SubjectsPlus: HIST 366 - Modern European Diplomatic History

TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
Book Search
Search the Library Catalog: for:

More library catalogs:   MOBIUS  | WorldCat

All Items by Source
Articles
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Online Book Collection
Primary Sources
Specialized Sources
Streaming Video Collections
Web Sites

Articles

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available

A multi-disciplinary database that provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.


Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource openURL
Historical coverage of  the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Articles from 1800 jouranls are indexed, same dating back to 1955.
Humanities International Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 1,200 journals.
SocIndex with Full Text Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
A comprehensive sociology research database with more than 1.9 million records and the full text for over 400 journals dating back to 1908.  Also contains full text for more than 700 books and monographs and more than 6000 conference papers.  Journals related to Criminology & Criminal Justice, Education, Gender Studies/GLBT Studies, History, and Education are also found in this database.  For some journals, there may be a 12 month delay in provision of full text content.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas.  Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Encyclopedia of Historians and Historical Writing -
Shelf Location: Reference D14 .E53 1999


History in Dispute -
Shelf Location: Reference D20 H56 2000
Each volume covers a historical period or event and includes debates on related sub-topics.

Online Book Collection

ebrary Restricted Resource Some full text available
ebrary's Academic Complete is a growing ebook collection offering online, full-text access to over 70,000 titles in all academic subject areas.

Primary Sources

British documents on foreign affairs--reports and papers from the Foreign Office confidential print -
Shelf Location: General Collection - varies JX632 - JX832
Part I, From the Mid-nineteenth Century to the first World War

Series A   Russia 
Series B  The Near & Middle East
Series C  North America
Series D  Latin America
Series E  Asia
Series F  Europe
Series G Africa

Part II, From the First to the Second World War

Series A   Soviet Union 
Series B  Turkey, Iran & Middle East 
Series C  North America
Series D  Latin America
Series E  Asia
Series F  Europe
Series G Africa

Major Peace Treaties of Modern History, 1648-1967 -
Shelf Location: General Collection JX121 .I8 Restricted Resource

New York Times Article Archives 1851-the present. Some full text available
Indexes over 15 million articles published in the New York Times from September 1851 to the present.  Users can search for specific articles by keyword or phrase, author, headline, date, or date range.  Searches may be limited to articles only or broadened to include advertisements and other listings.  Searching is free and the full-text is available for purchase through this web site or you can use the citation information to locate the articles on microfilm in Truman's library collection.
Pickler Library Microforms Collections
Our Microform Collections are another great place to find primary source material. See: British Foreign Office - Russia Correspondence, 1833-1945 Parliamentary Debates 1803-1949 (Hansard)
Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, 1802-1906.
Shelf Location: Reference AI 3 P7
Early index to articles in published in US and British journals and magazines between 1802-1906.
Readers' Guide Retrospective. Restricted Resource openURL
1890-1982.  Index to older magazine articles.
Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900.
Shelf Location: Reference Z2005 H6
A subject and author index to articles published in Britian between 1824-1900 Includes an index for book reviews.

Specialized Sources

Google Books Some full text available
Search and preview millions of books from libraries and publishers worldwide using Google Book Search.  Many older books and government documents are full-text.  Shows you the closest library that owns a book.  Also links to several online booksellers.
For more searching options try the Advanced Search form.
Google Scholar
Scholarly journal articles on all subjects, some are full text; many have links to cited references.

Streaming Video Collections

Films on Demand Restricted Resource Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Films on Demand is a multi-disciplinary collection of streaming videos from Films Media Group. It includes over 8,000 full-length videos / 90,000 clips  that cover a wide range of academic disciplines: psychology, history, literature, languages, engineering, business, art, sociology, sciences and more. A tutorial is available that will show you how to access Films On Demand from anywhere.  It also instructs on how to add a Films On Demand video to Blackboard.  The tutorial is available at: http://clockhar.sites.truman.edu/films-on-demand/

Web Sites

EuroDocs: Online Sources for European History

These links connect to European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. They shed light on key historical happenings within the respective countries and within the broadest sense of political, economic, social and cultural history. The order of documents is chronological wherever possible.

These open access sources are readily available to all -- without fees or subscriptions.


Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Janet Romine

Janet Romine
Head of Public Services
Tel: (660) 785-7418