SubjectsPlus: Psychology

TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
Book Search
Search the Library Catalog: for:

More library catalogs:   MOBIUS  | WorldCat

All Items by Source
Articles
Biographical Information
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Handbooks & Guides
Online Book Collection
Specialized Sources
Style & Citation Guides
Web Sites

Articles

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available

A multi-disciplinary database that provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.


MedLine, 1950+ Restricted Resource openURL
Abstracted articles from 19,000 medical journals. Also free to the public from the National Library of Medicine's PubMedGoPubMed searches the same databases as MedLine and PubMed but adds a neat index for concept searching.


PsycARTICLES Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Full text access to over 50 journals of the American Psychological Association (APA).
PsycINFO Restricted Resource
Citations and abstracts of articles from journals in Psychology and other social science disciplines including Anthropology, Education, Medicine, Nursing, and Psychiatry, from mid-19th century to present.  Also includes citations to books and book chapters from 1987 to present.
The Personality Project
"This site remains an excellent resource with an interesting mix of academic and nonacademic links.  .  .The site offers links to articles, student papters, syllabi, personality tests. . .Essentail."  Osborne, R.E., Texas State University-San Marcos.  Choice Reviews Online.  2006 Supp.  Web.  8 Aug. 2012.

Criminal Justice Periodicals Index Restricted Resource openURL
Index to U.S. and international journals in criminal justice.  Articles cover law enforcement, corrections administration, rehabilitation, family law and other areas.  Coverage goes back to 1975 and roughly 245 journals are indexed, with 90 of these providing full text articles.  Some coverage of sociologcial and psychological theories of crime is included.
SPORTDiscus Restricted Resource openURL
Comprehensive coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines provided by the Sport Information Resource Center (SPIRS).  Includes over 700,000 records of monographs and journal articles going back as far as 1800.

Biographical Information

Biography and Genealogy Master Index Restricted Resource
 A comprehensive index to biographical sources. One simultaneous user.

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

APA Dictionary of Psychology.
Shelf Location: REF BF 31 .A63 2007

Encyclopedia of Child Abuse.
Shelf Location: REF HV 6626.5 .C57 2001

Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol, & Addictive Behavior.
Shelf Location: REF HV 5804 .E528 2009

Encyclopedia of Psychology.
Shelf Location: REF BF 31 .E52 2000 (8 vols.)

Encyclopedia of the Human Brain Restricted Resource Some full text available
"A single source for information on the human brain covering anatomy, physiology, neuropsychology, clinical neurology, neuropharmacology, evolutionary biology, genetics, and behavioral science."  (From the cover)
Magill's Encyclopedia of Social Science: Psychology.
Shelf Location: REF BF 31 .M33 2003 (4 vols.)

Psychology Basics.
Shelf Location: General BF 31 .P765 (2 vols.)

Student's Dictionary of Psychology.
Shelf Location: REF BF 31 .S69 1999

Encyclopedia of Suicide.
Shelf Location: REF HV 6545 .E87 2003

Handbooks & Guides

Handbook of Industrial and Organizational Psychology.
Shelf Location: REF HF 5548.8 .H265 1990

Psychology Student Writer's Manual.
Shelf Location: REF BF 76.8 .P76 2002

Online Book Collection

ebrary Restricted Resource Some full text available
ebrary's Academic Complete is a growing ebook collection offering online, full-text access to over 70,000 titles in all academic subject areas.

Specialized Sources

Library Use: Handbook for Psychology.
Shelf Location: REF BF 76.8 .R43 2003

Style & Citation Guides

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.
Shelf Location: REF BF 76.7 .P83 2009
This is the latest edition of the official style manual from the American Psychological Association and contains detailed guidelines for citing all information formats: print, online, and other types of media. 

Web Sites

American Psychiatric Association
"Includes news, clinical and research resources, public policy advocacy information, and schedule of events." (Google annotation, 10-09-12).

Classics in the History of Psychology
"This site provides access to approximately 450 original documents . . broad range of disciplines, among them biology, philosophy, education, ethics, child development, sociology, and history in addition to psychology.  The Google search engine permits searching by author or topic. . .Links to relevant content in readable, copyright-free text. . .Essential."  Scarth, L.L.  Choice Reviews Online.  Sep. 2009.  Web.  8 Aug. 2012.


Diseases of the Mind: Highlights of American Psychiatry through 1900
"This permanent online exhibit from the National Library of Medicine's History of Medicine Division provides a concise overview of pre-20th-century U.S. psychiatry.  . .divided into five main sections.  'Early Psychiatric Hospitals'. . . 'Benjamin Rush, M.D.: The Father of American Psychiatry'. . .'The 1840s: Early Professional Insitutions and Lay Activism'. . .'19th-Century Psychiatrists of Note'. . .and '19th-Century Psychiatric Debates.'  This site serves as an excellent starting point for students researching the history of American psychiatry."  Ellis, U.  Choice Reviews Online.  Aug. 2009.  Web.  8 Aug. 2012.

