TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
Book Search
Search the Library Catalog: for:

More library catalogs:   MOBIUS  | WorldCat

All Items by Source

Articles

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available

The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.


America: History and Life Restricted Resource openURL
Indexes history journals and some other publications covering the US and Canada.
Discovering Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
A collection of essays, critical analyses, biographical information, primary sources, and multimedia elements in the core subject areas of history, literature, biography, science and social studies.
EBSCOHost Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
A large collection of article databases reaching across all disciplines.  Includes both scholary and popular journals, many with full text available.  From the main listing that comes up, choose to search any of the listed databases or search in two or more.  Databases include Academic Search Elite, Business Source Premiere, America: History and Life, and Communication and Mass Media Complete.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
Public Affairs Index Restricted Resource

A bibliographic database covering all aspects of global contemporary public policy issues ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, to international conflict and natural disasters. It draws on a diverse array of scholarly publications, conference papers, government documents and current reference works to provide up-to-date information on the broad range of topics of concern to the world today.


Data/Statistics

Bureau of Labor Statistics
Statistical information in all areas of labor and economics.
Data.gov
The purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government. Data.gov provides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets. Data.gov includes searchable catalogs that provide access to "raw" datasets and various tools. In the "raw" data catalog, you may access data in XML, Text/CSV, KML/KMZ, Feeds, XLS, or ESRI Shapefile formats. The catalog of tools links you to sites that include data mining and extraction tools and widgets. Datasets and tools available on Data.gov are searchable by category, agency, keyword, and/or data format.
FRED® (Federal Reserve Economic Data)
FRED is a database of over 3000 U.S. economic time series, including price indexes, interest rates, exchange rates, monetary indicators and more. With FRED® you can download data in Microsoft Excel and text formats and view charts of data series.
Statistical Abstract of the United States (ProQuest) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.

Older print volumes can be found in General Collection HA202 .A32.

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas.  Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Encyclopedia of the European Union Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides in-depth, authoritative discussions of the key concepts, developments, institutions, policies, negotiations, treaties, national interests, personalities, etc., related to European integration. The more than seven hundred easily accessible entries, written by internationally recognized scholars, cover virtually every aspect of the European Union.
Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
Online collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies and guidebooks, organized by subject area

Government Information

Budget of the United States Government
Collection of documents relating to each annual federal budget, going back to 1996.  Includes the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals, and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year. Different sets of related publications and supporting materials are included from year to year.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
The finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general key word, or click on "Advanced Search" for more options.

CIS U.S. Congressional Committee Hearings Index
Print Location: Ref KF 40 C57
Multi-part index of Congressional hearings from 1833 to 1969, divided according to time periods.  Each set lists hearings by number and indicates the CIS access information for locating that hearing on microfiche.  Indexing is also available by bill name and by organization or agency.  A numerical listing of bill numbers lists hearings held on that bill.

CIS U.S. Serial Set Index
Print Location: REF Z 1223 .Z9 C65 1975
Index of Congressional documents other than hearings, including committee reports, prints, American state papers, veto messages, and State of the Union addresses.  Organized chronologically by Congress in 15 volumes.

Compilation of Presidential Documents
The official publication of presidential statements, messages, remarks, and other materials released by the White House Press Secretary.
Congress and the Nation
Print Location: REF JK 1 .C662
Gives overviews of legislative initiatives in Congress and any Public Law (P. L.) numbers associated with them.  The material is broken down into major subject areas (Economic Policy, National Security Labor, Natural Resources, etc.) and then into more specific subtopics.  The information is presented in narrative form with chronologies and descriptions of important legislative initiatives. Each volume covers approximately five years of Congressional activity.

Economic Report of the President
An overview of the president's budget policies and economic outlook for a given year.
Executive Branch
Executive branch Web sites, compiled by the Library of Congress
FDsys - Federal Digital System
A service of the U.S. Government Printing Office for finding government publications on the Internet.


Federal Government Resources: Judicial Branch
Extensive information and links on the federal court system, provided by the University of Michigan Documents Center.
Federal Statutes, Codes and Regulations Restricted Resource
Full text of the U.S. Code of Federal Regulations (the implementation of laws by federal agencies), the Federal Register (proposed rules and regulations of the various governmental bureaus and departments, Presidential proclamations and executive orders, and decisions of fact-finding bodies), the U.S. Constitution and the U.S. Statutes at Large.

GAO (U.S. Government Accountability Office)
Testimony and reports on a variety of topics from teh investigative arm of Congress.

Government Documents Guide
Listing of sites relating to government at all levels.  Categories include executive, legislative, and judicial branches of the Federal government, historical documents, Missouri documents, and United Nations and European Union.
LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available

Provides a wide range of full-text news, business, legal, and reference information.


Pro-And-Con Restricted Resource Some full text available
Searchable database of the articles appearing in the Congressional Digest,  Supreme Court Debates, and International Debates.
ProQuest Congressional Restricted Resource Some full text available
Index of U.S. legislative information including Congressional publications, bills, laws, regulations, member and committee information, hot topics, etc.
Public Papers of the Presidents, 1991+
Each Public Papers volume contains the papers and speeches of the President of the United States that were issued by the Office of the Press Secretary during the specified time period. The material is presented in chronological order, and the dates shown in the headings are the dates of the documents or events. In instances when the release date differs from the date of the document itself, that fact is shown in the textnote.

Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, 1993+
Complete listing of presdiential statements and writings for any given week.  Can be browsed or searched by keyword.
White House
Official site listing up-to-the-minute information on the President's schedule, travel, speeches, document signings, and press releases.  Also contains link to Cabinet departments and information n current federal issues.

Online Book Collection

eBook Collection (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:

      eBook Academic Collection
      eBook Clinical Collection
      eBook Community College Collection
      eBook High School Collection
      eBook K-8 Collection
      eBook Public Library Collection
ebrary Restricted Resource Some full text available
ebrary's Academic Complete is a growing ebook collection offering online, full-text access to over 70,000 titles in all academic subject areas.

Primary Sources

America's Historical Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full-text collection of over 1000 U.S. historical newspapers.  Divided into three collections: Series I (1690-1876), Series II (1758-1900), Series III (1829-1922).  Part of the Readex Archive of Americana database.
Digital National Security Archive Restricted Resource Some full text available

The Digital National Security Archive (DNSA) contains over 80,000 declassified documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. This database is comprised of 35 collections, each focused on a single topic, that contain a diverse range of policy documents including presidential directives, memos, diplomatic dispatches, meeting notes, independent reports, briefing papers, White House communications, email, confidential letters and other secret material.


Specialized Sources

Homeland Security Digital Database Restricted Resource Some full text available
Collection of homeland security policy, strategy and organizational documents.
Opposing Viewpoints Restricted Resource Some full text available
Information on current social issues, including viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, podcasts, and other website links.

Some books included in the database are available in the library, do a keyword search in the Library Catalog using the terms: opposing viewpoints and your topic. Example:  "opposing viewpoints" and abortion
Or click here for a complete list of  the  Opposing Viewpoint Series.
Public Papers of the Presidents, 1929 - 2005 (Print)
Print Location: J 80 A283
Papers and speeches from presidents beginning with Herbert Hoover.

Social Explorer Restricted Resource
An interactive database providing access to demographic information about the United States from 1790 to present.  Includes over 15,000 interactive data maps and reports taken from census data.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Dan McGurk

Dan McGurk
Reference & Electronic Resources Librarian
Tel: (660) 785- 4528