SubjectsPlus: Physics

TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
Book Search
Search the Library Catalog: for:

More library catalogs:   MOBIUS  | WorldCat

All Items by Source
Articles
Biographical Information
Data/Statistics
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Government Information
Online Book Collection
Streaming Video Collections
Style & Citation Guides
Web Sites

Articles

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available

A multi-disciplinary database that provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.


DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals Some full text available
Scientific and scholarly journals which have been peer-reviewed and are free.

Energy Citations Database Some full text available
2.6 million science research citations 1943+  Citations and documents are made publicly available by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE).
Google Scholar
Scholarly journal articles on all subjects, some are full text; many have links to cited references.

Information Bridge Some full text available

 Provides open source access to full-text and bibliographic records of Department of Energy Research and development reports in physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental sciences, energy technologies, engineering, computer and information science, renewable energy, and other topics.


JSTOR Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
NASA Astrophysics Data System - ArXiv Preprints Restricted Resource Some full text available
Open access to 545,099 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics.  From Cornell University.
NASA Astrophysics Data System - Astronomy and Astrophysics Index
Article bibliographic citations from planetary science and solar physics journals.
NASA Astrophysics Data System - Physics and Geophysics Index
Bibliographic citations from the American Physical Society journals.
Physical Review Online Archive 1893+ Restricted Resource Some full text available
A full text archive of articles from  Physical Review A-E, Physical Review Letters and Reviews of Modern Physics.
SciCentral Resource contains images Some full text available
SciCentral is a science research news current awareness website.  It has todays research news on biosciences, health sciences, physics, chemistry, earth & space, and engineering. 

Science Research Resource contains images Some full text available
this is a Web search engine that searches across and federates more than 300 science related public and commercial Web Collections in real time.  Collections include:  Agricola; Directory of Open Access Journals; E-Print Network; NOAA PhotoLibrary;  OAISter, NTIS, PubMed; Scholarpedia; Science.gov and numerous other science journals.
Scirus Some full text available
Indexes journal articles,  but also scientists' homepages, courseware, pre-print server material, patents and institutional repository and website information.
Scitation/ SPIN
1893+ One million documents from scholarly journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and other special publications from prestigious scientific societies and technical publishers.

Biographical Information

Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science : Pioneering Lives from Ancient Times to the mid-20th Century.
Shelf Location: Reference Q 141 B5285 2000 Restricted Resource Some full text available
Biographical information for 2,500 women scientists from antiquity to mid-20th  century ( all are dead).  Give several paragraphs of information for each woman and bibliographic references.

Contributions of 20th Century Women to Physics Resource contains images Some full text available
 An archive of more than 80 citations of women who contributed to physics in the 20th century created by the UCLA Department of Physics.
Eric Weisstein's World of Scientific Biography Some full text available
Biographical information for over 1000 scientists.  Can search by name, gender, minority status, historical period, nationality, and prize winners
Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
This dictionary provides an authoritative and accessible guide to the lives, labours and achievements of the men and women who have shaped the world of science.
New Dictionary of Scientific Biography.
Shelf Location: Reference Q 141 N45 2008 Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available


Data/Statistics

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics.
Shelf Location: Reference QD 65 H3 Ed.89 2008/09 Restricted Resource Some full text available
Many tables of information.  Includes conversion factors, laboratory safety, geology, astronomy and pure mathematics.

Fundamental Physical Constants Some full text available
This National Institute of Standards and Technology Web site offers values for physics constants, conversion factors for energy equivalents, a searchable bibliography of physics constants, and background information on constants.

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Atomic, Molecular & Optical Physics Handbook.
Shelf Location: Reference QC 173 A827 1996 Restricted Resource Some full text available
A ready reference that covers the key ideas, techniques, formulas and results of atomic, molecular and optical physics.
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas.  Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Encyclopedia of Physics.
Shelf Location: Reference QC 5 E454 2005 Restricted Resource Some full text available


Science Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
Science Reference Center™ is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content. Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Science Reference Center also satisfies the demand for standards-based content by providing teachers and librarians with articles correlated to state and national curriculum standards.

Government Information

Science.gov Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
Science.gov searches over 38 databases and 1,950 selected websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results.

Online Book Collection

ebrary Restricted Resource Some full text available
ebrary's Academic Complete is a growing ebook collection offering online, full-text access to over 70,000 titles in all academic subject areas.

Streaming Video Collections

Films on Demand Restricted Resource Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Films on Demand is a multi-disciplinary collection of streaming videos from Films Media Group. It includes over 8,000 full-length videos / 90,000 clips  that cover a wide range of academic disciplines: psychology, history, literature, languages, engineering, business, art, sociology, sciences and more. A tutorial is available that will show you how to access Films On Demand from anywhere.  It also instructs on how to add a Films On Demand video to Blackboard.  The tutorial is available at: http://clockhar.sites.truman.edu/films-on-demand/

Style & Citation Guides

Citation and Writing Guides Some full text available
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style.  This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: EndNote, Zotero, and EasyBib.com.

Web Sites

INFOMINE Some full text available
INFOMINE is a huge collection of scholarly internet sites. It has a special section for physical sciences, engineering, computer science and mathematics. Each website is carefully evaluated, cataloged and checked for status by the Libraries of the University of California.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Carol Lockhart

Carol Lockhart
Reference Librarian
Tel: (660) 785-7417

Research Assistance Program
  • Provides one-on-one assistance for research assignments with a subject reference librarian.
  • Helps you find appropriate sources of information (databases, electronic sources, etc.) based on the requirements of your assignment.
  • Shows you search techniques.Helps you find valuable resources outside of Pickler through our MOBIUS and Interlibrary Loan service.
To schedule a RAP consultation, you can:
  • Send an email to: RAP session
  • Call 660-785-4051
  • Come to the Library Service Desk
Suggested Searches
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files