: RAP session
  • Call 660-785-4051
  • Come to the Library Service Desk
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files