SubjectsPlus: Environmental Studies

TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
Book Search
Search the Library Catalog: for:

More library catalogs:   MOBIUS  | WorldCat

All Items by Source
Articles
Biographical Information
Data/Statistics
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Field Guides
Government Information
Library Catalogs
Online Book Collection
Streaming Video Collections
Style & Citation Guides
Web Sites

Articles

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available

A multi-disciplinary database that provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.


AGRICOLA, 1970+ openURL
On the Web through the National Agricultural Library.  Free site.
This database covers every major agricultural subject.

Biological Abstracts, 1969+ Restricted Resource openURL

Complete collection of bibliographic references covering life science and biomedical literature published from more than 4,000 journals internationally. This database contains more than 10 million archival records from as far back as 1969, with more than 370,000 citations added each year. 


DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals Some full text available
Scientific and scholarly journals which have been peer-reviewed and are free.

Google Scholar
Scholarly journal articles on all subjects, some are full text; many have links to cited references.

Information Bridge Some full text available

 Provides open source access to full-text and bibliographic records of Department of Energy Research and development reports in physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental sciences, energy technologies, engineering, computer and information science, renewable energy, and other topics.


SciCentral Resource contains images Some full text available
SciCentral is a science research news current awareness website.  It has todays research news on biosciences, health sciences, physics, chemistry, earth & space, and engineering. 

Science Research Resource contains images Some full text available
this is a Web search engine that searches across and federates more than 300 science related public and commercial Web Collections in real time.  Collections include:  Agricola; Directory of Open Access Journals; E-Print Network; NOAA PhotoLibrary;  OAISter, NTIS, PubMed; Scholarpedia; Science.gov and numerous other science journals.
Scirus Some full text available
Indexes journal articles,  but also scientists' homepages, courseware, pre-print server material, patents and institutional repository and website information.
TOXNET: Toxicology Data Network Resource contains images Some full text available
An index to several federal publications on toxic substances including:  Toxic Literature Online; Hazardous Substances Databank; Toxics Release Inventory; Environmental Health eMaps. From the National Library of Medicine.

JSTOR Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.

Biographical Information

American Environmental Leaders from Colonial Times to the Present.
Shelf Location: Reference GE 55 B43 2008 Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available


Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science : Pioneering Lives from Ancient Times to the mid-20th Century.
Shelf Location: Reference Q 141 B5285 2000 Restricted Resource Some full text available
Biographical information for 2,500 women scientists from antiquity to mid-20th  century ( all are dead).  Give several paragraphs of information for each woman and bibliographic references.

Eric Weisstein's World of Scientific Biography Some full text available
Biographical information for over 1000 scientists.  Can search by name, gender, minority status, historical period, nationality, and prize winners
Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
This dictionary provides an authoritative and accessible guide to the lives, labours and achievements of the men and women who have shaped the world of science.
ISIHighlyCited.com Resource contains images Some full text available
Lists the most cited researchers in 21 subject categories.  Includes biographical information and a listing of publications.  You can search by name, category, country, and institutional affiliation.
New Dictionary of Scientific Biography.
Shelf Location: Reference Q 141 N45 2008 Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available


Data/Statistics

Envirofacts Data Warehouse Some full text available
Environmental information from the EPA about waste, water, toxics, air, land, radiation and compliance by zip code, city/county/state abbreviation. Users can generate maps.
National Biological Information Infrastructure Resource contains images Some full text available
An electronic gateway to biological data and information maintained by federal, state and local government agencies, private sector organizations and other partners around the nation and the world.

