SubjectsPlus: ART 222 - Caves to Cathedrals

TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
Book Search
Search the Library Catalog: for:

More library catalogs:   MOBIUS  | WorldCat

All Items by Source
Articles
Biographical Information
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Online Book Collection
Specialized Sources
Web Sites

Articles

Humanities International Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 1,200 journals.
Art Full Text Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
A comprehensive resource for art information featuring full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, high-quality indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations.


Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available

A multi-disciplinary database that provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.


Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective Restricted Resource openURL
Indexing of over 1200 periodicals, some going back as far as 1907.  Also has coverage of many important scientific journals up to the 1950s.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
International Medieval Bibliography -
Shelf Location: Reference D 111 I63
An index of journal articles, conference proceedings, Festschriften, and collected essays covering all aspects of medieval studies from 450 to 1500 on the continent of Europe and the Middle East and North Africa for the period before the Muslim Conquest.
Art Index Retrospective Restricted Resource openURL
A companion to Art Full Text, this database provides citations to older articles published between 1929 - 1984 in international arts periodicals. 

Biographical Information

Biography and Genealogy Master Index Restricted Resource
 A comprehensive index to biographical sources. One simultaneous user.
Biography Resource Center Restricted Resource Some full text available

Includes biographies and full-text articles from hundreds of magazines and newspapers on people from all eras and fields of endeavor. It also includes tens of thousands of images and links to vetted websites.


Literature Resource Center (LRC) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Use this to find biographical information about authors -- particularly in the set "Contemporary Authors".

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas.  Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Dictionary of Art. (Grove Dictionary of Art)
Shelf Location: Reference N 31 D5 1996
This 34 volume set covers all the visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, photography, drawing, printmaking, and the decorative arts.  It includes articles on visual art from the prehistoric times to the present, biographies of artists, and 15,350 illustrations. Coverage is worldwide in scope--from Oceania to North America to Japan and Africa.
Encyclopedia of the History of Classical Archaeology -
Shelf Location: Reference DE 5 .E5 1996

Encyclopedia of World Art.
Shelf Location: Reference N 31 E4833

Online Book Collection

ebrary Restricted Resource Some full text available
ebrary's Academic Complete is a growing ebook collection offering online, full-text access to over 70,000 titles in all academic subject areas.

Specialized Sources

CAMIO Restricted Resource Resource contains images

CAMIO® — OCLC's Catalog of Art Museum Images Online

This image database is a growing collection of works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums.

CAMIO is licensed for use by students, faculty, and researchers at subscribing institutions. Works of art may be used for educational and research purposes during the term of the subscription, if they are properly credited. Images may not be published or otherwise distributed.


MetPublications
MetPublications is a portal tothe  Metropolitan Museum of Art's comprehensive publishing program. Beginning with nearly 650 titles published from 1964 to the present, this resource will continue to expand and could eventually offer access to nearly all books, Bulletins, and Journals published by the Metropolitan Museum since the Met's founding in 1870. It will also include online publications.

MetPublications includes a description and table of contents for almost every title, as well as information about the authors, reviews, awards, and links to related Met bibliographies by author, theme, or keyword. Current titles that are in-print may be previewed and fully searched online, with a link to purchase the book. The full contents of almost all other titles may be read online, searched, or downloaded as a PDF, at no cost. Books can be previewed or read and searched through the Google Books program. Many out-of-print books are available for purchase, when rights permit, through print-on-demand capabilities in association with Yale University Press.

 

Web Sites

Art History Resources on the Web
Links are arranged by time periods, Prehistoric to 20th Century. This site is maintained by Dr. Christopher L.C.E. Witcombe Professor, Department of Art History, Sweet Briar College.
Ancient Greek World
A virtual gallery from the University of Pennsylvania Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Janet Romine

Janet Romine
Head of Public Services
Tel: (660) 785-7418

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files