Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Style & Citation Guides
A multi-disciplinary database that provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Scholarly journal articles on all subjects, some are full text; many have links to cited references.
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
Open access to 545,099 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics. From Cornell University.
Article bibliographic citations from planetary science and solar physics journals.
Bibliographic citations from the American Physical Society journals.
A full text archive of articles from Physical Review A-E, Physical Review Letters and Reviews of Modern Physics.
1893+ One million documents from scholarly journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and other special publications from prestigious scientific societies and technical publishers.
Shelf Location: Reference Q 141 B5285 2000
Biographical information for 2,500 women scientists from antiquity to mid-20th century ( all are dead). Give several paragraphs of information for each woman and bibliographic references.
Biographical information for over 1000 scientists. Can search by name, gender, minority status, historical period, nationality, and prize winners
This dictionary provides an authoritative and accessible guide to the lives, labours and achievements of the men and women who have shaped the world of science.
Shelf Location: Reference Q 141 N45 2008
Shelf Location: Reference QD 65 H3 Ed.89 2008/09
Many tables of information. Includes conversion factors, laboratory safety, geology, astronomy and pure mathematics.
This National Institute of Standards and Technology Web site offers values for physics constants, conversion factors for energy equivalents, a searchable bibliography of physics constants, and background information on constants.
Shelf Location: Reference QC 5 E454 2005
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas. Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style. This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: EndNote, Zotero, and EasyBib.com.
Tel: (660) 785-7417
- Provides one-on-one assistance for research assignments with a subject reference librarian.
- Helps you find appropriate sources of information (databases, electronic sources, etc.) based on the requirements of your assignment.
- Shows you search techniques.Helps you find valuable resources outside of Pickler through our MOBIUS and Interlibrary Loan service.
- Send an email to: RAP session
- Call 660-785-4051
- Come to the Library Service Desk
= Restricted resource
= Some full text
= OpenURL enabled
= Video files
= Audio files