SubjectsPlus: Botany

TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
Book Search
Search the Library Catalog: for:

More library catalogs:   MOBIUS  | WorldCat

All Items by Source
Articles
Biographical Information
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Field Guides
Government Information
Online Book Collection
Streaming Video Collections
Style & Citation Guides
Web Sites

Articles

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available

A multi-disciplinary database that provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.


Biological Abstracts, 1969+ Restricted Resource openURL

Complete collection of bibliographic references covering life science and biomedical literature published from more than 4,000 journals internationally. This database contains more than 10 million archival records from as far back as 1969, with more than 370,000 citations added each year. 


DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals Some full text available
Scientific and scholarly journals which have been peer-reviewed and are free.

Google Scholar
Scholarly journal articles on all subjects, some are full text; many have links to cited references.

Index to American Botanical Literature
A searchable database of American botanical literature from late 1995 to present.  Search by subject category (eg. algae, fungi, etc.), author, article title, journal name, publisher, and keywords.  New York Botanical Garden.  Free to the public.
SciCentral Resource contains images Some full text available
SciCentral is a science research news current awareness website.  It has todays research news on biosciences, health sciences, physics, chemistry, earth & space, and engineering. 

Science Research Resource contains images Some full text available
this is a Web search engine that searches across and federates more than 300 science related public and commercial Web Collections in real time.  Collections include:  Agricola; Directory of Open Access Journals; E-Print Network; NOAA PhotoLibrary;  OAISter, NTIS, PubMed; Scholarpedia; Science.gov and numerous other science journals.
Scirus Some full text available
Indexes journal articles,  but also scientists' homepages, courseware, pre-print server material, patents and institutional repository and website information.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.

Biographical Information

Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science : Pioneering Lives from Ancient Times to the mid-20th Century.
Shelf Location: Reference Q 141 B5285 2000 Restricted Resource Some full text available
Biographical information for 2,500 women scientists from antiquity to mid-20th  century ( all are dead).  Give several paragraphs of information for each woman and bibliographic references.

Eric Weisstein's World of Scientific Biography Some full text available
Biographical information for over 1000 scientists.  Can search by name, gender, minority status, historical period, nationality, and prize winners
Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
This dictionary provides an authoritative and accessible guide to the lives, labours and achievements of the men and women who have shaped the world of science.
ISIHighlyCited.com Resource contains images Some full text available
Lists the most cited researchers in 21 subject categories.  Includes biographical information and a listing of publications.  You can search by name, category, country, and institutional affiliation.
New Dictionary of Scientific Biography.
Shelf Location: Reference Q 141 N45 2008 Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available


Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Abbreviations.com Some full text available
An extensive collection of hundreds of thousands of acronyms, abbreviations, and initialisms. 
Concise Encyclopedia of Plant Pathology Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
An easy-to-use reference source covering the full range of subject areas associated with plant pathology.
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas.  Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Encyclopedia of Psychoactive Plants.
Shelf Location: Reference QK 99 A1 R2813 2005 Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available


Flora of North America North of Mexico.
Shelf Location: General Collection QK 110 F55 1993 Resource contains images Some full text available


Oxford Dictionary of Plant Sciences.
Shelf Location: Reference QK 9 D52 2006 Restricted Resource Some full text available


Plants Database Resource contains images Some full text available
Produced by the U.S. Department of Agriculture, Natural Resources Conservation Service, this site is meant to serve as a central location  for plant information presentated in a standardized format.  It includes vascular plants (ferns, gymnosperms such as conifers, and flowering plants), mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens.
Science Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
Science Reference Center™ is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content. Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Science Reference Center also satisfies the demand for standards-based content by providing teachers and librarians with articles correlated to state and national curriculum standards.
Steyermark's Flora of Missouri.
Shelf Location: General Collection QK 170 Y38 1999 Resource contains images Some full text available


Toxic Plants of North America.
Shelf Location: Reference QK 100 N6 B87 2001 Restricted Resource Some full text available


Field Guides

Edible Wild Plants: a North American Field Guide
Shelf Location: General Collection QK 98.5 U6 E35


eNature.com Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
Searchable database to Audubon animal and plant field guides.
Field Guide to Eastern Trees: Eastern United States and Canada
Shelf Location: General Collection QK 115 P46 1998


Field Guide to Medicinal Plants and Herbs of Eastern and Central North America.
Shelf Location: General Collection QK 99 U6 F68 2000 Resource contains images Some full text available


