SubjectsPlus: HIST 365 - Empire and Migration

TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
Book Search
Search the Library Catalog: for:

More library catalogs:   MOBIUS  | WorldCat

All Items by Source
Articles
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Primary Sources
Web Sites

Articles

Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource openURL
Historical coverage of  the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Articles from 1800 jouranls are indexed, same dating back to 1955.
SocIndex with Full Text Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
A comprehensive sociology research database with more than 1.9 million records and the full text for over 400 journals dating back to 1908.  Also contains full text for more than 700 books and monographs and more than 6000 conference papers.  Journals related to Criminology & Criminal Justice, Education, Gender Studies/GLBT Studies, History, and Education are also found in this database.  For some journals, there may be a 12 month delay in provision of full text content.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas.  Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Encyclopedia of Historians and Historical Writing -
Shelf Location: Reference D14 .E53 1999


Historical Encyclopedia of World Slavery -
Shelf Location: Reference HT861 .H57 1997

History in Dispute -
Shelf Location: Reference D20 H56 2000
Each volume covers a historical period or event and includes debates on related sub-topics.

Primary Sources

British documents on foreign affairs--reports and papers from the Foreign Office confidential print -
Shelf Location: General Collection - varies JX632 - JX832
Part I, From the Mid-nineteenth Century to the first World War

Series A   Russia 
Series B  The Near & Middle East
Series C  North America
Series D  Latin America
Series E  Asia
Series F  Europe
Series G Africa

Part II, From the First to the Second World War

Series A   Soviet Union 
Series B  Turkey, Iran & Middle East 
Series C  North America
Series D  Latin America
Series E  Asia
Series F  Europe
Series G Africa

British Newspapers 1800-1900
While Pickler Library does not subcribe to this database you are able to view complete articles from the  Penny Illustrated Paper and The Graphic  free of charge. 
Historic Australian Newspapers, 1803 to 1954
The Australian Newspapers service allows access to historic Australian newspapers digitised as part of the Australian Newspapers Digitisation Program. For further information about the Australian Newspapers Digitisation Program (ANDP), view the public website at: http://www.nla.gov.au/ndp
London Gazette
Searchable  archive of the London Gazettee. Some PDFs of pages back to the 1660s.
London Times Archive
a searchable archive of the London Times from 1785-1985. You must pay to view content or order the articles through interlibrary loan.

Full text available from 07/01/1985 to present in Academic OneFile, InfoTrac Custom Newspapers and LexisNexis Academic. *You must be on the Truman network to access these databases)
Pickler Library Microforms Collections
Our Microform Collections are another great place to find primary source material. Relevant collections include: Colonial Discourses, Series One: Women, Travel & Empire, 1660-1914
Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade -
Shelf Location: Media Multimedia HT1322 .T74 1999
This CD-ROM database contains records of 27,233 trans-Atlantic ship voyages made between 1595 and 1866. Format allows users to track information by time period and geographic region, and includes interactive maps that allow viewers to chart the trans-Atlantic connections. The accompanying data contains materials about people on board, owners and captains, ships' characteristics, and the geographic trajectory of each voyage.
Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900.
Shelf Location: Reference Z2005 H6
A subject and author index to articles published in Britian between 1824-1900 Includes an index for book reviews.

Web Sites

Australian Government- Department of Immigration and Citizenship
The statisitcs page of the Australian Government- Department of Immigration and Citizenship web site.
The British Library
Some online collections are freely available
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Janet Romine

Janet Romine
Head of Public Services
Tel: (660) 785-7418