Encyclopedia of Psychology (Internet)
"The site offers approximately 2,000 links. . .Recently added resources include Autism Fact Sheet, Neuroscience News, and 3SMartCubes, which offers IQ and personality tests.  .  .The most used category is Careers, with its many popular sublinks (including Careers in Psychology, A Guide to Getting into Graduate School, and APA Careers for the 21st Century."  Condic, K., Oakland University.  Choice Reviews Online.  Jul 2006.  Web.  8 Aug 2012.

note: http://www.psychology.org/
International Personality Item Pool
"An excellent resource for a broad audience, this site is honest about its intentions. . .accordingly includes both a warning about its research nature and guidance on how to cite materials located on the site.  .  .the content is current and reliable, in terms of both presentation and teaching students and researchers how to assess the reliability of the scales it includes.  The site compiles materials (all by experts) found in the public domain; material is comprehensive, including more than 325 scales placed in some 200 content categories.  .  . This site demonstrates to students the qualities of good research by citing references and providing easy, up-front information on reliability and vailidity. . .Highly recommended."  Osborne, R.E., Texas State University.  Choice Reviews Online.  July 2006.  Web.  8 Aug 2012.

Mediamosaic Library-The Great Schools: Stanford Psychology
Presents four lectures by Stanford University psychology faculty and two panel discussions.  Lectures are approximately 30 minutes and are presented in a "multimedia format including a video stream, a slide show, and a scrolling transcript of the lecture itself. . ."  The presenters are Al Bandura (personal agency), Eleanor Maccoby (parent-child interactions/socialization process), Claude Steele (group stereotypes), and Philip Zombardo (theory of evil and madness).  "Lectures and discussions interesting, informative, and suitable for a broad audience. . .Highly recommended."  Stewart, R.B.  Choice Reviews Online.  2005 Supp.  Web.  8 Aug. 2012

National Center for PTSD
"The National Center for PTSD attempts to be a clearinghouse for all information and activities related to posttraumatic stress disorder; it is not just for veterans. Outstanding and reliable, this web site is a comprehensive educational resource, offering fact sheets, FAQs, information on numerous assessment measures, useful indexes, and many links.  Students will benefit from the informative summaries 'What is PTSD', 'Facts,' (which include suggested readins), 'Overview of PTSD,' and 'Treatment.' . .Most important, a direct link leads to the free searchable PILOTS database on traumatic stress literature, a valuable resource bringing together literature on PTSD from many disciplines."  Hartung, M.K., Florida Gulf Coast University.  Choice Reveiws Online.  2006 Supplement.  Web.  8 Aug  2012.

Psych Web
Russel A. Dewey, Georgia Southern University
Contains a plethora of psychology-related information for students and teachers.  Includes and online introductory psychology course with virtual laboratories and simulations.
"Since its appearance in the mid-1990s, his web site, Psych Web, has received at least 39 distinct honors and awards including ones for the Discovery Channel and the Los Angeles Times. It has recorded almost 3,500,000 visits to the site."   Emerita and Emeritus Psychology Faculty.  Georiga Southern University.  Web.  08-10-2012.



Psychological Societies
Links to over 50 societies' web sites relevant to various areas of Psychology such as Academy of Psychological Clinical Science,  American Art Therapy Organization, Animal Behavior Society, Applied Psychometric Society, Association for the Advancement of Applied Sport Psychology, British Psychological Society, International Society of Political Psychology, and International Society for Research on Emotions.

Social Psychology Network
"This continues to be an outstanding portal to the world of social psychology on the Internet. It is hosted by Wesleyan University and maintained by Scott Plous, author of The Psychology of Judgment and Decision Making (1993) . . . and editor of Understanding Prejudice and Discrimination (2003). . .The pages are organized into broad categories, clearly displayed on the home page menu: Social Psychology Options, General Psychology Options, Electronic Forums, Partner Sites in the Network, and About Social Psych Network. .  .Two links (clearly marked) are new: one takes visitors to resources for classroom discussion and demonstrations of classic topics in social psychology, the other to an interactive site devoted to understanding prejudice of various kinds.  .  .This reviewer knows of no better Web-based source of information about social psychology as a discipline and body of knowledge. Summing Up: Essential."  Cornelius, R. R.  Vassar College.  Choice Reviews Online, Supp. 2006.  Web.  09-10-2012.
"Outstanding Title!"  Choice Reviews Online.  April 2005.







Substance Abuse and Mental Health Statistics
From the United States Department of Health and Human Services
The History of Psychology
"Put together by Donal Polzella and Greg Elvers (both, Univ. of Dayton), the site indexes--by name and by birth decade, beginning with Heraclitus (c.540-480 BCE) and ending with Stanley Milgram (1933-1984)--approximately 100 people who made significant contributions to psychology.  .  .Highly recommended."  Scarth, L.L., Mount Mercy College.  Choice Reviews Online.  July 2006.  Web.  8 Aug 2012.

World Database of Happiness
"Online compendium of available studies on happiness, also known as 'subjective well-being,' a topic of strong and growing interest in the social sciences. . .maintained and directed by sociologist Ruut Veenhoven (emer., Erasmus Univ., the Netherlands). . .Highly recommended.  Social science students at all levels; faculty; researchers."  Metcalf, S.M.  Western Carolina University.  Choice Reviews Online.  Oct. 2012.  Web. 18 Jan. 2013

Subject Specialist
Picture: Lisa Glaubitz

Lisa Glaubitz
Reference
Tel: (660) 785-7412

Research Assistance Program
  • Provides one-on-one assistance for research assignments with a subject reference librarian.
  • Helps you find appropriate sources of information (databases, electronic sources, etc.) based on the requirements of your assignment.
  • Shows you search techniques.Helps you find valuable resources outside of Pickler through our MOBIUS and Interlibrary Loan service.

    To schedule a RAP consultation, you can:
  • Send an email to: RAP session
  • Call 660-785-4051
  • Come to the Library Service Desk
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files