Articles
Biographical Information
Data/Statistics
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Government Information
Online Book Collection
Streaming Video Collections
Style & Citation Guides
Web Sites
Biographical Information
Data/Statistics
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Government Information
Online Book Collection
Streaming Video Collections
Style & Citation Guides
Web Sites
Academic Search Premier

A multi-disciplinary database that provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals 
Scientific and scholarly journals which have been peer-reviewed and are free.
Scientific and scholarly journals which have been peer-reviewed and are free.
Google Scholar
Scholarly journal articles on all subjects, some are full text; many have links to cited references.
Scholarly journal articles on all subjects, some are full text; many have links to cited references.
JSTOR

An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
LexisNexis Academic

Provides a wide range of full-text news, business, legal, and reference information.
Science Research

this is a Web search engine that searches across and federates more than 300 science related public and commercial Web Collections in real time. Collections include: Agricola; Directory of Open Access Journals; E-Print Network; NOAA PhotoLibrary; OAISter, NTIS, PubMed; Scholarpedia; Science.gov and numerous other science journals.
this is a Web search engine that searches across and federates more than 300 science related public and commercial Web Collections in real time. Collections include: Agricola; Directory of Open Access Journals; E-Print Network; NOAA PhotoLibrary; OAISter, NTIS, PubMed; Scholarpedia; Science.gov and numerous other science journals.
Scirus 
Indexes journal articles, but also scientists' homepages, courseware, pre-print server material, patents and institutional repository and website information.
Indexes journal articles, but also scientists' homepages, courseware, pre-print server material, patents and institutional repository and website information.
Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science : Pioneering Lives from Ancient Times to the mid-20th Century.
Shelf Location: Reference Q 141 B5285 2000

Biographical information for 2,500 women scientists from antiquity to mid-20th century ( all are dead). Give several paragraphs of information for each woman and bibliographic references.
Shelf Location: Reference Q 141 B5285 2000
Biographical information for 2,500 women scientists from antiquity to mid-20th century ( all are dead). Give several paragraphs of information for each woman and bibliographic references.
Eric Weisstein's World of Scientific Biography 
Biographical information for over 1000 scientists. Can search by name, gender, minority status, historical period, nationality, and prize winners
Biographical information for over 1000 scientists. Can search by name, gender, minority status, historical period, nationality, and prize winners
Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography

This dictionary provides an authoritative and accessible guide to the lives, labours and achievements of the men and women who have shaped the world of science.
This dictionary provides an authoritative and accessible guide to the lives, labours and achievements of the men and women who have shaped the world of science.
ISIHighlyCited.com

Lists the most cited researchers in 21 subject categories. Includes biographical information and a listing of publications. You can search by name, category, country, and institutional affiliation.
Lists the most cited researchers in 21 subject categories. Includes biographical information and a listing of publications. You can search by name, category, country, and institutional affiliation.
New Dictionary of Scientific Biography.
Shelf Location: Reference Q 141 N45 2008

Shelf Location: Reference Q 141 N45 2008
Scientific American Science Desk Reference.
Shelf Location: Reference Q 173 S397 1996

Over 1,700 answers to frequently-asked or difficult-to-answer questions. Check Table of Contents here.
Shelf Location: Reference Q 173 S397 1996
Over 1,700 answers to frequently-asked or difficult-to-answer questions. Check Table of Contents here.
Abbreviations.com 
An extensive collection of hundreds of thousands of acronyms, abbreviations, and initialisms.
An extensive collection of hundreds of thousands of acronyms, abbreviations, and initialisms.
Credo Reference

Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas. Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas. Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
McGraw Hill Concise Encyclopedia of Science & Technology

Based on the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology.
Based on the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology.
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology.
Shelf Location: Reference Q 121 M3 2007

A multi-volume basic science encyclopedia.
Shelf Location: Reference Q 121 M3 2007
A multi-volume basic science encyclopedia.
Science Reference Center

