Online Book Collection
Provides full text for over 8,000 scholarly business journals and other sources in nearly every area of business, including management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and more. The database also includes other sources of full text information such as country economic reports from the EIU, and detailed company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies.
Business Insights: Essentials combines all of the content formerly found in Business & Company Resource Center with a new interface designed around the research goals and workflows of your diverse business research community. Easily find information on companies, industries and more in the context of timely news, statistical data, and in-depth reports.
Full text of the newspaper from 1984 to the present.
LexisNexis Dossier allows you to browse in-depth company profiles and industry reports with the best intelligence available through LexisNexis® services. Content includes:
Business directories, Hoover’s® company information, ICC financial information, the MERGERSTAT® database, SEC filings, Standard & Poor’s® corporate information, and more. When you research a particular company, you will also find their particular NAICS and SIC codes on the company profile.
Intellectual property information
U.S. patents, trademarks, and copyrights
The past two years of news from thousands of global publications and same-day news from more than 85 publications
Cases (most recent 12 months), CourtLink® Strategic Profiles, Martindale-Hubbell® Law Directory information, Mealey’s™ newsletters
Newspaper Source™ provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc. The database also contains selective full text for more than 370 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.
Provides a wide range of full-text news, business, legal, and reference information. For industry information use both the News and Business TAB. Company profiles can be found under the Business TAB.
Citations and abstracts of articles from journals in Psychology and other social science disciplines including Anthropology, Education, Medicine, Nursing, and Psychiatry, from mid-19th century to present. Also includes citations to books and book chapters from 1987 to present.
Use the Company Profiles form in Lexis Nexis to search over a dozen company directories, including:
- Access Disclosure
- America's Corporate Finance Directory
- Experian Business Reports
- Hoover's Company Records
- CoreData US Institutional Database
- Nelson's Public Company Profiles
- Standard & Poor's Corporate Register
Note on Finding DUNS, CUSIP, and Tickers
Most of the directories listed above include the stock market ticker symbol for each company listed. The Standard & Poor's Corporate Register is your best source for all three company identifiers.
MarketingCharts and its partners keep tabs on a broad set of metrics in the marketing, advertising and publishing world - from the top 10 online retailers to ad spending by medium. Most datasets are updated at least once a month. Some source data is available in Excel format.
A statistics portal for market data, market research, and market studies. Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.
The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan "fact tank" that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It does not take positions on policy issues.
Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
Older print volumes can be found in General Collection HA202 .A32.
Many articles in the database will include demographic statistics. The trade journal "American Demographics" is also searchable in this source.
Shelf Location: Reference HA203.S662
Shelf Location: Reference HB849.49 .R875 2012
Shelf Location: Reference HF5437 S323
Shelf Location: Reference HF5415.3 E45
Shelf Location: Reference HF5415.33 U6 L54
Includes information on top lifestyles for cities, for example:
The top 3 lifestyles listed for Columbia-Jefferson city, MO are: hunting/shooting, fishing frequently, & horseback riding.
Statistical information in all areas of labor and economics.
Provides information on the buying habits of American consumers (
The Consumer Price Indexes (CPI) program produces monthly data on changes in the prices paid by urban consumers for a representative basket of goods and services.
Provided by the Bureau of Labor Statistics.
The Census offers numerous sources regarding population, income and housing. One of the most useful areas will be the American Factfinder. You can look at the population and spending patterns by state, county, city, or zip code.
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:
eBook Academic Collection
eBook Clinical Collection
eBook Community College Collection
eBook High School Collection
eBook K-8 Collection
eBook Public Library Collection
ebrary's Academic Complete is a growing ebook collection offering online, full-text access to over 70,000 titles in all academic subject areas.
Cabell Publishing, Inc. produces directories of publishing opportunities in the following areas:
- Economics and Finance
Includes recent developments, industry basics, and company data. About 50 industries are included.
Industry Surveys are a subset of the S&P's NetAdvantage database.
*Must be on the Truman Network to use.
NetAdvantage is a comprehensive source of business and investment information that offers online access to Standard & Poor's research-related products such as industry surveys, stock reports, corporation records, The Outlook, mutual fund reports and more.
Key components include:
- S&P's Industry Surveys that have peer company data and key ratios in Excel downloadable format
- S&P's company analysis - Stock Reports and Company Profiles with evaluations of business activities and opportunities, plus - Compustat Excel Analytics with standardized financials
- Stocks repots and Mutual Funds research
A leading information resource for people involved in marketing, market research, advertising , promotion and other marketing-related areas.