SubjectsPlus: Medicine

TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
Book Search
Search the Library Catalog: for:

More library catalogs:   MOBIUS  | WorldCat

All Items by Source
Articles
Biographical Information
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Government Information
Online Book Collection
Streaming Video Collections
Style & Citation Guides
Web Sites

Articles

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available

A multi-disciplinary database that provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.


BioMed Central Some full text available
Provides access to over 100 free peer-reviewed journals in all areas of biology and medicine.
DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals Some full text available
Scientific and scholarly journals which have been peer-reviewed and are free.

Google Scholar
Scholarly journal articles on all subjects, some are full text; many have links to cited references.

MedLine, 1950+ Restricted Resource openURL
Abstracted articles from 19,000 medical journals. Also free to the public from the National Library of Medicine's PubMedGoPubMed searches the same databases as MedLine and PubMed but adds a neat index for concept searching.


PsycINFO Restricted Resource
Citations and abstracts of articles from journals in Psychology and other social science disciplines including Anthropology, Education, Medicine, Nursing, and Psychiatry, from mid-19th century to present.  Also includes citations to books and book chapters from 1987 to present.
PubMed
Abstracted articles from 19,000 medical journals. Also available as MedLineGoPubMed searches the same databases as MedLine and PubMed but adds a neat index for concept searching.
PubMed Central Some full text available
Full text of life science research articles.

SciCentral Resource contains images Some full text available
SciCentral is a science research news current awareness website.  It has todays research news on biosciences, health sciences, physics, chemistry, earth & space, and engineering. 

Science Research Resource contains images Some full text available
this is a Web search engine that searches across and federates more than 300 science related public and commercial Web Collections in real time.  Collections include:  Agricola; Directory of Open Access Journals; E-Print Network; NOAA PhotoLibrary;  OAISter, NTIS, PubMed; Scholarpedia; Science.gov and numerous other science journals.
Scirus Some full text available
Indexes journal articles,  but also scientists' homepages, courseware, pre-print server material, patents and institutional repository and website information.

Biographical Information

Dictionary of Medical Biography.
Shelf Location: Reference R 134 D57 2007 Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available



ISIHighlyCited.com Resource contains images Some full text available
Lists the most cited researchers in 21 subject categories.  Includes biographical information and a listing of publications.  You can search by name, category, country, and institutional affiliation.

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Abbreviations.com Some full text available
An extensive collection of hundreds of thousands of acronyms, abbreviations, and initialisms. 
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas.  Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary Restricted Resource Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
Electronic version of a very famous medical dictionary and encyclopedia.

Merck Manuals Online Medical Library Restricted Resource Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
Detailed discussion of condition or disease with etiology and pathophysiology; sympomes and signs; diagnosis; prognosis and treatment. This version also has audio and video.  Available in print at:  Ref RC 55 M4 2006

Physicians Desk Reference.
Shelf Location: Reference RS 75 P5 Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Contatns labeling for drugs as well as prescription information provided by the manufacturers of the Drugs. Also has pictures of the drugs.

Science Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
Science Reference Center™ is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content. Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Science Reference Center also satisfies the demand for standards-based content by providing teachers and librarians with articles correlated to state and national curriculum standards.

Government Information

Centers for Disease Control Some full text available
Provides information on diseases and conditions; emergency preparedness and response; healthy living; travelers health information; environmental health; injury,  violence and safety

MMWR: Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report Some full text available
Gives reports on scientific research on health topics; publishes the notifiable diseases that have occurred in the past week; has statistics on diseases; has a tutorial series. Produced by the Centers for Disease Control.

National Institutes of Health Some full text available
Articles on important health topics; clinical trials; applications for research.

United Nations Environment Programme Resource contains images Some full text available
The United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) Web site provides regional and global environmental information focusing on UNEPs six priority areas: Climate Change; Disasters and Conflicts; Ecosystem Management; Environmental Governance; Harmful Substances; and Resource Efficiency. They have freely available publications online including: annual reports, atlases, serials and ebooks.

Online Book Collection

ebrary Restricted Resource Some full text available
ebrary's Academic Complete is a growing ebook collection offering online, full-text access to over 70,000 titles in all academic subject areas.

Streaming Video Collections

Films on Demand Restricted Resource Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Films on Demand is a multi-disciplinary collection of streaming videos from Films Media Group. It includes over 8,000 full-length videos / 90,000 clips  that cover a wide range of academic disciplines: psychology, history, literature, languages, engineering, business, art, sociology, sciences and more. A tutorial is available that will show you how to access Films On Demand from anywhere.  It also instructs on how to add a Films On Demand video to Blackboard.  The tutorial is available at: http://clockhar.sites.truman.edu/films-on-demand/

Style & Citation Guides

Citation and Writing Guides Some full text available
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style.  This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: EndNote, Zotero, and EasyBib.com.

Web Sites

Health Policy Picks Some full text available
"Specifically targeted to students, faculty and anyone else who may be interested in learning more about the complex US. health care system.  This site features monthly reports, conference proceedings, white papers and other largely unpublished literature on health policy."
INFOMINE Some full text available
INFOMINE is a huge collection of scholarly internet sites.  It has a special section for biology, agriculture and health sciences.  Each website is carefully evaluated, cataloged and checked  for status by the Libraries of the University of California.

MedlinePlus Resource contains images Some full text available
Authoritative explanations of 750 medical topics; drug information; directories for finding local doctors and hospitals; news; tutorials; medical information in 40 languages. Produced by the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.

Subject Specialist
Picture: Carol Lockhart

Carol Lockhart
Reference Librarian
Tel: (660) 785-7417

Research Assistance Program
  • Provides one-on-one assistance for research assignments with a subject reference librarian.
  • Helps you find appropriate sources of information (databases, electronic sources, etc.) based on the requirements of your assignment.
  • Shows you search techniques.Helps you find valuable resources outside of Pickler through our MOBIUS and Interlibrary Loan service.
To schedule a RAP consultation, you can:
  • Send an email to: RAP session
  • Call 660-785-4051
  • Come to the Library Service Desk
Suggested Searches
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files