Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Online Book Collection
Streaming Video Collections
Style & Citation Guides
The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
On the Web through the National Agricultural Library. Free site.
This database covers every major agricultural subject.
This UN FAO-based Web site was developed in 1974 and treats all aspects of agriculture. There are 199 national organizations that contribute to the site and they add approximately 14,000 items per month.
Scientific and scholarly journals which have been peer-reviewed and are free.
Scholarly journal articles on all subjects, some are full text; many have links to cited references.
The National Agricultural Library Digital Repository (NALDR) provides access to primarily historical USDA publications either digitized by NAL or through NAL’s partnerships with other institutions.
SciCentral is a science research news current awareness website. It has todays research news on biosciences, health sciences, physics, chemistry, earth & space, and engineering.
this is a Web search engine that searches across and federates more than 300 science related public and commercial Web Collections in real time. Collections include: Agricola; Directory of Open Access Journals; E-Print Network; NOAA PhotoLibrary; OAISter, NTIS, PubMed; Scholarpedia; Science.gov and numerous other science journals.
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
Shelf Location: Reference Q 141 B5285 2000
Biographical information for 2,500 women scientists from antiquity to mid-20th century ( all are dead). Give several paragraphs of information for each woman and bibliographic references.
Biographical information for over 1000 scientists. Can search by name, gender, minority status, historical period, nationality, and prize winners
This dictionary provides an authoritative and accessible guide to the lives, labours and achievements of the men and women who have shaped the world of science.
Lists the most cited researchers in 21 subject categories. Includes biographical information and a listing of publications. You can search by name, category, country, and institutional affiliation.
Contains biographical information and pictures of the agriculturalists who have been inducted to the National Agricultural Hall of Fame.
Shelf Location: Reference Q 141 N45 2008
General facts on agriculture.
Contains statistics on agricultural production, supplies, consumption, facilities, costs, and returns.
is now taken every five years, and provides statistics by state, county and zip code. Optional access for Older years (courtesy of Cornell University).
Shelf Location: HF 1041 C5622
This book includes production, supply, exports, imports, price and futures information for agricultural and other commodities.
Conducts research on trends in the agriculture and food sector. Many of their publications are now available online.
Provides access to international data from the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations.
Provides access to some basic statistics and also links to their full text publications (mounted at Cornell University).
An extensive collection of hundreds of thousands of acronyms, abbreviations, and initialisms.
Over 360 online reference titles in all subject areas. Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches in the Truman catalog and other library resources. Includes the Complete Encyclopedia of Plant Pathology and the Handbook of Vegetable Pests
Shelf Location: Reference S 411 T76 2003
Science Reference Center™ is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content. Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Science Reference Center also satisfies the demand for standards-based content by providing teachers and librarians with articles correlated to state and national curriculum standards.
Science.gov searches over 38 databases and 1,950 selected websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results.
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:
eBook Academic Collection
eBook Clinical Collection
eBook Community College Collection
eBook High School Collection
eBook K-8 Collection
eBook Public Library Collection
ebrary's Academic Complete is a growing ebook collection offering online, full-text access to over 70,000 titles in all academic subject areas.
MU Extension publishes a wide range of research-based information that can help you make informed decisions to improve your life at home and work.
Films on Demand is a multi-disciplinary collection of streaming videos from Films Media Group. It includes over 8,000 full-length videos / 90,000 clips that cover a wide range of academic disciplines: psychology, history, literature, languages, engineering, business, art, sociology, sciences and more. A tutorial is available that will show you how to access Films On Demand from anywhere. It also instructs on how to add a Films On Demand video to Blackboard. The tutorial is available at: http://clockhar.sites.truman.edu/films-on-demand/
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style. This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: EndNote, Zotero, and EasyBib.com.
A daily news snapshot of US and world agriculture.
CRIS is the U.S. Department of Agriculture's documentation and reporting system for ongoing and recently completed research and education projects in agriculture, food and nutrition, and forestry.
INFOMINE is a huge collection of scholarly internet sites. It has a special section for biology, agriculture and health sciences. Each website is carefully evaluated, cataloged and checked for status by the Libraries of the University of California.
Tel: (660) 785-7417
- Provides one-on-one assistance for research assignments with a subject reference librarian.
- Helps you find appropriate sources of information (databases, electronic sources, etc.) based on the requirements of your assignment.
- Shows you search techniques.Helps you find valuable resources outside of Pickler through our MOBIUS and Interlibrary Loan service.
- Send an email to: RAP session
- Call 660-785-4051
- Come to the Library Service Desk
= Restricted resource
= Some full text
= OpenURL enabled
= Video files
= Audio files