Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Online Book Collection
Style & Citation Guides
A bibliography of scholarship in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4400 journals and series and 1000 book publishers. About 75% are language and literature journal articles.
Indexing of over 1200 periodicals, some going back as far as 1907. Also has coverage of many important scientific journals up to the 1950s.
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas. Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Shelf Location: Reference P371 C357 2004
Shelf Location: Reference BL715 M37 1999
Shelf Location: Reference PA 91 J45 1996
Shelf Location: General Collection DE5 S6 1973
Shelf Location: Reference PA 31 G7
Shelf Location: General Collection NA 260 R6 1969
Shelf Location: Reference PA445 E5 L6 1996
Shelf Location: General Collection N 5630 R49 1967
digital collection of publications in about 12 languages at University of Virginia, part of it is freely accessible
Collection of ancient texts, primarily Greek and Latin.
at Berkeley Digital Library SunSITE
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style. This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: EndNote, Zotero, and EasyBib.com.
The American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (ACTFL) is the only national organization dedicated to the improvement and expansion of the teaching and learning of all languages at all levels of instruction. ACTFL is an individual membership organization of more than 9,000 foreign language educators and administrators from elementary through graduate education, as well as government and industry.
ATA is a professional association founded to advance the translation and interpreting professions and foster the professional development of individual translators and interpreters.
a group of scholars and educators who use the findings of linguistics and related sciences in identifying and addressing language-related problems
The Center of Language Education and Research (CLEAR) at Michigan State University was established in 1996 as a Language Resource Center (LRC) through a Title VI grant from the U.S. Department of Education. As an LRC, CLEAR strives to promote and support the teaching and learning of foreign languages in the United States through its various projects and outreach activities.
The acknowledged leader in all aspects of culturally based foreign language education, DLIFLC is an innovative and continuously adapting organization, operating on the cutting edge of language instruction and technology."
a catalogue of more than 6,700 languages spoken in 228 countries
offers easy access to hundreds of language-related sites, easily organizing them by language. In addition, you can find links to everything from the CIA World Factbook to crossword puzzles in Dutch.
The Greek Mythology Link is a collection of myths retold by Carlos Parada, author of Genealogical Guide to Greek Mythology, published in 1993 The GML contains texts, images, tables and maps. The mythical accounts are based exclusively on ancient sources.
a comprehensive catalog of language-related Internet resources; it has over 2,400 of the best language links the Web has to offer. Whether you're looking for online language lessons, translating dictionaries, native literature, translation services, software, language schools, or just a little information on a language in which you are interested, this site probably has something to suit your needs.
This web site provides a searchable directory to over 6000 freely available online bilingual and multilingual dictionaries and glossaries. Searches may be entered by language(s), subject, or title/keyword. Search results provide the number of entries and links to the online dictionaries. The site also provides a directory of translation and interpreting courses, a listing of translator and interpreter associations worldwide, language resources, freeware to download and links to sites for currency conversion, text analysis and language identification. Language-related software and products may be purchased at the website.
A list of radio stations on the internet
provides learning resources for less commonly taught languages of the world, ranging from Armenian to Zulu.
guide to language resources on the World Wide Web.
Head of Periodicals/Microforms
Tel: (660) 785-4048
The Loeb Classical Library, through original text and English translation, gives access to all that is important in Greek and Latin literature. The editors provide substantive introductions as well as essential critical and explanatory notes and selective bibliographies. Click here for a listing of titles from the Loeb Classical Library available in Pickler Memorial Library.
= Restricted resource
= Some full text
= OpenURL enabled
= Video files
= Audio files