Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Style & Citation Guides
A multi-disciplinary database that provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Scholarly journal articles on all subjects, some are full text; many have links to cited references.
SciFinder provides access to several Chemical Abstracts Service databases, including Chemical Abstracts, Registry, CASREACT, CHEMLIST, and CHEMCAT. Users may search millions of citations to the chemistry literature. More than 22 million chemical substances may be searched.
SciFinder is not to be used for commercial purposes and only available to the Truman Community.
You must first register to use SciFinder from a Truman network computer and use your truman.edu email address in the registration process.
Click to register:
Already created your account? Go here: https://scifinder.cas.org.
Help Desk Phone: 800-848-6533
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
Shelf Location: Reference Q 141 B5285 2000
Biographical information for 2,500 women scientists from antiquity to mid-20th century ( all are dead). Give several paragraphs of information for each woman and bibliographic references.
Weblinks to biographies of 330 famous chemists.
Biographical information for over 1000 scientists. Can search by name, gender, minority status, historical period, nationality, and prize winners
This dictionary provides an authoritative and accessible guide to the lives, labours and achievements of the men and women who have shaped the world of science.
Shelf Location: Reference Q 141 N45 2008
Database to chemical supply catalogs on the web. Searchable by chemical name, CAS number, molecular formula or catalog number. Has a large list of company catalogs.
Forms which calculate many basic chemical calculations for you. Movable molecules of substances like DNA.
Shelf Location: Reference QD 65 H3 Ed.89 2008/09
Many tables of information. Includes conversion factors, laboratory safety, geology, astronomy and pure mathematics.
This is the catalog for chemicals sold by the Aldrich Chemical Company. It is very large. Each substance has a picture, chemical name, CAS Registry number, molecular formula, some properties, safety information, and some references.
The periodic table of elements.
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas. Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Shelf Location: Reference TP 9 K54 2007
Presents key information from the Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology, 5th ed. It includes information on the properties, manufacture and uses of chemical and materials; scientific and engineering principles; processes and ane environmental, health and economic concerns.
Shelf Location: Reference TP 9 E685 1992
Articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. Additionally, environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology are also addressed. Click here for contents.
Shelf Location: Reference RS 51 M4 2006
Detailed description of 10,500 chemicals, drugs and biological substances. Gives chemical name, CAS registry number, molecular formula, physical properties, references, some structure images, derivative compounds, alternate names, therapeutic uses. There are several special indexes including one for name reactions.
This tells what to do if someone has been exposed to a hazardous material. It has first aid, personal protection and sanitation, respiration rates. It has a topic index and a site search. From the Centers for Disease Control.
This useful manual describes the chemistry class laboratories for Truman State University. It includes how to set up equipment.
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style. This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: EndNote, Zotero, and EasyBib.com.
Tel: (660) 785-7417
- Provides one-on-one assistance for research assignments with a subject reference librarian.
- Helps you find appropriate sources of information (databases, electronic sources, etc.) based on the requirements of your assignment.
- Shows you search techniques.Helps you find valuable resources outside of Pickler through our MOBIUS and Interlibrary Loan service.
- Send an email to: RAP session
- Call 660-785-4051
- Come to the Library Service Desk
= Restricted resource
= Some full text
= OpenURL enabled
= Video files
= Audio files