SubjectsPlus: Anthropology

TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
Book Search
Search the Library Catalog: for:

More library catalogs:   MOBIUS  | WorldCat

Best Bets
  • AnthroSource Restricted Resource
  • JSTOR Restricted Resource
  • SocIndex with Full Text Restricted Resource
  • eHRAF World Cultures Restricted Resource
    "Whether you are interested in learning about the North American Hmong's beliefs in the causes and cures of diseases or the Pashtun's religious views, this multi-cultural database provides you with in-depth information on all aspects of cultural and social life. . . each culture or ethnic group contains a variety of source documents (books, articles, and dissertations). . .  brief overviews of cultures on general topics such as demography, economy, social organization. . . Works include ethnohistories as well as recent ethnographies thus allowing for the fullest coverage of the culture."   HRAF-Human Relations Area Files.  eHRAF World Cultures.  Web.  25 Jan. 2013
All Items by Source
Articles
Biographical Information
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Handbooks & Guides
Online Book Collection
Specialized Sources
Web Sites

Articles

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available

A multi-disciplinary database that provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.


AnthroSource Restricted Resource Some full text available
From the American Anthropological Association, full text coverage of 32 journals covering various areas in anthropology.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) Restricted Resource Some full text available
authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States.  You can limit your searches by the following languages: English, Spanish, Portuguese, French, German, and Italian. Click here for a list of journals indexed in HAPI since 1970.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
PsycINFO Restricted Resource
Citations and abstracts of articles from journals in Psychology and other social science disciplines including Anthropology, Education, Medicine, Nursing, and Psychiatry, from mid-19th century to present.  Also includes citations to books and book chapters from 1987 to present.
SocIndex with Full Text Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
A comprehensive sociology research database with more than 1.9 million records and the full text for over 400 journals dating back to 1908.  Also contains full text for more than 700 books and monographs and more than 6000 conference papers.  Journals related to Criminology & Criminal Justice, Education, Gender Studies/GLBT Studies, History, and Education are also found in this database.  For some journals, there may be a 12 month delay in provision of full text content.
eHRAF World Cultures Restricted Resource Some full text available
Produced by Human Relations Area File, Yale University, this is a unique cross-cultural database currently covering 230 cultures; useful for many academic disciplines in the social sciences, humanities and medicine and any area concerned with cultural diversity. 
Human Relations Area Files (HRAF)
Shelf Location: Microfiche Cabinet 59, Drawers 8-10
A microfiche collection of mostly primary source materials on cultures or societies representing all major areas of the world, approximately 360 cultures of indexed ethnographic information comprise this collection. This set can be used for cultural comparisons (for example, mythology, taboos, causes of illness, ethnobotany) or for studying all aspects of a particular culture (Copper Eskimo, Iroquois, Trobriands and many more).  The HRAF collection is organized according to two main print resources:  The Outline of World Cultures (OWC) and the Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM), both located on top of Cabinet 59 where the fiche are filed.
The Index to the Human Relations Area Files,1974-1983 (Microform Reference GN 25 I542) is a subject index to the microfiche set organized by OCM category code.  The index is most useful for determining the coverage of a subject in a file without going directly to the files themselves.

See eHRAF World cultures (listed above) to browse those Human Relations Area Files that are now online.  NOTE: Not all HRAF cultures that are in the microfiche collection are online as of yet.  It is a project that is ongoing. 
JSTOR Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.

Biographical Information

Biography and Genealogy Master Index Restricted Resource
 A comprehensive index to biographical sources. One simultaneous user.

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Companion Encyclopedia of Anthropology.
Shelf Location: REF GN 25 .C65 1994
Click here for Table of Contents
Dictionary of Anthropology.
Shelf Location: REF GN 307 .D485

Dictionary of Archaeology.
Shelf Location: REF CC 70 .D53

Encyclopedia of Archaeology: The Great Archaeologists.
Shelf Location: REF CC 100 .E54 1999 (2 vols.)


Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology.
Shelf Location: REF GN 307 .E52 1996 (4 vols.)

