Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Handbooks & Guides
Style & Citation Guides
A multi-disciplinary database that provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
On the Web through FirstSearch and EBSCO.
On the Web through the official ERIC site, free to the public.
ERIC is a comprehensive database containing abstracts of journal articles, reports, curriculum guides, conference proceedings, etc. It covers all areas of education at all age and grade levels. ERIC Documents 1993+ are now freely available online. Documents before 1993 are in the library on microfiche. The library's microfiche subscription ended with ED455358.
The ERIC database, as well as lesson plans, web sites and other useful information, is available on the Web through the Educator's Reference Desk, also free to the public. (ERIC documents are not available at this site.) Coverage: Click here to show journal list.
Scholarly journal articles on all subjects, some are full text; many have links to cited references.
Abstracted articles from 19,000 medical journals. Also free to the public from the National Library of Medicine's PubMed. GoPubMed searches the same databases as MedLine and PubMed but adds a neat index for concept searching.
Citations and abstracts of articles from journals in Psychology and other social science disciplines including Anthropology, Education, Medicine, Nursing, and Psychiatry, from mid-19th century to present. Also includes citations to books and book chapters from 1987 to present.
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas. Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
This encyclopedia is also available in print at Reference RC 423 M56 2004.
Shelf Location: RC423 R675
"A practical text covering treatment of communication disorders, the Treatment Resource Manual for Speech-Language Pathology third edition is filled with specific therapy techniques and materials. This new edition is ideal for individuals entering into clinical practicum experiences and an excellent resource for speech-language pathology professionals looking for reliable intervention materials. Focusing on the most common characteristics and treatment approaches, and rich with forms, strategies, goals, and techniques, this is an excellent resource for instructors and clinicians alike."
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style. This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: EndNote, Zotero, and EasyBib.com.
ASHA: American Speech-Language-Hearing Association
American Academy of Audiology
Hardin Meta Directory of Internet Health Sources---Maintained by the University of Iowa's Hardin Health Science Library. Some sample entries are Neurology, Otolaryngology, and Speech Pathology.
Mayo Clinic - Tools for Healthier Lives
National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders (NIDCD)---NIH division for biomedical and behavioral research in human communication, which supports and conducts research on the normal and disordered processes of hearing, balance, smell, taste, voice, speech, and language.
Search the above web sites using the box below.
Tel: (660) 785-7417
- Provides one-on-one assistance for research assignments with a subject reference librarian.
- Helps you find appropriate sources of information (databases, electronic sources, etc.) based on the requirements of your assignment.
- Shows you search techniques.Helps you find valuable resources outside of Pickler through our MOBIUS and Interlibrary Loan service.
- Send an email to: RAP session
- Call 660-785-4051
- Come to the Library Service Desk
= Restricted resource
= Some full text
= OpenURL enabled
= Video files
= Audio files