Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Online Book Collection
Style & Citation Guides
The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
On the Web through EBSCO.
On the Web through the official ERIC site, free to the public.
ERIC is a comprehensive database containing abstracts of journal articles, reports, curriculum guides, conference proceedings, etc. It covers all areas of education at all age and grade levels. ERIC Documents 1993+ are now freely available online. Documents before 1993 are in the library on microfiche. The library's microfiche subscription ended with ED455358.
The ERIC database, as well as lesson plans, web sites and other useful information, is available on the Web through the Educator's Reference Desk, also free to the public. (ERIC documents are not available at this site.) Coverage: Click here to show journal list.
Full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 1,200 journals.
Up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers from around the world in all disciplines and time periods.
Primary Search®, designed specifically for elementary school students contains full text for more than 80 popular elementary school magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Additionally, Primary Search includes the Encyclopedia of Animals™, and features Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, providing students with easy-to-read encyclopedic entries written specifically for kids. The database also provides the American Heritage® Children's Dictionary, 3rd Edition from Houghton Mifflin and thousands of relevant photos, maps and flags.
Indexing of over 1200 periodicals, some going back as far as 1907. Also has coverage of many important scientific journals up to the 1950s.
A bibliography of scholarship in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4400 journals and series and 1000 book publishers. About 75% are language and literature journal articles.
Shelf Location: Reference Z1037 A1 C463 1995
Shelf Location: Reference PN453 .C614
Shelf Location: Reference PN451 .S6
Shelf Location: Reference PN 1009 A1 T9 1995
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas. Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Shelf Location: General Collection PN 1009. A1 S879 1986
Shelf Location: General Collection PR 990 .C495 1995
Shelf Location: Reference PN 1008.5 I57 1996
Shelf Location: General Collection PN 1009 A1 R47 1995
Shelf Location: Reference PN 1009 A1 F575
Shelf Location: General Collection PN 1009 A1 W67 2002
Shelf Location: General Collection PR 830 F3 E43 1988
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:
eBook Academic Collection
eBook Clinical Collection
eBook Community College Collection
eBook High School Collection
eBook K-8 Collection
eBook Public Library Collection
ebrary's Academic Complete is a growing ebook collection offering online, full-text access to over 70,000 titles in all academic subject areas.
Shelf Location: General Collection Z1037 .C34 2007
Shelf Location: Reference Z1037 A1 C575
Shelf Location: Reference PN1009.A1 C545 1994
Shelf Location: Reference PN 1009 A1 C5139
Shelf Location: Reference Z1037. E4
Shelf Location: Reference PN 1627.T73 1986
Shelf Location: Reference PN 1627. K7 1977
Shelf Location: General Collection ML128.S3 P 48
Shelf Location: Reference PN 6071 F 15 E37
Shelf Location: Reference PN 1023 B72
Shelf Location: Reference PN1009.A1 P477 1985
Shelf Location: General Collection PN 1627 K37 1991
Shelf Location: Reference GR 74.6 M3 1982
Shelf Location: Reference PN 1023. A5
Shelf Location: Reference Table A Z1219 B59
This index is arranged by author and title with abbreviated citations to the reviews. About 450 publications are included.
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style. This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: EndNote, Zotero, and EasyBib.com.
Head of Periodicals/Microforms
Tel: (660) 785-4048
The library also helps sponsor an annual Children's Literature Festival each April. Check out the authors highlighted this year.
- Best Books - Children's Literature
- Children - Books and reading
- Children's films
- Children's Literature Bibliography
- Children's literature - History and criticism
- Children's songs
- Children's stories
- Illustrated Children's Books
- Picture Books for Children
- Children's Literature Festival
- Children's Literature Journals
- Newbery and Caldecott Books in Pickler Memorial Library
= Restricted resource
= Some full text
= OpenURL enabled
= Video files
= Audio files