Encyclopedia of World Cultures.
Shelf Location: REF GN 307 .E53 1991 (10 vols. + suppl.)
Click here for Table of Contents

 

Ethnic Relations: A Cross-cultural Encyclopedia.
Shelf Location: REF GN 496 .L48 1994

Marriage, Family, and Relationships: A Cross-Cultural Encyclopedia.
Shelf Location: REF GN 480 .B76 1994

Handbooks & Guides

Handbook of Hispanic Cultures in the United States.
Shelf Location: REF E 184.S75 H365 1993 (4 vols)

Handbook of Methods in Cultural Anthropology.
Shelf Location: General GN 345 .H37 1998

Handbook of North American Indians.
Shelf Location: REF E 77 .H25 (vols. 3-15, 17)
Click here for Table of Contents
Handbook of Qualitative Research.
Shelf Location: General H 62 .H2455 2000

Handbook of South American Indians
Shelf Location: General F 2229 .S75 (7 vols.)
Click here for Table of Contents

Online Book Collection

ebrary Restricted Resource Some full text available
ebrary's Academic Complete is a growing ebook collection offering online, full-text access to over 70,000 titles in all academic subject areas.

Specialized Sources

Anthropology: A Student's Guide to Theory & Method.
Shelf Location: General GN 25 .B39 1996

Introduction to Library Research in Anthropology.
Shelf Location: REF GN 42 .W22 1998

Web Sites

African American Archaeology, History, and Cultures
 "Outstanding Title!"
While there is a plethora of sites covering important areas in African American Studies such as abolition, the undergournd railroad, Civil Rights Movement, and African American music, this site stands out as unique and valuable. according to its reviewer, R.B.M Ridinger, subject librarian for African American Studies, Anthropology, and Sociology at Northern Illinois University.  "Fennell provides links to online presentations about African American archaeology projects in a Web site that is part of a broader portal, African Diaspora Archaeology Network.  Framed within this larger field, his site offers links to resources about the African American past, and excavations done in Africa itself.  .  . Highly recommended."  Ridinger, R.B.M.  Choice Reviews Online.  Supp. 2005.  Web.  30 Aug. 2012.

Anthropological Papers of the American Museum of Natural History

This collection of papers "covers diverse areas of the world and emphasizes ethnography, prehistory/archaeology, and nonhuman paleontology. . .an indispensable research tool for scholars, students, and the interested public.. . .Essential."  C.C. Kolb, National Endowment for the Humanities.  Choice Reveiws Online.  Dec., 2007.


Archaeology Channel
Provides free access to a large collection of streaming media covering archaeology worldwide. . More than 100 topical videos from both nonprofit and commercial sources and several video interviews. . ..Audio content includes news summaries, commentaries, interviews, and three topical collections. . .Highly recommended."   W. Kotter, Weber State University.  Choice Reviews Online. April, 2009.
Division of Anthropology-American Museum of Natural History
"Excellent resource that is of value for anyone with an interest in the worldwide cultural history of human beings."  C.S. Peebles, Indian University-Bloomington.  Choice Online Reviews  February, 2009.
Paleontology Portal
"Hosted by the University of California's Museum of Paleontology, this site is a selective collection of links to Internet resources on North American paleontology developed by the museum, the Paleontologcial Society, the Soceity of Vertebrate Paleontology, and the U.S. Geological Survey.  .  . offers a good introduction to paleontology, fossils, and related concepts for a broad audience."  L.R. Zellmer, Western State University.  Choice Reviews Onlne.  March, 2009.
Virtual Hilltribe Museum
This web site "focuses on hilltribes in Thailand, divided among the Akha, Hmong, Karen, Lahu, Lisu, and Mien (Yao) peoples, with a brief discussion of 'other tribes.' . .The web site offers English and Thai sectors. . . The Museum's aim is to educate others about hilltribe cultures as well as to teach younger members of hilltribe ancestry about their roots.  . . .much more of a sampler than a comprehensive presentation."  Mulliner, K., emeritus, Ohio University.  Choice Reviews Online. Apr 2006.  Web. 8 Aug 2012.

Subject Specialist
Picture: Lisa Glaubitz

Lisa Glaubitz
Reference
Tel: (660) 785-7412

Research Assistance Program
  • Provides one-on-one assistance for research assignments with a subject reference librarian.
  • Helps you find appropriate sources of information (databases, electronic sources, etc.) based on the requirements of your assignment.
  • Shows you search techniques.Helps you find valuable resources outside of Pickler through our MOBIUS and Interlibrary Loan service.

    To schedule a RAP consultation, you can:
  • Send an email to: RAP session
  • Call 660-785-4051
  • Come to the Library Service Desk

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files