Articles
Specialized Sources
Streaming Video Collections
Web Sites
Specialized Sources
Streaming Video Collections
Web Sites
Academic Search Premier

A multi-disciplinary database that provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Opposing Viewpoints

Information on current social issues, including viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, podcasts, and other website links.
Some books included in the database are available in the library, do a keyword search in the Library Catalog using the terms: opposing viewpoints and your topic. Example: "opposing viewpoints" and abortion
Or click here for a complete list of the Opposing Viewpoint Series.
Information on current social issues, including viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, podcasts, and other website links.
Some books included in the database are available in the library, do a keyword search in the Library Catalog using the terms: opposing viewpoints and your topic. Example: "opposing viewpoints" and abortion
Or click here for a complete list of the Opposing Viewpoint Series.
Contemporary World Issues -
Shelf Location: Location & Call Numbers vary - check link below
Each volume in this series considers a particular topic. You can find a complete list here.
To find books in the series on a specific topic, try a keyword search in the Library Catalog, using the terms contemporary world issues and your topic.
Example: "contemporary world issues" and pornography
Shelf Location: Location & Call Numbers vary - check link below
Each volume in this series considers a particular topic. You can find a complete list here.
To find books in the series on a specific topic, try a keyword search in the Library Catalog, using the terms contemporary world issues and your topic.
Example: "contemporary world issues" and pornography
CQ Researcher (1991-current year).
Shelf Location: REF H 35 .E352
Each issue of the CQ Researcher covers a different topic such as health care reform, energy policy, immigration, school safety etc... The issue presents questions about that topic, gives background material, gives opposing viewpoints, reprints some articles on the topic, and provides a bibliography for further reading.
Shelf Location: REF H 35 .E352
Each issue of the CQ Researcher covers a different topic such as health care reform, energy policy, immigration, school safety etc... The issue presents questions about that topic, gives background material, gives opposing viewpoints, reprints some articles on the topic, and provides a bibliography for further reading.
History in Dispute -
Shelf Location: Reference D20 H56 2000
Each volume covers a historical period or event and includes debates on related sub-topics.
Shelf Location: Reference D20 H56 2000
Each volume covers a historical period or event and includes debates on related sub-topics.
Films on Demand

Films on Demand is a multi-disciplinary collection of streaming videos from Films Media Group. It includes over 8,000 full-length videos / 90,000 clips that cover a wide range of academic disciplines: psychology, history, literature, languages, engineering, business, art, sociology, sciences and more. A tutorial is available that will show you how to access Films On Demand from anywhere. It also instructs on how to add a Films On Demand video to Blackboard. The tutorial is available at: http://clockhar.sites.truman.edu/films-on-demand/
Films on Demand is a multi-disciplinary collection of streaming videos from Films Media Group. It includes over 8,000 full-length videos / 90,000 clips that cover a wide range of academic disciplines: psychology, history, literature, languages, engineering, business, art, sociology, sciences and more. A tutorial is available that will show you how to access Films On Demand from anywhere. It also instructs on how to add a Films On Demand video to Blackboard. The tutorial is available at: http://clockhar.sites.truman.edu/films-on-demand/
Idea
From the International Debate Education Association this online debate topic database has arguments for and against hundreds of debating topics, written by expert debaters, judges and coaches. Also included are background summaries, links to web sites of interest and recommended books, example motions and user comments. Users can search for topics by theme, keyword,or browse the complete topic list.
From the International Debate Education Association this online debate topic database has arguments for and against hundreds of debating topics, written by expert debaters, judges and coaches. Also included are background summaries, links to web sites of interest and recommended books, example motions and user comments. Users can search for topics by theme, keyword,or browse the complete topic list.
Open CRS -
Reports from the Congressional Research Service (CRS) on topics of current interest. This is a project of the Center for Democracy & Technology, which provides citizens access to CRS Reports that are in the public domain
Reports from the Congressional Research Service (CRS) on topics of current interest. This is a project of the Center for Democracy & Technology, which provides citizens access to CRS Reports that are in the public domain
Public Agenda
A nonpartisan, nonprofit public opinion research organization. The Issue Guides are on a variety of broad topics and include background information, public opinion analysis, and additional resources for research. The Research Studies analyze public opinion and poll results on specific topics.
A nonpartisan, nonprofit public opinion research organization. The Issue Guides are on a variety of broad topics and include background information, public opinion analysis, and additional resources for research. The Research Studies analyze public opinion and poll results on specific topics.
= Restricted resource
= Some full text
= OpenURL enabled
= Images
= Video files
= Audio files
Carol Lockhart
Reference Librarian
Tel: (660) 785-7417

