Biographical Information
Data/Statistics
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Government Information
Online Book Collection
Streaming Video Collections
Style & Citation Guides
Web Sites
A multi-disciplinary database that provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Scientific and scholarly journals which have been peer-reviewed and are free.
2.6 million science research citations 1943+ Citations and documents are made publicly available by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE).
Scholarly journal articles on all subjects, some are full text; many have links to cited references.
Provides open source access to full-text and bibliographic records of Department of Energy Research and development reports in physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental sciences, energy technologies, engineering, computer and information science, renewable energy, and other topics.
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
Open access to 545,099 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics. From Cornell University.
Article bibliographic citations from planetary science and solar physics journals.
Bibliographic citations from the American Physical Society journals.
A full text archive of articles from Physical Review A-E, Physical Review Letters and Reviews of Modern Physics.
SciCentral is a science research news current awareness website. It has todays research news on biosciences, health sciences, physics, chemistry, earth & space, and engineering.
this is a Web search engine that searches across and federates more than 300 science related public and commercial Web Collections in real time. Collections include: Agricola; Directory of Open Access Journals; E-Print Network; NOAA PhotoLibrary; OAISter, NTIS, PubMed; Scholarpedia; Science.gov and numerous other science journals.
Indexes journal articles, but also scientists' homepages, courseware, pre-print server material, patents and institutional repository and website information.
1893+ One million documents from scholarly journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and other special publications from prestigious scientific societies and technical publishers.
Shelf Location: Reference Q 141 B5285 2000
Biographical information for 2,500 women scientists from antiquity to mid-20th century ( all are dead). Give several paragraphs of information for each woman and bibliographic references.
An archive of more than 80 citations of women who contributed to physics in the 20th century created by the UCLA Department of Physics.
Biographical information for over 1000 scientists. Can search by name, gender, minority status, historical period, nationality, and prize winners
This dictionary provides an authoritative and accessible guide to the lives, labours and achievements of the men and women who have shaped the world of science.
Shelf Location: Reference Q 141 N45 2008
Shelf Location: Reference QD 65 H3 Ed.89 2008/09
Many tables of information. Includes conversion factors, laboratory safety, geology, astronomy and pure mathematics.
This National Institute of Standards and Technology Web site offers values for physics constants, conversion factors for energy equivalents, a searchable bibliography of physics constants, and background information on constants.
Shelf Location: Reference QC 173 A827 1996
A ready reference that covers the key ideas, techniques, formulas and results of atomic, molecular and optical physics.
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas. Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Shelf Location: Reference QC 5 E454 2005
Science Reference Center™ is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content. Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Science Reference Center also satisfies the demand for standards-based content by providing teachers and librarians with articles correlated to state and national curriculum standards.
Science.gov searches over 38 databases and 1,950 selected websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results.
ebrary's Academic Complete is a growing ebook collection offering online, full-text access to over 70,000 titles in all academic subject areas.
Films on Demand is a multi-disciplinary collection of streaming videos from Films Media Group. It includes over 8,000 full-length videos / 90,000 clips that cover a wide range of academic disciplines: psychology, history, literature, languages, engineering, business, art, sociology, sciences and more. A tutorial is available that will show you how to access Films On Demand from anywhere. It also instructs on how to add a Films On Demand video to Blackboard. The tutorial is available at: http://clockhar.sites.truman.edu/films-on-demand/
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style. This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: EndNote, Zotero, and EasyBib.com.
INFOMINE is a huge collection of scholarly internet sites. It has a special section for physical sciences, engineering, computer science and mathematics. Each website is carefully evaluated, cataloged and checked for status by the Libraries of the University of California.
Carol Lockhart
Reference Librarian
Tel: (660) 785-7417
- Provides one-on-one assistance for research assignments with a subject reference librarian.
- Helps you find appropriate sources of information (databases, electronic sources, etc.) based on the requirements of your assignment.
- Shows you search techniques.Helps you find valuable resources outside of Pickler through our MOBIUS and Interlibrary Loan service.
- Send an email to: RAP session
- Call 660-785-4051
- Come to the Library Service Desk
= Restricted resource
= Some full text
= OpenURL enabled
= Images
= Video files
= Audio files

