authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. You can limit your searches by the following languages: English, Spanish, Portuguese, French, German, and Italian. Click here for a list of journals indexed in HAPI since 1970.
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years. JSTOR allows you to limit searches by English, Dutch, French, German, Italian, Latin, Portuguese, and Spanish language.
A wide variety of newspapers with a variety of days covered. The Guided News Search can narrow searches to business, legal, medical, university, arts & sports, and non-English language news (Dutch, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish).
A bibliography of scholarship in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4400 journals and series and 1000 book publishers. About 75% are language and literature journal articles.
Full-text titles from over 100 scholarly journals in the Basic Undergraduate Collection. There is no way to limit to language on Project Muse searches.
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas. Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Print Location: Reference PC5327 .D54 2001
Print Location: Reference PC5333 .L36 2003
Print Location: Reference PC5328 .O9 1992
Print Location: Reference PQ9027 .P67 2003
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:
eBook Academic Collection
eBook Clinical Collection
eBook Community College Collection
eBook High School Collection
eBook K-8 Collection
eBook Public Library Collection
Lists internet sources for literary texts in the western European languages other than English
The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style. This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: EndNote, Zotero, and EasyBib.com.
The American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (ACTFL) is the only national organization dedicated to the improvement and expansion of the teaching and learning of all languages at all levels of instruction. ACTFL is an individual membership organization of more than 9,000 foreign language educators and administrators from elementary through graduate education, as well as government and industry.
ATA is a professional association founded to advance the translation and interpreting professions and foster the professional development of individual translators and interpreters.
a group of scholars and educators who use the findings of linguistics and related sciences in identifying and addressing language-related problems
The Center of Language Education and Research (CLEAR) at Michigan State University was established in 1996 as a Language Resource Center (LRC) through a Title VI grant from the U.S. Department of Education. As an LRC, CLEAR strives to promote and support the teaching and learning of foreign languages in the United States through its various projects and outreach activities.
The acknowledged leader in all aspects of culturally based foreign language education, DLIFLC is an innovative and continuously adapting organization, operating on the cutting edge of language instruction and technology."
a catalogue of more than 6,700 languages spoken in 228 countries
offers easy access to hundreds of language-related sites, easily organizing them by language. In addition, you can find links to everything from the CIA World Factbook to crossword puzzles in Dutch.
a comprehensive catalog of language-related Internet resources; it has over 2,400 of the best language links the Web has to offer. Whether you're looking for online language lessons, translating dictionaries, native literature, translation services, software, language schools, or just a little information on a language in which you are interested, this site probably has something to suit your needs.
associated with the Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies at the University of Texas (UT)-Austin, LANIC seeks to "provide Latin American users with access to academic databases and information services throughout the Internet, and to provide Latin Americanists around the world with access to information on and from Latin America."
This web site provides a searchable directory to over 6000 freely available online bilingual and multilingual dictionaries and glossaries. Searches may be entered by language(s), subject, or title/keyword. Search results provide the number of entries and links to the online dictionaries. The site also provides a directory of translation and interpreting courses, a listing of translator and interpreter associations worldwide, language resources, freeware to download and links to sites for currency conversion, text analysis and language identification. Language-related software and products may be purchased at the website.
The MLA Language Map uses data from the 2000 United States census to display the locations and numbers of speakers of thirty languages and three groups of less commonly spoken languages in the United States.
A list of radio stations on the internet
provides learning resources for less commonly taught languages of the world, ranging from Armenian to Zulu.
Superior translation dictionaries for French, Italian, and Spanish
guide to language resources on the World Wide Web.
Head of Periodicals/Microforms
Tel: (660) 785- 4048
= Restricted resource
= Some full text
= OpenURL enabled
= Video files
= Audio files