TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
Book Search
Search the Library Catalog: for:

More library catalogs:   MOBIUS  | WorldCat

All Items by Source

Articles

SocIndex with Full Text Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
A comprehensive sociology research database with more than 1.9 million records and the full text for over 400 journals dating back to 1908.  Also contains full text for more than 700 books and monographs and more than 6000 conference papers.  Journals related to Criminology & Criminal Justice, Education, Gender Studies/GLBT Studies, History, and Education are also found in this database.  For some journals, there may be a 12 month delay in provision of full text content.
Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available

The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.


JSTOR Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
Public Affairs Index Restricted Resource

A bibliographic database covering all aspects of global contemporary public policy issues ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, to international conflict and natural disasters. It draws on a diverse array of scholarly publications, conference papers, government documents and current reference works to provide up-to-date information on the broad range of topics of concern to the world today.


SPORTDiscus Restricted Resource openURL
Comprehensive coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines provided by the Sport Information Resource Center (SPIRS).  Includes over 700,000 records of monographs and journal articles going back as far as 1800.

AgeLine
Free database for information on social gerontology as well as aging-related research from psychology, sociology, social work, economics, public policy, and the health sciences.
eHRAF World Cultures Restricted Resource Some full text available
Produced by Human Relations Area File, Yale University, this is a unique cross-cultural database currently covering 230 cultures; useful for many academic disciplines in the social sciences, humanities and medicine and any area concerned with cultural diversity. 

Biographical Information

Authors of Their Own Lives: Intellectual Autobiographies by Twenty American Sociologists.
Print Location: General HM 24 .A88 1990

Biography and Genealogy Master Index Restricted Resource
 A comprehensive index to biographical sources. One simultaneous user.
Cambridge Companion to Durkheim.
Print Location: General HM 465 .C36 2005
Click here for Table of Contents
Durkheim: His Life and Work.
Print Location: General HM 22 .F8 D845 1985

Karl Marx: An Intimate Biography.
Print Location: General HX 39.5 P63 1980

Letters and Autobiographical Writings/C. Wright Mills.
Print Location: General HM 479 .M55 A3 2000

Masters of Sociological Thought: Ideas in Historical and Social Context.
Print Location: HM 19 .S67
Click here for Table of Contents
"More than just another history of sociological ideas written as though the ideas issued from disembodied minds. . Professor Coser. . .instructively connects the work of each theorist to his life-history in both its social and psychological aspects. . ."  Merton, Robert K. Foreward. Masters of Sociological Thought.: Ideas in Historical and Social Context.  By Lewis A. Coser. 2nd ed. New York: Harcourt Brace Jovanovich, 1977.
Max Weber: An Intellectual Biography.
Print Location: General HM 479 .W42 R56 2004
Click here for Table of Contents
W.E.B. Du Bois: A Biography in Four Voices.
Print Location: Media Video E 185.97 .D73 W23 1995
Click here for summary

Data/Statistics

OFFSTATS: Official Statistics on the Web
"This site offers an invaluable, centralized collection of links to free, official statistics resources. Statistics sites abound, but none are as comprehensive, useful, and well maintained as the University of Auckland Library's OFFSTATS. The site arranges statistics sources alphabetically in three sections--by country, region, and subject--with pull-down boxes for easy selection. .  .Access requires no registration or payment.  .  .as a listing of genuinely authoritative statistics sources, OFFSTATS has no parallel.  Summing up:  Essential."  Johnson, T.M., University of Maryland-College Park.  Choice Reviews Online.  May 2007.  Web  16 Oct. 2012.
Pew Global Attitudes Project
This site provides "data sets and reports on cross-cultural public opinion surveys.  Since its inception in 2001, the project has conducted 44 surveys, interviewing more than 90,000 people in 50 countries.  . .Almost all reports include information on the sample and the data collection, and copies of the questionnaire. The most valuable part of the Web site is having access to the original data sets in SPSS format, along with the codebooks. . The reports and the data sets would be useful for cross-cultural study or for social research classes that address international political and social issues."    " Highly  recommended."  McKinley, K.M., Cabrini College, Choice Reviews Online , Sep. 2006. Web. 8 Aug. 2012.

Statistical Abstract of the United States (ProQuest) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.

Older print volumes can be found in General Collection HA202 .A32.
U.S. Census Bureau Some full text available
The Census offers numerous sources regarding population, income and housing. One of the most useful areas will be the American Factfinder. You can look at the population and spending patterns by state, county, city, or zip code.