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Abbreviations.com Some full text available
An extensive collection of hundreds of thousands of acronyms, abbreviations, and initialisms. 
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas.  Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Dictionary of Agricultural and Environmental Science.
Shelf Location: Reference S 411 T76 2003 Restricted Resource Some full text available


Encyclopedia of Sustainability Restricted Resource
Encyclopedia of Sustainability comprises three volumes, each dedicated to one of three equally important contexts in which the term is used: environment and ecology, business and economics, and equity and fairness. Each volume provides authoritative but accessible coverage of basic concepts and terms, as well as policy initiatives, controversies, and future trends. Volumes also include biographical sketches of important contributors to sustainability efforts from the scientific, economic, public policy, and activist realms, plus extensive listings of print and online resources for further exploration.
Science Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
Science Reference Center™ is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content. Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Science Reference Center also satisfies the demand for standards-based content by providing teachers and librarians with articles correlated to state and national curriculum standards.
Terms of Environment: Glossary, Acronyms and Abbreviations Some full text available
from the Environmental Protection Agency

Field Guides

eNature.com Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
Searchable database to Audubon animal and plant field guides.

Government Information

Missouri Department of Conservation Resource contains images Some full text available
Protects and manages the fish, forest and wildlife resources of the state.  Educates the public on resources management activites. Teaches citizens about fish, forests and wildlife resources.

Missouri Department of Natural Resources Resource contains images Some full text available
Deals with the critical area of energy, helps develop mineral resources in an environmentally safe manner, protects Missouri's land, air and water resources and works to preserve the state's historic and natural heritage through state parks and state historic sites.
National Service Center for Environmental Publications Resource contains images Some full text available
Environmental Protection Agency's gateway to free print and electronic publications.
Science.gov Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
Science.gov searches over 38 databases and 1,950 selected websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results.

Library Catalogs

United States Environmental Protection Agency Online Library System Some full text available
The EPA National Library Network is composed of libraries and repositories located in the Agency's Headquarters, Regional and Field Offices, Research Centers, and specialized laboratories, as well as web-based access to electronic collections. The combined network collection contains a wide range of general information on: environmental protection and management; basic sciences such as biology and chemistry; applied sciences such as engineering and toxicology; extensive coverage of topics featured in legislative mandates such as: hazardous waste, drinking water, pollution prevention, and toxic substances.  Materials are available to the public.

Online Book Collection

ebrary Restricted Resource Some full text available
ebrary's Academic Complete is a growing ebook collection offering online, full-text access to over 70,000 titles in all academic subject areas.

Streaming Video Collections

Films on Demand Restricted Resource Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Films on Demand is a multi-disciplinary collection of streaming videos from Films Media Group. It includes over 8,000 full-length videos / 90,000 clips  that cover a wide range of academic disciplines: psychology, history, literature, languages, engineering, business, art, sociology, sciences and more. A tutorial is available that will show you how to access Films On Demand from anywhere.  It also instructs on how to add a Films On Demand video to Blackboard.  The tutorial is available at: http://clockhar.sites.truman.edu/films-on-demand/

Style & Citation Guides

Citation and Writing Guides Some full text available
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style.  This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: EndNote, Zotero, and EasyBib.com.

Web Sites

Encyclopedia of Earth Some full text available
This is a gateway site to many electronic databases and websites on the environment.
EPA Office of Water Resource contains images Some full text available
We work to: ensure drinking water is safe; protect and restore oceans, watersheds, and other aquatic ecosystems; and provide healthy habitats for fish and wildlife, plants, and people.
INFOMINE Some full text available
INFOMINE is a huge collection of scholarly internet sites.  It has a special section for biology, agriculture and health sciences.  Each website is carefully evaluated, cataloged and checked  for status by the Libraries of the University of California.

United States Geological Survey Water Data for the Nation Some full text available
These pages provide access to water-resources data collected at approximately 1.5 million sites in all 50 States, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico.  Some of the sites have very old data.

Subject Specialist
Picture: Carol Lockhart

Carol Lockhart
Reference Librarian
Tel: (660) 785-7417

Research Assistance Program
  • Provides one-on-one assistance for research assignments with a subject reference librarian.
  • Helps you find appropriate sources of information (databases, electronic sources, etc.) based on the requirements of your assignment.
  • Shows you search techniques.Helps you find valuable resources outside of Pickler through our MOBIUS and Interlibrary Loan service.
To schedule a RAP consultation, you can:
  • Send an email to: RAP session
  • Call 660-785-4051
  • Come to the Library Service Desk
Suggested Searches
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files