TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
Book Search
Search the Library Catalog: for:

More library catalogs:   MOBIUS  | WorldCat

All Items by Source

Articles

ATLA Religion Database Restricted Resource openURL
ATLA (American Theological Library Association) includes citations to journal articles, book reviews, and essays from over 1,500 sources supporting many areas of religious and theological scholarship.  Subjects covered include  archaeology and antiquities, church history, ecumenism, ethics, pastoral ministry,  philosophy, and world religions.
Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available

The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.


Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective Restricted Resource openURL
Indexing of over 1200 periodicals, some going back as far as 1907.  Also has coverage of many important scientific journals up to the 1950s.
Humanities International Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 1,200 journals.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
Philosopher's Index Restricted Resource openURL
This index provides article citations to journals and books in philosophy and related disciplines including aesthetics, epistemology, ethics,and logic.  Material on the philosophy of disciplines, such as law, religion, science, and history is also included. 
Project MUSE Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full-text titles from over 100 scholarly journals in the Basic Undergraduate Collection. There is no way to limit to language on Project Muse searches. 

Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective Restricted Resource openURL
Indexing of over 1200 periodicals, some going back as far as 1907.  Also has coverage of many important scientific journals up to the 1950s.

Biographical Information

Biography and Genealogy Master Index Restricted Resource
 A comprehensive index to biographical sources. One simultaneous user.

Data/Statistics

American Religion Data Archive Some full text available
The intention of this site is "to preserve quantitative data on American religion" while increasing and enhancing the use of such data. The archive includes data about churches, membership, individuals, congregations, and denominations. . .immediate access to data on the general population or selected religious groups. . .data may also be approached geographically by selecting areas on a map."   "Highly recommended"  for general, academic, and professional readers.    Stewart, D.R. "American Religion  
Data Archive." Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries. Web. 3 Aug. 2009.

Click here for more  information about the database, which has been renamed the Association of Religion Data Archive.

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Anchor Bible Dictionary.
Print Location: REF BS 440 .A54 1992 (6 vols.)

Eerdmans Dictionary of the Bible.
Print Location: REF BS 440 .E44 2000

Encyclopaedia Judaica.
Print Location: REF DS 102.8 .E496 1972 (16 vols.)
Encyclopedia of Buddhism.
Print Location: REF BQ 128 .E62 2004 (2 vols.)

Encyclopedia of Christianity.
Print Location: REF BR 95 .E8913 1999 (5 vols.)

Encyclopedia of Eastern Philosophy and Religion: Buddhism, Hinduism, Taoism, Zen.
Print Location: REF BL 1005 .L4813 1989

Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World.
Print Location: REF BP 40 .E525 2004 (2 vols.)

Encyclopedia of Religion.
Print Location: REF BL 31 .E46 1987 (16 vols.)

Larousse Dictionary of Beliefs and Religions.
Print Location: REF BL 31 .D53 1994

Oxford Dictionary of World Religions.
Print Location: REF BL 31 .O84 1997

Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World.
Print Location: REF DS 35.53 O95 1995 (4 vols.)

Handbooks & Guides

Handbook of Denominations in the United States.
Print Location: REF BL 2525 .M425 1995

Online Book Collection

eBook Collection (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:

      eBook Academic Collection
      eBook Clinical Collection
      eBook Community College Collection
      eBook High School Collection
      eBook K-8 Collection
      eBook Public Library Collection
ebrary Restricted Resource Some full text available
ebrary's Academic Complete is a growing ebook collection offering online, full-text access to over 70,000 titles in all academic subject areas.