Science Reference Center™ is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content. Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Science Reference Center also satisfies the demand for standards-based content by providing teachers and librarians with articles correlated to state and national curriculum standards.
Science Reference Center™ is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content. Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Science Reference Center also satisfies the demand for standards-based content by providing teachers and librarians with articles correlated to state and national curriculum standards.
Science.gov

Science.gov searches over 38 databases and 1,950 selected websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results.
Science.gov searches over 38 databases and 1,950 selected websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results.
ebrary

ebrary's Academic Complete is a growing ebook collection offering online, full-text access to over 70,000 titles in all academic subject areas.
ebrary's Academic Complete is a growing ebook collection offering online, full-text access to over 70,000 titles in all academic subject areas.
Films on Demand

Films on Demand is a multi-disciplinary collection of streaming videos from Films Media Group. It includes over 8,000 full-length videos / 90,000 clips that cover a wide range of academic disciplines: psychology, history, literature, languages, engineering, business, art, sociology, sciences and more. A tutorial is available that will show you how to access Films On Demand from anywhere. It also instructs on how to add a Films On Demand video to Blackboard. The tutorial is available at: http://clockhar.sites.truman.edu/films-on-demand/
Films on Demand is a multi-disciplinary collection of streaming videos from Films Media Group. It includes over 8,000 full-length videos / 90,000 clips that cover a wide range of academic disciplines: psychology, history, literature, languages, engineering, business, art, sociology, sciences and more. A tutorial is available that will show you how to access Films On Demand from anywhere. It also instructs on how to add a Films On Demand video to Blackboard. The tutorial is available at: http://clockhar.sites.truman.edu/films-on-demand/
Citation and Writing Guides 
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style. This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: EndNote, Zotero, and EasyBib.com.
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style. This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: EndNote, Zotero, and EasyBib.com.
American Statistical Association
The Association web page includes news, educational resources, and career resources.
The Association web page includes news, educational resources, and career resources.
AMSER : Applied Math and Science Education Repository
AMSER is a portal of educational resources geared to community and technical colleges, but free to all.
AMSER is a portal of educational resources geared to community and technical colleges, but free to all.
INFOMINE 
INFOMINE is a huge collection of scholarly internet sites. Each website is carefully evaluated, cataloged and checked for status by the Libraries of the University of California.
INFOMINE is a huge collection of scholarly internet sites. Each website is carefully evaluated, cataloged and checked for status by the Libraries of the University of California.
National Science Digital Library 
A digital library of "exemplary resources collections and services, organized in support of science education at all levels." You may ask a science, math, or technology question through the AskNSDL question and answer service.
A digital library of "exemplary resources collections and services, organized in support of science education at all levels." You may ask a science, math, or technology question through the AskNSDL question and answer service.
Science Animations: Movies & Interactive Tutorial Links

Over 100 links to interactive science content.
Over 100 links to interactive science content.
Truman State University Student Mathematica Software Distribution
The University's license with Wolfram Software allows each TSU student an installation of the Mathematica software.
The University's license with Wolfram Software allows each TSU student an installation of the Mathematica software.
Carol Lockhart
Reference Librarian
Tel: (660) 785-7417
- Provides one-on-one assistance for research assignments with a subject reference librarian.
- Helps you find appropriate sources of information (databases, electronic sources, etc.) based on the requirements of your assignment.
- Shows you search techniques.Helps you find valuable resources outside of Pickler through our MOBIUS and Interlibrary Loan service.
- Send an email to: RAP session
- Call 660-785-4051
- Come to the Library Service Desk
- QA Mathematics
- QB Astronomy
- QC Physics
- QD Chemistry
- QE Geology
- QH Natural History-Biology
- QK Botany
- QL Zoology
- QM Human Anatomy
- QP Physiology
- QR Microbiology
= Restricted resource
= Some full text
= OpenURL enabled
= Images
= Video files
= Audio files

