SubjectsPlus: AGSC 108 - Intro to Agricultural Systems

TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
Services for Undergraduate Students
Book Search
Search the Library Catalog: for:

More library catalogs:   MOBIUS  | WorldCat

Basics of Keyword Searching
All Items by Source
Articles
Biographical Information
Data/Statistics
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Government Information
Library Catalogs
Specialized Sources
Style & Citation Guides
Web Sites

Articles

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available

A multi-disciplinary database that provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.


Google Scholar
Scholarly journal articles on all subjects, some are full text; many have links to cited references.

Biographical Information

Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science : Pioneering Lives from Ancient Times to the mid-20th Century.
Shelf Location: Reference Q 141 B5285 2000 Restricted Resource Some full text available
Biographical information for 2,500 women scientists from antiquity to mid-20th  century ( all are dead).  Give several paragraphs of information for each woman and bibliographic references.

Eric Weisstein's World of Scientific Biography Some full text available
Biographical information for over 1000 scientists.  Can search by name, gender, minority status, historical period, nationality, and prize winners
Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
This dictionary provides an authoritative and accessible guide to the lives, labours and achievements of the men and women who have shaped the world of science.
New Dictionary of Scientific Biography.
Shelf Location: Reference Q 141 N45 2008 Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available


Data/Statistics

National Agricultural Statistics Service Some full text available
Provides access to some basic statistics and also links to their full text publications (mounted at Cornell University).

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas.  Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Dictionary of Agricultural and Environmental Science.
Shelf Location: Reference S 411 T76 2003 Restricted Resource Some full text available


Government Information

Library Catalogs

Specialized Sources

University of Missouri Extension Some full text available
MU Extension publishes a wide range of research-based information that can help you make informed decisions to improve your life at home and work.

Style & Citation Guides

Citation and Writing Guides Some full text available
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style.  This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: EndNote, Zotero, and EasyBib.com.

Web Sites

Brownfield Network Some full text available
A daily news snapshot of US and world agriculture.
Current Research Information System (CRIS-USDA) Restricted Resource Some full text available
CRIS is the U.S. Department of Agriculture's documentation and reporting system for ongoing and recently completed research and education projects in agriculture, food and nutrition, and forestry.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Carol Lockhart

Carol Lockhart
Reference Librarian
Tel: (660) 785-7417

Research Assistance Program
  • Provides one-on-one assistance for research assignments with a subject reference librarian.
  • Helps you find appropriate sources of information (databases, electronic sources, etc.) based on the requirements of your assignment.
  • Shows you search techniques.Helps you find valuable resources outside of Pickler through our MOBIUS and Interlibrary Loan service.
To schedule a RAP consultation, you can:
  • Send an email to: RAP session
  • Call 660-785-4051
  • Come to the Library Service Desk
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files