Field Guide to Western Trees: Western United States and Canada.
Shelf Location: General Collection QK 133 P43 1998 Resource contains images Some full text available


Missouri Wildflowers.
Shelf Location: General Collection QK 170 D45 2008 Resource contains images Some full text available


Mushrooms of North America in Color: a Field Guide Companion to Seldom Illustrated Fungi.
Shelf Location: General Collection QK 617 M84 1995 Resource contains images Some full text available


National Wildlife Federation Field Guide to Wildflowers of North America
Shelf Location: General Collection QK 110 B73 2010


North American Guide to Common Poisonous Plants and Mushrooms
Shelf Location: QK 100 N6 T87 2009


Poisonous Plants.
Shelf Location: General Collection QK 100 A1 F7613 2005 Resource contains images Some full text available


Wild Edibles of Missouri.
Shelf Location: General Collection QK 98.5 M8 P48 1998 Resource contains images Some full text available


Government Information

Missouri Department of Natural Resources Resource contains images Some full text available
Deals with the critical area of energy, helps develop mineral resources in an environmentally safe manner, protects Missouri's land, air and water resources and works to preserve the state's historic and natural heritage through state parks and state historic sites.
Missouri Natural Heritage Database Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Provides information about the abundance, distribution and conservation needs of both plant and animal species in Missouri.  Produced by the Missouri Departtment of Conservation.
National Biological Information Infrastructure Resource contains images Some full text available
An electronic gateway to biological data and information maintained by federal, state and local government agencies, private sector organizations and other partners around the nation and the world.

Science.gov Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
Science.gov searches over 38 databases and 1,950 selected websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results.

Online Book Collection

ebrary Restricted Resource Some full text available
ebrary's Academic Complete is a growing ebook collection offering online, full-text access to over 70,000 titles in all academic subject areas.

Streaming Video Collections

Films on Demand Restricted Resource Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Films on Demand is a multi-disciplinary collection of streaming videos from Films Media Group. It includes over 8,000 full-length videos / 90,000 clips  that cover a wide range of academic disciplines: psychology, history, literature, languages, engineering, business, art, sociology, sciences and more. A tutorial is available that will show you how to access Films On Demand from anywhere.  It also instructs on how to add a Films On Demand video to Blackboard.  The tutorial is available at: http://clockhar.sites.truman.edu/films-on-demand/

Style & Citation Guides

Citation and Writing Guides Some full text available
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style.  This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: EndNote, Zotero, and EasyBib.com.

Web Sites

Botany Related WWW Sites Resource contains images Some full text available
Botanical Society of America site which lists major botany links and resources on the Web. Includes botanical e-journals and newsletters.
Center for Aquatic and Invasive Plants Resource contains images Some full text available
Has description with picture of the plant; impact, management and reference list.
Encyclopedia of Life Resource contains images Some full text available
The Encyclopedia of Life (EOL) is an ambitious, even audacious project to organize and make available via the Internet virtually all information about life present on Earth. At its heart lies a series of Web sites—one for each of the approximately 1.8 million known species—that provide the entry points to this vast array of knowledge. The entry-point for each site is a species page suitable for the general public, but with several linked pages aimed at more specialized users.
International Plant Science Center: the New York Botanical Garden
 The International Plant Science Center: New York Botanical Garden is a welll organized page.  The main page is divided into three major sections, Collections, Research and Resources. Collections section includes links to the Steere Herbarium and The C.V. Starr Virtual Herbarium.  The virtual herbarium offers a wealth of information including project information specimen lists, and a searchable specimen catalog.  There are Flash presentations on selected topics. The Resources section offers access to the NYBG's Index Herbariorum, a searchable database of nearly 4,000 public herbaria and 10,000 specialists/professionals.  
Tropicos Resource contains images Some full text available
This site provides access to the Missouri Botanical Garden's VAST (VAScular Tropicos) nomenclatureal database and associated authority files.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Carol Lockhart

Carol Lockhart
Reference Librarian
Tel: (660) 785-7417

Research Assistance Program
  • Provides one-on-one assistance for research assignments with a subject reference librarian.
  • Helps you find appropriate sources of information (databases, electronic sources, etc.) based on the requirements of your assignment.
  • Shows you search techniques.Helps you find valuable resources outside of Pickler through our MOBIUS and Interlibrary Loan service.
To schedule a RAP consultation, you can:
  • Send an email to: RAP session
  • Call 660-785-4051
  • Come to the Library Service Desk
Suggested Searches
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files