SubjectsPlus: Philosophy

TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
Book Search
Search the Library Catalog: for:

More library catalogs:   MOBIUS  | WorldCat

All Items by Source
Articles
Biographical Information
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Handbooks & Guides
Online Book Collection
Specialized Sources
Web Sites

Articles

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available

A multi-disciplinary database that provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.


ATLA Religion Database Restricted Resource openURL
ATLA (American Theological Library Association) includes citations to journal articles, book reviews, and essays from over 1,500 sources supporting many areas of religious and theological scholarship.  Subjects covered include  archaeology and antiquities, church history, ecumenism, ethics, pastoral ministry,  philosophy, and world religions.
Philosopher's Index Restricted Resource openURL
This index provides article citations to journals and books in philosophy and related disciplines including aesthetics, epistemology, ethics,and logic.  Material on the philosophy of disciplines, such as law, religion, science, and history is also included. 
JSTOR Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.

Biographical Information

Living Biographies of Great Philosophers.
Shelf Location: General B 72 .T34 1972

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Concise Encyclopedia of Western Philosophy.
Shelf Location: REF B 41 .C66 2005

Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy.
Shelf Location: REF B 41 .B53 1994

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy.
Shelf Location: REF B 51 .R68 1998 (10 vols. including index)

Handbooks & Guides

Online Book Collection

ebrary Restricted Resource Some full text available
ebrary's Academic Complete is a growing ebook collection offering online, full-text access to over 70,000 titles in all academic subject areas.

Specialized Sources

Blackwell Guide to Metaphysics.
Shelf Location: General BD 111 .B57 2002

Blackwell Guide to Philosophical Logic.
Shelf Location: General BC 71 .B565 2001

Blackwell Guide to Philosophy of Mind.
Shelf Location: General BD 418.3 B57 2003

Blackwell Guide to Social and Political Philosophy.
Shelf Location: General JA 71 .B52 2002

Blackwell Guide to the Philosophy of Science.
Shelf Location: General Q 175 .B56 2002

World Philosophy: Essay-Reviews of 225 Major Works.
Shelf Location: REF B 29 .W68 (5 vols.)

Web Sites

A Dictionary of Philosophical Terms and Names
"Kemerling's 1,000 entries cover the terms and names undergraduates are likely to encounter when studying philosophy.  Definitions are clear and concise and many biographical entries include portraits. . .suggested readings and generous cross references. . . The dictionary is a part of a larger site for philosophy students; Kemerling has taught the subject to undergraduates for over 25 years.  .  .According to the FAQ, the dictionary is updated several times a year.  .  . Highly recommended."  Fontaine, W.  Choice Reviews Online.  Supp. 2003.  Web.  28 Aug. 2012.

D. Anthony Storm's Commentary on Kierkegaard
"Storm's commentary on Kierkegaard is an exceptional piece of combined scholarship and Web design.  .  .  His commentary demonstrates an extensive and intimate acquaintance with the Dane's entier literary production from beginning to end.  .  .Storm's commentary is idiosyncratic at times-the mark of the amateur working in isolation.  .  .Supplementary sections provide an introductory primer, an essay on the context and aims of Kierkegaard's method, a biographical sketch, a gallery of images of Kierkegaard and his circle, links to other sites and an annotated bibliography.  .  .Storm's site is a work in progress but very close to being a complete, finished product of high scholarly merit.  Highly recommended."  Potter, J.D.  Choice Reviews Online.  Feb. 2005 Web.  28 Aug. 2012.

Ethics Updates
"Outstanding Title!"   "The greatly expanded Ethics Updates has become an increasingly valuable curricular/classroom resource.  Designed for instructors and students of applied ethics and ethical theory.  .  . carefully selected subject-organized collection of full text articles, important philosophical works. . . The Applied Ethics section, previously focused largely on biomedical and environmental ethics, now also covers race, war, world hunger, poverty, gender. . .The videos include interviews with and presentations by contemporary moral philosophers as arranged with the American Philosophical Association, The Association for Practical and Professional Ethics, and other institutes.  .  . Essential."  Adams-Volpe, J.A., University at Buffalo, SUNY.  Choice Reviews Online.  Nov. 2006.  Web.  28 Aug. 2012.