Specialized Sources

Atlas of the Bible Restricted Resource Some full text available
"The first atlas of the Bible to treat its subject geographically rather than historically, this unique work features the main biblical sites, such as Galilee, the Judean desert and the Jerusalem hills, illustrated with colour maps. The book opens with a description of the Bible, explains how it came to be composed and how it has been transmitted to us through medieval manuscript copies and modern translations. The second section of the text provides an outline of the historical background of the Bible, from the time of Abraham to the close of the New Testament period. The third and principal section discusses the main geographical regions of the Bible and the sites within them. The history and main features of each region and site are described, and references are made throughout to incidents from the Old and New Testaments."   Atlas of the Bible. London: Andromeda, 1985. Credo Reference. Web 4 Aug. 2009.
Eerdmans Analytical Concordance to the Revised Standard Version of the Bible.
Print Location: REF BS 425 .W48 1988

Eerdmans Handbook to the History of Christianity.
Print Location: REF BR 146 .E53 1997

Eerdmans Handbook to the World's Religions.
Print Location: REF BL 80.2 .E35 1994

New Interpreter's Bible.
Print Location: REF BS 491.2 N484 1994-2002 (12 vols.)
General Articles and Introduction, Commentary and Reflections for each book of the Bible.
NRSV Concordance, Unabridged.
Print Location: REF BS 425 .K645 1991
Including the Apocryphal/Deuterocanonical Books

Web Sites

ARDA: Association of Religion Data Archives Some full text available
From Pennsylvania State University, this is a web site intended to democratize access to the best data on religion. (from ARDA).  The site contains data on "denominations, specific congregations, locales, historical perspectives" and more.   "Both scholars and those who are enthusiastic curious about some religious subject are likely to return to it again and again.  .  . Essential."   D.R. Stewart, Bethel University.  Choice Reviews Online, Jaunuary, 2012.  24 Aug. 2012.
CDRI: Cooperative Digital Resources Initiative
"The CDRI is a joint project of the American Theological Library Assocation and the Assocation of Theological Schools, with funding from the Henry Luce Foundation.  It provides grants to member libraries to digitize unique local collections which are then made available to the wider academic community in a single, searchable database. . .There are some wonderful collections here, including images of 16th-century engravings; coins from the ancient Greek, Roman, and Byzantine periods; illuminations from Armenian Gospels; photographs from Protestant missions in Korea; and maps of the Christian missionary expansion.  .  .The CDRI is an innovative project that is making a noteworthy contribution to the scholarly community."  Fontaine, W., Darmouth College.  Choice Reviews Online.  Supp. 2005. Web.  27 Aug. 2012.

Counterbalance Interactive Library
". . .a fascinating multimedia project dedicated to exploring the relationship between religion and science.  The Counterbalance Foundation, which sponsors the site, works closely with the Center for Theology and the Natural Sciences; PBS often references the foundation.  The site's ultimate aim is to fuel creative thinking by encouraging dialogue between the religious and scientific worldviews.  .  . immense range of topics. . . relationship of humans to the environment, genetic research, conflict between fundamentalism and science, and ethical issues.  .  . Vandana Shiva's lecture on the ethical implications of intellectual property rights as applied to genetically modified life- http://www.counterbalance.net/gmfood/shiva-frame.html - exemplifies the high-quality material provided.  .  . includes videos and recordings of lectures and expert interviews.  Highly recommended."  Reece, G.J.,  American University.  Choice Reviews Online.  Supp. 2005  Web.  27 Aug. 2012.


Introduction to Islam: An Online Text
"Hosted by the Middle East Institute, this web site is essentially the elctronic version of the author's book of the same title (1985)."  As such, it reads as a book which makes it easy to navigate.  The author, M. Cherif Bassiouni (De Paul Univ. College of Law), is an expert on Islamic and criminal law.  .  . The site provides comprehensive coverage of all aspects of Islam.  .  .rise and spread of Islam, basic tenets and teachings, social and legal systems, and arts and culture.  The addition of color photographs and pertinent Arabic/English quotes from the Qur'an enhance the usability of this resource.  .  . Amid many internet resources on Islam, this site stands out as an excellent one.  .  . Highly recommended."  Kraima, A.A., Univ. of Wisconsin-Milwaukee.  Choice Reviews Online.  Supp 2003.  Web.  28 Aug. 2012.

Virtual Religion Index Some full text available
This can be an excellent place to begin exploring a wide array of topics related to religion. 

"The Virtual Religion Index is an excellent portal for locating religious studies resources on the Internet. ... an extensive compilation of annotated links for the academic study of religion. Comprised of eighteen topic sections, the index covers the historical, philosophical, theological, psychological, sociological, and artistic aspects of a wide range of international religious traditions."  The Scout Report. 3 Nov. 1998. Web. 4 Aug. 2009.

