TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
Databases

more information icon Click for more information about a database.


Academic Search Premier

A multi-disciplinary database that provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.


AgEcon Search: Research in Agricultural and Applied Economics

American Chemical Society Archives
Searches full text of all ACS journals from 1879 on.

American West

A collection of digitized sources from the the Everett D. Graff Collection of Western Americana at the Newberry Library, Chicago.  This database contains a mixture of original manuscripts, maps, ephemeral material and rare printed sources:

  • Papers of early pioneers, explorers and hunters are well represented, including items such as the original manuscript journal and papers of James Audubon.
     
  • The evolution of Western towns can be seen through materials such as prospectuses and city directories.
  • The growth of railway and road networks can be explored through maps and through records of key railroad companies.
  • Emigrants guides, manuscript travel journals, store catalogues, illustrations and maps enable scholars to understand the phenomenon of Westward expansion.
  • Accounts of ranches and of the prairie lands document the agricultural transformation of the West.

Business Source Premier
Provides full text for over 8,000 scholarly business journals and other sources in nearly every area of business, including management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and more. The database also includes other sources of full text information such as country economic reports from the EIU,  and detailed company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies.
CAMIO

CAMIO® — OCLC's Catalog of Art Museum Images Online

This image database is a growing collection of works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums.

CAMIO is licensed for use by students, faculty, and researchers at subscribing institutions. Works of art may be used for educational and research purposes during the term of the subscription, if they are properly credited. Images may not be published or otherwise distributed.


Credo Reference
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas.  Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Encyclopaedia Judaica.


JSTOR
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
Kansas City Star
Part of NewsBank. Full text. 1991 to present.
Master Theses at Truman


MedlinePlus
Authoritative explanations of 750 medical topics; drug information; directories for finding local doctors and hospitals; news; tutorials; medical information in 40 languages. Produced by the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.

National Agricultural Library Digital Repository
The National Agricultural Library Digital Repository (NALDR) provides access to primarily historical USDA publications either digitized by NAL or through NAL’s partnerships with other institutions.
Safari Books Online
Over 1,000 complete computer and technical books and manuals for online reading.  Also includes some e-books on business and public policy.  Limit 5 simultaneous users.
Science Research
this is a Web search engine that searches across and federates more than 300 science related public and commercial Web Collections in real time.  Collections include:  Agricola; Directory of Open Access Journals; E-Print Network; NOAA PhotoLibrary;  OAISter, NTIS, PubMed; Scholarpedia; Science.gov and numerous other science journals.
Science.gov
Science.gov searches over 38 databases and 1,950 selected websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results.

St. Louis Post-Dispatch
Part of NewsBank.  Full text. 1988 to present.
TOXNET: Toxicology Data Network
An index to several federal publications on toxic substances including:  Toxic Literature Online; Hazardous Substances Databank; Toxics Release Inventory; Environmental Health eMaps. From the National Library of Medicine.

United Nations Environment Programme
The United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) Web site provides regional and global environmental information focusing on UNEPs six priority areas: Climate Change; Disasters and Conflicts; Ecosystem Management; Environmental Governance; Harmful Substances; and Resource Efficiency. They have freely available publications online including: annual reports, atlases, serials and ebooks.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide = Click for help guide (.pdf or .html)
ArticleLinker enabled = OpenURL Enabled

Some full text available = Some full text
Resource includes images = Images
Resource includes video = Video files
Resource includes audio = Audio files