SubjectsPlus: Film Studies

TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
Book Search
Search the Library Catalog: for:

More library catalogs:   MOBIUS  | WorldCat

All Items by Source
Articles
Biographical Information
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Handbooks & Guides
Online Book Collection
Specialized Sources
Streaming Video Collections

Articles

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available

A multi-disciplinary database that provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.


MLA Bibliography Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
A bibliography of scholarship in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4400 journals and series and 1000 book publishers.  About 75% are language and literature journal articles.
LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available

Provides a wide range of full-text news, business, legal, and reference information.


Biographical Information

African Americans in the Performing Arts.
Shelf Location: REF PN 2286 .O88 2003


Biography and Genealogy Master Index Restricted Resource
 A comprehensive index to biographical sources. One simultaneous user.
Contemporary Theatre, Film, and Television.
Shelf Location: REF PN 2208 .W52 1981-2008.

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Encyclopaedia of Hindi Cinema.
Shelf Location: REF PN 1993.5 .I8 E63 2003

Encyclopedia of European Cinema.
Shelf Location: REF PN 1993.5 .E8 E53 1995

Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications. Restricted Resource Some full text available
Try a search for such terms as:  film and television, historic development and film, propaganda films, documentary films, theatrical films, cartoons and animated films.
Encyclopedia of the Documentary Film.
Shelf Location: REF PN 1995.9 .D6 E53 2006 (3 vols.)

Film Encyclopedia.
Shelf Location: REF PN 1993.45 .K34 1994

Historical Dictionary of Film Noir.
Shelf Location: REF PN 1995.9 .F54 S685 Some full text available


Historical Dictionary of French Cinema.
Shelf Location: REF PN 1993.5 .F7 O83 2007

Historical Dictionary of Italian Cinema.
Shelf Location: REF PN 1993.5 .I88 M56 2008

International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers.
Shelf Location: REF PN 1997.8 .I58 2000 (5 vols.)
Volume 1: Films
Volume 2: Directors/Filmmakers
Volume 3: Actors and Actresses
Volume 4: Writers and Production Artists
Volume 5: Title Index
Pop Culture India! Media, Arts, and Lifestyle. Restricted Resource Some full text available
Search for terms such as: cinema, film music, sanskrit theatre
Rough Guide to Film: An A-Z of Directors and Their Movies.
Shelf Location: REF PN 1998.2 .R66 2007

Handbooks & Guides

Asian Cinemas: A Reader and Guide
Shelf Location: General PN 1993.5 .A75 A85 2005

Bent Lens: A World Guide to Gay & Lesbian Film.
Shelf Location: General PN 1995.9 .H55 B45 1997

British Film Noir Guide.
Shelf Location: General PN 1995.9 .F54 K427 2008

Cross-cultural Filmmaking: A Handbook for Making Documentary and Ethnographic Films and Videos.
Shelf Location: General GN 347 .B37 1997

Film and Television: A Guide to the Reference Literature.
Shelf Location: REF PN 1994 .E56 2006

New Guide to Italian Cinema.
Shelf Location: General PN 1993.5 .I88 C45 2007

Village Voice Film Guide: 50 Years of Movies from Classics to Cult Hits.
Shelf Location: General PN 1998 .V47 2007


Writers on the American Screen: A Guide to Film Adaptations of American and Foreign Literary Works.
Shelf Location: REF PN 1997.85 .l35 1986

Online Book Collection

ebrary Restricted Resource Some full text available
ebrary's Academic Complete is a growing ebook collection offering online, full-text access to over 70,000 titles in all academic subject areas.

Specialized Sources

75 Years of the Oscar: The Official History of the Academy Awards.
Shelf Location: REF PN 1993.92 .O82 2003

British Cinema Book.
Shelf Location: General PN 1993.5 .G7 B66 2009

Film Review Annual.
Shelf Location: Ref PN1995 F55
This annual reprints reviews "of full-length films released in major markets in the United States during the course of the year." - Pref. The reviews are arranged by title of film and taken from magazines, journals, and newspapers; the date and page are part of the citation.
Film Review Index.
Shelf Location: REF PN 1995 .F5 1986 (2 vols.)
Volume 1 covers 1882-1949
Volume 2 covers 1950-1985
Guide to Critical Reviews.
Shelf Location: REF PN 2037 .S35
Part 1: American Drama, 1909-1982
Part 2: The Musical, 1909-1989
Part 3: Foreign Drama, !909-1977
Part 4: The Screenplay, from The Jazz Singer to Dr. Strangelove (2 vols.)
Part 4 Supplement: The Screenplay, 1963-1980

Historical Dictionary of African American Cinema.
Shelf Location: REF PN 1995.9 .N4 B433 2007

MaGill's Cinema Annual.
Shelf Location: REF PN 1993.45 .M33 1982-2008

MaGill's Survey of Cinema: English Language Films, First Series.
Shelf Location: REF PN 1993.45 .M3 1980 (4 vols.)

MaGill's Survey of Cinema: English Language Films, Second Series.
Shelf Location: REF PN 1993.45 .M32 1981 (6 vols.)

MaGill's Survey of Cinema: Foriegn Language Films.
Shelf Location: REF PN 1993.45 .M34 (8 vols)

Magill's Survey of Cinema: Silent Films.
Shelf Location: REF PN 1995.75 .M33 1982 (3 vols.)

Motion Picture Guide.
Shelf Location: REF PN 1995 .M682 1985-1999
A collection of film reviews with the original 12-volume set published in 1985. Volumes 1-9 cover films released from 1927-1984 and Volume 10 covers silent films, 1910-1936.  Remaining two volumes contain indexes to the set.   Annual supplements cover films released from 1986 through 1998.  Each annual contains a Master Index for all of the MPG Annuals, from actors and actresses to producers, editors, screenwriters, cinematographers, music composers and more.  Each annual also contains an obituary section.
New York Times Film Reviews.
Shelf Location: Ref PN 1995 N4 Restricted Resource
About 16,000 reviews appear chronologically in the 1913/68 set; these are reprints of the reviews as they appeared in the newspaper.  It is published biennially.

Streaming Video Collections

Films on Demand Restricted Resource Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Films on Demand is a multi-disciplinary collection of streaming videos from Films Media Group. It includes over 8,000 full-length videos / 90,000 clips  that cover a wide range of academic disciplines: psychology, history, literature, languages, engineering, business, art, sociology, sciences and more. A tutorial is available that will show you how to access Films On Demand from anywhere.  It also instructs on how to add a Films On Demand video to Blackboard.  The tutorial is available at: http://clockhar.sites.truman.edu/films-on-demand/
Subject Specialist
Picture: Lisa Glaubitz

Lisa Glaubitz
Reference
Tel: (660) 785-7412

Research Assistance Program
  • Provides one-on-one assistance for research assignments with a subject reference librarian.
  • Helps you find appropriate sources of information (databases, electronic sources, etc.) based on the requirements of your assignment.
  • Shows you search techniques.Helps you find valuable resources outside of Pickler through our MOBIUS and Interlibrary Loan service.

    To schedule a RAP consultation, you can:
  • Send an email to: RAP session
  • Call 660-785-4051
  • Come to the Library Service Desk
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files