Pew Forum on Religion & Public Life Some full text available
"Outstanding Title!"   This research center (non-partisan and non-profit) was launched in 2001. From the main page you can quickly identify a number of issues that are researched and discussed,  as well as the various publications produced by the Forum.

"The Center conducts independent polling, research, media analysis, and information-sharing in four main areas as they relate to religion: politics, law, domestic policy, and world affairs. . .provides timely and authoritative content including survey results, analyses of media coverage, and transcripts of interviews and discussions with scholars, politicians. . .and others. . .Well-researched, well-documented. . .and of greater depth than most alternatives. . .Highly recommended."   Orcutt, D. Choice Reviews Online.  April 2008.  Web. 24 Aug. 2012.


Bible Gateway Some full text available
Multiple languages (29) are supported in this database for researching the scripture online.   "User may choose from 81 Bibles currently available. . .12 audio Bibles and 13 e-books. . .search by passage, keyword " and other options in the Advanced Search mode. "Highly recommended."    Luce, D.L., Faulkner University.  Choice Reviews Online. September 2005. Web. 27 Aug. 2012.
Buddhanet Some full text available
"The aim of Buddhanet is to create a virtual Sangha, or community of Buddhists in the English-speaking world, and it strives to provide Buiddhists from all traditions with tools to help them develop theri practice.  Although its primary audience is believers, this site is also useful for scholars of Buddhism.  .  . provides access to many full-text primary and secondary materials for both the Therevada and Mahayana traditions.  . .Reference tools such as time lines of Buddhist history, global directory of Buddhist organizations and teachers. . .are included."  "Highly recommended."  Reece, G.J., American University.  Choice Reviews Online. 2005 Supp.  Web. 27 Aug. 2012.
Center for Christian-Jewish Learning. Some full text available
From Boston College, The Center for Christian-Jewish Learning "promotes dialogue and understanding among those of the Christian and Jewish faiths. . .includes resources for scholars and students. . .Many of the posted materials do have a Catholic orientation.  However, other Christian denominations are also represented. . .These materials reflect both a contemporary and historical perspective on christian/Jewish relations. . .Highly recommended."  Stevens, J. George Mason University.  Choice Reviews Online. Supp. 2006 . Web. 24 Aug. 2012.
Center for Muslim-Christian Understanding. Some full text available
"The Center for Muslim-Christian Understanding (CMCU) strives to improve cultural relationships between the West and the Muslim world. Based at Georgetown University, the program has become internationally recognized in the field of Islamic studies through its training programs, international exchanges, and academic classes. . .Of special interest is the Islamic resources link, which pulls together Web sites of major Muslim publications, organizations, and academic programs around the world. . .Researchers will find the Islamic resources section useful, e.g., its links to Middle Eastern publications. . . Recommended."     Sproles, C.A. "The Center for Muslim-Christian Understanding."  Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries. Oct. 2003. Web. 4 Aug. 2009.
Digital Quaker Collection Some full text available
The Earlham School of Religion, a graduate theological school for the Society of Friends (Quakers), has provided access to a wealth of journals, letters, and monographs. . .The selected documents detail Quaker theology, spirituality, history, and practice since the inception of the religion in the mid-17th century. . .The collection consists of over 500 volumes considered to be in the public domain. . .Prominent Quaker figures such as George Fox and William Penn are well represented, but the collection also included numerous authors of lesser prominence. . . Highly recommended."    Watts, R. "The Digital Quaker Collection."  Choice Reviews Online. March 2005.  Web. 24 Aug. 2012.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Lisa Glaubitz

Lisa Glaubitz
Reference
Tel: (660) 785- 7412

Research Assistance Program
  • Provides one-on-one assistance for research assignments with a subject reference librarian.
  • Helps you find appropriate sources of information (databases, electronic sources, etc.) based on the requirements of your assignment.
  • Shows you search techniques.Helps you find valuable resources outside of Pickler through our MOBIUS and Interlibrary Loan service.

    To schedule a RAP consultation, you can:
  • Send an email to: RAP session
  • Call 660-785-4051
  • Come to the Library Service Desk
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files