The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
note: Journal of Intellectual Freedom and Privacy is the official journal of the Office for Intellectual Freedom (OIF), an office of the American Library Association.
Up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers from around the world in all disciplines and time periods.
note: This journal, published by the American Library Association, highlights books that are banned or censored in some way. Use this link to search for a particular title that you are interested in.
Newspaper Source™ provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc. The database also contains selective full text for more than 370 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.
A source for news, business, and legal information. Includes more than 15,000 full text newspaper articles, newspaper and radio transcripts, company profiles and dossiers, and legal decisions from states and federal courts at all levels. This includes Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1970. Includes options for setting up personalized alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace for shared folders and annotated documents.
Banned in the USA: A reference Guide to Book censorship in Schools and Public Libraries - Print Location = Ref Z658 U5 F64 2002
Literature Suppressed on Political Grounds - Print location = Ref Z658 U5 K57 2006
Literature Suppressed on Social Grounds - Print location = Ref Z658 U5 S69 2006
Research & Instruction
Tel: (660) 785- 4048
In TruSearch - refine your search to newspaper articles
- Provides one-on-one assistance for research assignments with a subject reference librarian.
- Helps you find appropriate sources of information (databases, electronic sources, etc.) based on the requirements of your assignment.
- Shows you search techniques.Helps you find valuable resources outside of Pickler through our MOBIUS and Interlibrary Loan service.
- Send an email to: RAP session
- Call 660-785-4051
- Come to the Library Service Desk