Demographic Information

American FactFinder
Part of the U.S. Census web site, American FactFinder "provides detailed data sets related to population, housing, economics, industry, and geographic data. . .Contains quality video tutorials with attached written transcripts."   Several other differences between this web site and the old American FactFinder include being able to "create and customize maps, modify statistical tables . . .and save data in a presentation format with notes and footnotes or in files designed for spreadsheet software. . .The information stored here is crucial to researchers."
Bruns, C.W., California State University-Fullerton.  Choice Reviews Online. July, 2011.  Web.  9 Aug. 2012.

American Indian and Alaska Native (AIAN) Data and Links
". . .created and maintained by the US Census Bureau. . . a starting point for general readers, high school students, post-secondary students, educators, and researchers interested in 1980, 1990, and 2000 demographic, social, economic, and housing characteristics.  The site offers three important governmental links not available through more comprehensive sites (such as http://www.nativeculture.com/limamitten/indians.html and http://www.cradleboard.org, which also provide access to Census data for Native Americans).  The first important link AIAN link is to the Tribal Governments Liaison Program Handbook. . .provides a contemporary example of the government-to-government relationship between the more that 550 federally recognized tribes and the U.S."  Baird-Olson, K., California State University-Northridge.  Choice Reviews Online.  Nov. 2003.  Web.  9 Aug. 2012.

Mapping the 2010 U.S. Census Resource contains images
From the New York Times-"Browse population growth and decline, changes in racial and ethnic concentrations and patterns of housing development."
Social Explorer Restricted Resource
An interactive database providing access to demographic information about the United States from 1790 to present.  Includes over 15,000 interactive data maps and reports taken from census data.

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology.
Print Location: REF HM 425 .B53 2007 (11 vols.)

Blackwell Guide to Major Classical Social Theorists.
Print Location: General HM 585 .B527

Encyclopedia of Marriage and the Family.
Print Location: REF HQ 9 .E52 1995 (2 vols.)

Encyclopedia of Social History.
Print Location: REF HN 28 .E53 1994

Sociology Basics.
Print Location: REF HM 425 .S63

Handbooks & Guides

Guide to Writing Sociology Papers.
Print Location: REF HM 73 .G78 1998

Handbook of Qualitative Research.
Print Location: General H 62 .H2455 2000

Handbook of the Sociology of Gender.
Print Location: General HQ 1075 .C47 1999
Click here for Table of Contents
Sociology Student Writer's Manual.
Print Location: General Collection HM 585 .638 2002
Click here for Table of Contents

Online Book Collection

eBook Collection (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:

      eBook Academic Collection
      eBook Clinical Collection
      eBook Community College Collection
      eBook High School Collection
      eBook K-8 Collection
      eBook Public Library Collection
ebrary Restricted Resource Some full text available
ebrary's Academic Complete is a growing ebook collection offering online, full-text access to over 70,000 titles in all academic subject areas.

Primary Sources

Specialized Sources


Print Location: General HM 585 .I57 2000

Blackwell Companion to Major Classical Social Theorists.
Print Location: REF HM 585 .B527 2003
Click here for Table of Contents
Blackwell Companion to Sociology.
Print Location: REF HM 585 .B53 2001
Click here for Table of Contents
Fifty Key Sociologists: The Contemporary Theorists.
Print Location: REF HM 447 .A16 2007
Click here for Contents
Fifty Key Sociologists: The Formative Theorists.
Print Location: REF HM 445 .F545 2007
Click here for Contents
Oxford Handbook of the Sociology of Religion.
Print Location: General BL 60 .O94 2009
Click here for Table of Contents

Web Sites

AgingStats.gov
From the Federal Interagency Forum on Aging Related Satitstics, this site "evaluates existing data collected by 15 major US government agencies including the Administration on Aging and the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services.  .  .Users can access Older Americans 2008: Key Indicators of Well-Being" (as well as a few earlier editions) "and the Retirement Resources Report.  .  .Particulary useful for upper-division undergraduates and practitioners in marketing, health sciences, social work, and sociology who may not be familiar with the 15-plus government agencies that collect and analyze statistics on the aging."   Ruben, R.L., emerita, Western Illinois University.  Choice Reviews.  Dec. 2009.
American Community Survey
Alongside the traditional decennial population survey, the Census Bureau has created another product called the American Community Survey or ACS.  Concentrates on addressess "rather than individuals and is sent to approximately three million addresses annually."  New questions concerning health insurance, veterans' disability status, and marital history.  A tutorial available and is a "good place to start before using the data."   According to the reviewer, the  "scope and detail of the data available through the American Community Survey is essentail for researchers, government, and urban planners.  Highly recommended."   C.W. Bruns, California State University-Fullerton.  CHOICE Reviews Online. March, 2011.
Everyday Sociology Blog

