SubjectsPlus: Music

TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
Book Search
Search the Library Catalog: for:

More library catalogs:   MOBIUS  | WorldCat

All Items by Source
Articles
Biographical Information
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Online Book Collection
Specialized Sources
Web Sites

Articles

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature Restricted Resource
Published by Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale, New York.  Citations and abstracts to journal articles, books, commentaries, conference proceedings, dissertations, festschriften, reviews, internet resources, motion pictures, sound recordings and technical drawings of musical instruments are all covered. Contains records in over 200 languages.
Rock's Back Pages Restricted Resource
Archive of reviews, interviews, and feature stories on current and past rock musicians from major music publications.
Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available

A multi-disciplinary database that provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.


JSTOR Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.

Biographical Information

Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians.
Shelf Location: REF ML 105 .B16 2001 (6 vols.)
Includes references and discographies
Biography and Genealogy Master Index Restricted Resource
 A comprehensive index to biographical sources. One simultaneous user.

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Baker's Dictionary of Music.
Shelf Location: REF ML 100 .S635 1997

New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians.
Shelf Location: REF ML 100 .N48 2001 (29 vols.)
The content in this outstanding reference source is also contained in the Grove Music Online (listed above).   Both versions represents the definitive scholarly refeference source for the music student and scholar.

Online Book Collection

ebrary Restricted Resource Some full text available
ebrary's Academic Complete is a growing ebook collection offering online, full-text access to over 70,000 titles in all academic subject areas.

Specialized Sources

Naxos Music Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
An extensive collection of Classical, Jazz, World, Folk, and Chinese music recordings.  Users can also read notes about the music and biographical information about the composers while listening to the recordings.

Web Sites

African American Band Music & Recordings
"This 'presentation' with the Library of Congress's Performing Arts Encyclopedia is built around a collection of stock arrangements--i.e., band and salon orchestra versions of popular tunes made by publishing houses, usually by anonymous hands--of popular songs by African American composers.  The collection includes digitized sets of parts for about 200 of theses arrangements (scores were not typically published) along with pre-1923 recordings of about 100 of these songs, played by bands or orchestras though not always in the same arrangement as the digitized parts.  .  . Audio files are available in both MP3 and RealMedia formats.  .  . One can only be delighted to have these arrangements and performances available on the Web."  Jenkins II, M.D., Wright State University.  Choice Reviews Online.  Aug. 2009.  Web.  30 Aug. 2012.

Historic American Sheet Music Some full text available
From the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library, Duke University.  Provides access to digital images of over 3000 pieces of published in the United States between 1850 and 1920.  "Outstanding Title![internet resource]."   CHOICE Reviews, March 2001.
The Lester S. Levy Collection of Sheet Music Some full text available

At Milton S. Eisenhower Library, Johns Hopkins University.  An index to 29,000 pieces of American sheet music published between 1780 and 1980.  An image of the cover and each page of music is retrieved if it was published before 1923 and is in the public domain.  "Outstanding Title! [internet source]"  CHOICE Reviews, October, 2000.


Subject Specialist
Picture: Lisa Glaubitz

Lisa Glaubitz
Reference
Tel: (660) 785-7412

Reseasrch Assistance Program
  • Provides one-on-one assistance for research assignments with a subject reference librarian.
  • Helps you find appropriate sources of information (databases, electronic sources, etc.) based on the requirements of your assignment.
  • Shows you search techniques.Helps you find valuable resources outside of Pickler through our MOBIUS and Interlibrary Loan service.

    To schedule a RAP consultation, you can:
  • Send an email to: RAP session
  • Call 660-785-4051
  • Come to the Library Service Desk
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files