SubjectsPlus: General Interest

TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
Book Search
Search the Library Catalog: for:

More library catalogs:   MOBIUS  | WorldCat

All Items by Source
Articles
Biographical Information
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Government Information
Library Catalogs
Online Book Collection
Specialized Sources
Streaming Video Collections

Articles

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available

A multi-disciplinary database that provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.


ArticleFirst Restricted Resource openURL
1990+.  Indexes articles from nearly 12,000 journals of all disciplines.
Consumer Health Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
A comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support the information needs of patients, and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.
Google Scholar
Scholarly journal articles on all subjects, some are full text; many have links to cited references.

LexisNexis News Restricted Resource Some full text available
A wide variety of newspapers with a variety of days covered. The Guided News Search can narrow searches to business, legal, medical, university, arts & sports, and non-English language news (Dutch, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish).
MAS Ultra – School Edition Restricted Resource Some full text available
This database is designed specifically for high school libraries and contains full text for nearly 500 popular high school magazines including America's Civil War, American Heritage, American History, Archaeology, Astronomy, Bioscience, Careers & Colleges, Civil War Times, Congressional Digest, Discover, History Today, Nation, National Review, New Republic, New Scientist, Popular Science, Science News, Scientific American, Smithsonian, etc. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for 85,670 biographies, over 107,000 primary source documents and more than 360 reference books (including the Columbia Encyclopedia, the CIA World Fact Book and World Almanac & Book of Facts); an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs; and expanded full-text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.

Middle Search Plus Restricted Resource Some full text available
Middle Search® Plus contains full text for more than 140 popular middle school magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. Additionally, Middle Search Plus contains primary source documents including Essential Documents in American History, reference books including the Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia; American Heritage® Dictionary, 4th Edition from Houghton Mifflin; Encyclopedia of Animals™; and thousands of relevant photos, maps and flags.

Opposing Viewpoints Restricted Resource Some full text available
Information on current social issues, including viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, podcasts, and other website links.

Some books included in the database are available in the library, do a keyword search in the Library Catalog using the terms: opposing viewpoints and your topic. Example:  "opposing viewpoints" and abortion
Or click here for a complete list of  the  Opposing Viewpoint Series.
PapersFirst Restricted Resource
Index of papers presented at conferences.

Primary Search Restricted Resource Some full text available
Primary Search®, designed specifically for elementary school students contains full text for more than 80 popular elementary school magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Additionally, Primary Search includes the Encyclopedia of Animals™, and features Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, providing students with easy-to-read encyclopedic entries written specifically for kids. The database also provides the American Heritage® Children's Dictionary, 3rd Edition from Houghton Mifflin and thousands of relevant photos, maps and flags.

ProceedingsFirst Restricted Resource
Index of conference publications.

Readers' Guide Retrospective. Restricted Resource openURL
1890-1982.  Index to older magazine articles.
LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available

Provides a wide range of full-text news, business, legal, and reference information.


Biographical Information

Biography Resource Center Restricted Resource Some full text available

Includes biographies and full-text articles from hundreds of magazines and newspapers on people from all eras and fields of endeavor. It also includes tens of thousands of images and links to vetted websites.


Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Abbreviations.com Some full text available
An extensive collection of hundreds of thousands of acronyms, abbreviations, and initialisms. 
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas.  Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Europa World Restricted Resource Some full text available
Online version of the Europa World Year Book.  Contains political and economic informatin on over 250 countries and territories and profiles of over 1650 international organizations.

Government Information

FDsys - Federal Digital System
A service of the U.S. Government Printing Office for finding government publications on the Internet.


Library Catalogs

Google Books Some full text available
Search and preview millions of books from libraries and publishers worldwide using Google Book Search.  Many older books and government documents are full-text.  Shows you the closest library that owns a book.  Also links to several online booksellers.
For more searching options try the Advanced Search form.
Library Catalog
This is the catalog for all books, periodicals, movies, cds, pictures, music scores, audiobooks and electronic sources in Pickler Memorial Library at Truman State University.

MOBIUS-Missouri Academic Libraries
Combined catalog of materials from Missouri academic libraries. You can order books online, and they will be delivered usually within 3-4 working days.  This service is available to current Truman students, faculty, and staff who will be notified by email.

WorldCat Restricted Resource
Combined catalog of thousands of libraries around the world. You can order books online, and they will be delivered usually within two weeks.  This service is available to current Truman students, faculty, and staff.  A modified version of  WorldCat  is also available for free.


Online Book Collection

Book Collection: Nonfiction - Elementary Edition Restricted Resource Some full text available
A research database for school libraries that provides content representing a wide spectrum of works, including popular series from top book publishers. It contains searchable full text for more than 1,300 popular nonfiction books. The database includes high interest titles on animals, weather, holidays, adventure, sports, Native Americans, United States, Canada, biographies, nature, civics and more.

Book Collection: Nonfiction - High School Edition Restricted Resource Some full text available
A research database for school libraries that provides content representing a wide spectrum of works, including popular series from top book publishers. It contains searchable full text for more than 2,450 popular nonfiction books. The database includes high interest titles on careers, health, life skills, ethnicity, disabilities, adventure, sports, technology, biographies, music, science, history, civics and more.

Book Collection: Nonfiction - Middle School Edition Restricted Resource Some full text available
A research database for school libraries that provides content representing a wide spectrum of works, including popular series from top book publishers. It contains searchable full text for more than 3,100 popular nonfiction books. The database includes high interest titles on careers, health, life skills, ethnicity, disabilities, adventure, sports, technology, biographies, history, science, women, civics and more.

ebrary Restricted Resource Some full text available
ebrary's Academic Complete is a growing ebook collection offering online, full-text access to over 70,000 titles in all academic subject areas.

Specialized Sources

Dissertations and Theses Restricted Resource Some full text available
Obtain the full text of theses written at Truman State University, 1997+.

WorldCat Dissertations Restricted Resource
Catalog of theses and dissertations contained in the WorldCat database.


Streaming Video Collections

Films on Demand Restricted Resource Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Films on Demand is a multi-disciplinary collection of streaming videos from Films Media Group. It includes over 8,000 full-length videos / 90,000 clips  that cover a wide range of academic disciplines: psychology, history, literature, languages, engineering, business, art, sociology, sciences and more. A tutorial is available that will show you how to access Films On Demand from anywhere.  It also instructs on how to add a Films On Demand video to Blackboard.  The tutorial is available at: http://clockhar.sites.truman.edu/films-on-demand/
Subject Specialist
Picture: Carol Lockhart

Carol Lockhart
Reference Librarian
Tel: (660) 785-7417

Tips

Do you need something to read, watch or listen too just for fun?

The library has current popular fiction and non-fiction books that you can check out.  They are in the Popular Reading Collection located in the Gallery area on the First Floor. 

Pickler Memorial Library also has Audiobooks and Videos that you can check out. 

 

 

 

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files