SubjectsPlus: Art & Art History

TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
Book Search
Search the Library Catalog: for:

More library catalogs:   MOBIUS  | WorldCat

All Items by Source

Articles

America: History and Life Restricted Resource openURL
Historical coverage (including Art & Architecture) of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Art Full Text Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
A comprehensive resource for art information featuring full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, high-quality indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective Restricted Resource openURL
Indexing of over 1200 periodicals, some going back as far as 1907.  Also has coverage of many important scientific journals up to the 1950s.
Art Index Retrospective Restricted Resource openURL
A companion to Art Full Text, this database provides citations to older articles published between 1929 - 1984 in international arts periodicals. 
Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available

The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.


Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource openURL
Historical coverage of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Articles from 1800 jouranls are indexed, same dating back to 1955. Art History & Architecture are also covered.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
Humanities International Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 1,200 journals.
ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages & Renaissance Restricted Resource
A bibliography of articles, essays, books, dissertation abstracts, and encyclopedia entries pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400 - 1700 AD). This material has been collected from 10,360 publications, including 1,710 journals.
International Medieval Bibliography -
Print Location: Reference D 111 I63
An index of journal articles, conference proceedings, Festschriften, and collected essays covering all aspects of medieval studies from 450 to 1500 on the continent of Europe and the Middle East and North Africa for the period before the Muslim Conquest.
Index to Nineteenth Century American Art Periodicals
Print Location: Reference N 6510 .S35 1999
This two volume set indexes about 40 American art periodicals that were published during the 19th century.
ArtBibliographies Modern -
Print Location: Reference NX456 A78 Restricted Resource
A print index of art related literature. 1969-2003.

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas.  Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Dictionary of Art. (Grove Dictionary of Art)
Print Location: Reference N 31 D5 1996
This 34 volume set covers all the visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, photography, drawing, printmaking, and the decorative arts.  It includes articles on visual art from the prehistoric times to the present, biographies of artists, and 15,350 illustrations. Coverage is worldwide in scope--from Oceania to North America to Japan and Africa.
Grove Encyclopedia of Northern Renaissance Art -
Print Location: Reference N6370 .G76 2009


Encyclopedia of the History of Classical Archaeology -
Print Location: Reference DE 5 .E5 1996

Encyclopedia of World Art.
Print Location: Reference N 31 E4833

Online Book Collection

eBook Collection (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:

      eBook Academic Collection
      eBook Clinical Collection
      eBook Community College Collection
      eBook High School Collection
      eBook K-8 Collection
      eBook Public Library Collection
ebrary Restricted Resource Some full text available
ebrary's Academic Complete is a growing ebook collection offering online, full-text access to over 70,000 titles in all academic subject areas.

Primary Sources

America's Historical Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full-text collection of over 1000 U.S. historical newspapers.  Divided into three collections: Series I (1690-1876), Series II (1758-1900), Series III (1829-1922).  Part of the Readex Archive of Americana database.
Artists on Art from the XIV to the XX Century.
Print Location: Reference N 7452 G64 1958

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Sponsored jointly by the Library of Congress and the National Endowment for the Humanities as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP), this site provides select digital access to American newspapers from 1880 to 1910 and from mainly ten states. Additionally, access to an invaluable directory of newspapers published in the United States from 1690 to the present is available. The directory can be browsed by title or searched by state, county and city, date, keyword, frequency, language, or type of newspaper. The directory usually offers comprehensive information, such as titles, alternative titles, publication places, geographic coverage, persistent links, publishers, dates of publication, descriptions, frequencies, languages, subjects, general notes, LCCN, OCLC numbers, succeeding titles, and links to holdings.

Documents of 20th Century Art.
Print Location: General Collection-see link below for call numbers
Collection of volumes giving primary sources relating to 20th century art.  In the LibraryCatalog, a search on this title will find a list of the books in the series.  Some of the authors included are: Guillaume Apollinaire, Jean Arp, Umbro Apollonio, Daniel Kahnweiler, Jacques Lipchitz, Robert and Sonia Delaunay, and Pablo Picasso.
Lives of the Artist.
Print Location: Reference N 6922 V2213 1991
Written by Vasari (1511-1574)
Pickler Library Microforms Collections
Our Microform Collections are another great place to find primary source material. The list can be viewed alphabetically, by subject and by time period.
Smithsonian Archive of American Art
A digitized collection of papers of artists and other archival material from the Archives of American Art including  letters, postcards, sketches, exhibition records, diaries, and other unique documents. The collection also includes transcripts of interviews with artists, collectors, gallery directors, and art historians.
Twentieth-century artists on art : an index to artists' writings, statements, and interviews.
Print Location: Reference NX 456 R59 1996

Specialized Sources

CAMIO Restricted Resource Resource contains images

CAMIO® — OCLC's Catalog of Art Museum Images Online

This image database is a growing collection of works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums.

CAMIO is licensed for use by students, faculty, and researchers at subscribing institutions. Works of art may be used for educational and research purposes during the term of the subscription, if they are properly credited. Images may not be published or otherwise distributed.


MetPublications
MetPublications is a portal tothe  Metropolitan Museum of Art's comprehensive publishing program. Beginning with nearly 650 titles published from 1964 to the present, this resource will continue to expand and could eventually offer access to nearly all books, Bulletins, and Journals published by the Metropolitan Museum since the Met's founding in 1870. It will also include online publications.

MetPublications includes a description and table of contents for almost every title, as well as information about the authors, reviews, awards, and links to related Met bibliographies by author, theme, or keyword. Current titles that are in-print may be previewed and fully searched online, with a link to purchase the book. The full contents of almost all other titles may be read online, searched, or downloaded as a PDF, at no cost. Books can be previewed or read and searched through the Google Books program. Many out-of-print books are available for purchase, when rights permit, through print-on-demand capabilities in association with Yale University Press.

 

Streaming Video Collections

Films on Demand Restricted Resource Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Films on Demand is a multi-disciplinary collection of streaming videos from Films Media Group. It includes over 8,000 full-length videos / 90,000 clips  that cover a wide range of academic disciplines: psychology, history, literature, languages, engineering, business, art, sociology, sciences and more. A tutorial is available that will show you how to access Films On Demand from anywhere.  It also instructs on how to add a Films On Demand video to Blackboard.  The tutorial is available at: http://clockhar.sites.truman.edu/films-on-demand/

Web Sites

AICT: Art Images for College Teaching -
Art Images for College Teaching (AICT) is intended primarily to disseminate images of art and architectural works in the public domain on a free-access, free-use basis to all levels of the educational community, as well as to the public at large.
Ancient Greek World
A virtual gallery from the University of Pennsylvania Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology.
Art History Resources on the Web
Links are arranged by time periods, Prehistoric to 20th Century. This site is maintained by Dr. Christopher L.C.E. Witcombe Professor, Department of Art History, Sweet Briar College.
ArtCyclopedia
A searchable guide to museum-quality fine art on the Internet.