EthicShare, University of Minnesota
"Partially funded by the Andrew Mellon Foundation, National Science Foundation, and Council on Library and Information Resources.  .  . an index of literature in the field of ethics, a discussion forum, and a news feed service.  .  .Main source for most of the literature indexed is PubMed, though abstracts are not included with the citations.  .  .Focus is on bioethics, but the sponsoring partners have plans for the site to evolve into an interdisciplinary repository of ethics-related kiterature. . .partners include Indiana University-Purdue University at Indianapolis, Stanford University, and the University of Virginia.  .  .Users may link to WorldCat to locate resources in libraries."  Renaus, J. P.  University of Miami.  Choice Reviews Online.  March, 2010.  24 Aug. 2012.
Philosophy Bites
". . .Podcast audio interview series which has had over seven million downloads in its first three years. . ."The site features some 140 conversations, around 15 minutes long, with leading professional philosophers chiefly in the U.S. and Britain.  . .providing introductions to an extensive range of topics."  Coverage of traditional topics, e.g. epistemology, ethics, metaphysics, etc.) and key figures (e.g. Plato, Aristotle, Kant, Nietzsche), as well as application of contributors' expertise on contemporary issues. "Higly recommended."  R.A. Sica Jr., Eastern Kentucky University.  Choice Reviews Online.  April, 2011.  24 Aug. 2012.
PhilPapers: Online Research in Philosophy
This database "currently encompasses approximately 200,000 items, over 60 percent of which are journal articles.  Most are available exlectronically, whether free or through subscription."  Primarily intended for graduate students and philosophy faculty and researchers.  Sica, R.J.  Eastern Kentucky University.  Choice Reviews Online.  July 2009.  24 Aug. 2012.
PhilSci Archive: An Archive for Preprints in Philosophy of Science
"Launched in January 2001, this preprint server for philosophy of science is sponsored jointly by the Philosophy of Science Association and the University of Pittsburgh's Center for Philosophy of Science.  Its aim is 'to promote communication in the field by the rapid dissemination of new work.'  Although the Archive's staff does not formally referee papers, the preprints are high quality, and several are forthcoming in prominent philosophy journals. . . contributors include faculty and graduate students from around the world who specialize in philosophy of science.  .  . contains numerous papers on general philosophical issues such as causation, explanation, and realism/antirealism.  .  . updated twice daily.  .  . Highly recommended."  Ellis, U., University of Oklahoma.  Choice Reviews Online.  Supp. 2006.  Web.  28 Aug. 2012.

PHILWEB: Philosophy Resources Off- & On-Line
"With sections devoted to 15 branches of philosophy, 21 philosophical methodologies, 4 historical eras, 22 regions, and hundreds of philosophers and other theorists, PHILWEB is a massive pathfinder to print and electronic information in philosophy.  Editor, Richard L. W. Clarke
is a professor of literature at the University of the West Indies, Cave Hill .  .  .web portals, course syllabi, and important primary and secondary works" are included on this site.  "There is overlap between PHILWEB and the venerable philosophy web portal EpistemeLinks" (Choice Reviews Online, June 2005) "but each includes enough material lacking in the other so as to make the two sites complementary rather than redundant.  .  .Highly recommended."  Seymour, C.S., Wayland Baptist University.  Choice Reviews Online.  July 2006.  Web.  28 Aug. 2012.
Note:  Font on the first page of this site is very small.  Subsequent pages are a bit larger.  sis

Subject Specialist
Picture: Lisa Glaubitz

Lisa Glaubitz
Reference
Tel: (660) 785-7412

Research Assistance Program
  • Provides one-on-one assistance for research assignments with a subject reference librarian.
  • Helps you find appropriate sources of information (databases, electronic sources, etc.) based on the requirements of your assignment.
  • Shows you search techniques.Helps you find valuable resources outside of Pickler through our MOBIUS and Interlibrary Loan service.

    To schedule a RAP consultation, you can:
  • Send an email to: RAP session
  • Call 660-785-4051
  • Come to the Library Service Desk
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files