This web site "looks at current events and contemporary issues from a sociologist's point of view.  Contributors to this blog are experienced sociology professors from several acadmic insitutions throughout the US.  .  .includes blogger biographies, an RSS feed, and 'Sociology in the News,' a selection of recent New York Times articles."  Pham, S.L..  Kutztown University of Pennsylvania.  Choice Reviews.  Aug. 2008.


Forced Migration Online: A World of Information on Human Displacement
"Highly recommended."  Choice Reviews, 2006 supplement
Gapminder Some full text available
"Allows comparison of countries by displaying charts and maps on the fly for some 500 indicators (health, income, education, energy, environment, technology, and more).  Data comes from such "traditional sources such as the United Nations, World Bank, and OECD" as well as the Centre for Research on the Epidemiology of Disasters and British Petroleum. . ."Using the Gapminder tutorial to understand the site is essential. . .Highly recommended."  J.M Burroughs, University of Montana. Choice Reviews. February 2011.
Minority Links: Facts on the Asian Population
Information from the U.S. Census Bureau

Online Encyclopedia of Mass Violence
Edited by Jacques Semelin, research director at the Center for International Studies and Research.
Pew Internet & American Life Project
This web site "continues to be the top site for data about life as it is lived online.  The project's mission since 2000 has been to track not just the 'impact' but 'the eveolution of the internet through surveys that examine how Americans use the internet and how their activities affect their lives.' . . .Essential."  Braustein, L.R.  Choice.  Jan. 2014  16 March 2014.  Web.
Poverty Related Links
"Developed by the Institute for Research on Poverty (IRP) at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, this site provides a wealth of information for anyone studying poverty and/or welfare reform.  .  . At the IRP home page, one can easily click to find concise answers to frequently asked questions, such as 'What is a brief history of the definition of poverty?'  'How is poverty measured?'  and  'Who are the poor?' The Subject, Research Opportunities, and the IRP home page areas are most directly related to facts on poverty.  .  . The Institute for Research on Poverty has created a site whose content and reliability are excellent. This is a must-visit site--whether for an undergraduate doing a term paper, an activist studying welfare reform, or an academic researcher.  Hoffman, E. P. Western Michigan University.  Choice Reviews Online.  Supp. 2003.  Web.  9 Oct. 2012.
Race and Ethnicity Online
Official site of the Section on Race, Ethnicity, and Politics of the American Political Science Association.

Sociolog: Julian Dierkes' Comprehensive Guide to Sociology on-line

"Highly recommended."  Choice Reviews Online.  2006 Supplement


SocioSite
Very efficient source for locating bibliographies of works by and about one hundred or so classical and contemporary sociologists.  Once in the site, simply click on Sociologists.
"Highly recommended."  Choice Reviews Online.  2006 Supplement.
World Database of Happiness
"Online compendium of available studies on happiness, also known as 'subjective well-being,' a topic of strong and growing interest in the social sciences. . .maintained and directed by sociologist Ruut Veenhoven (emer., Erasmus Univ., the Netherlands). . .Highly recommended.  Social science students at all levels; faculty; researchers."  Metcalf, S.M.  Western Carolina University.  Choice Reviews Online.  Oct. 2012.  Web. 18 Jan. 2013

Subject Specialist
Picture: Lisa Glaubitz

Lisa Glaubitz
Reference
Tel: (660) 785- 7412

Research Assistance Program
  • Provides one-on-one assistance for research assignments with a subject reference librarian.
  • Helps you find appropriate sources of information (databases, electronic sources, etc.) based on the requirements of your assignment.
  • Shows you search techniques.Helps you find valuable resources outside of Pickler through our MOBIUS and Interlibrary Loan service.

    To schedule a RAP consultation, you can:
  • Send an email to: RAP session
  • Call 660-785-4051
  • Come to the Library Service Desk
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files