SubjectsPlus: Reviews (Books, Films...)

TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
Book Search
Search the Library Catalog: for:

More library catalogs:   MOBIUS  | WorldCat

All Items by Source
Articles
Specialized Sources

Articles

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available

A multi-disciplinary database that provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.


ChoiceReviewsOnline Restricted Resource Some full text available
Includes access to entire database of CHOICE reviews published since September 1988, updated monthly.  Reviews significant books and resources of interest to those in higher education.
Humanities International Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 1,200 journals.
LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides a wide range of full-text news, business, legal, and reference information. You can do keyword searches by entering review and title or author. (e.g., review and titanic) )
Readers' Guide Retrospective. Restricted Resource openURL
1890-1982.  Index to older magazine articles.

Specialized Sources

Book Review Index.
Shelf Location: Reference Table A Z1219 B59 Restricted Resource
1965+
This index is arranged by author and title with abbreviated citations to the reviews.  About 450 publications are included.
Children's Literature Review.
Shelf Location: Reference PN 1009 A1 C5139 Restricted Resource

Magazines for Libraries .
Shelf Location: Ref PN 4832 M34 Restricted Resource
A selective annotated listing by subject of more than 6,950 journals chosen by experts in their fields.
Literary/Literature Criticism series .
Shelf Location: Ref PN 88 through PN 771 Restricted Resource
The index in the last cumulated volume refers the user to any of the titles in this reference family.  It includes information about authors living and dead.
Nineteenth Century Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature 1890-1899.
Shelf Location: Reference Table B AI3 R479 Restricted Resource
Book reviews are entered only under the author of the book reviewed.
Poetry Criticism.
Shelf Location: Ref PN 1010 P6 Restricted Resource
Provides significant criticism of the world's greatest poets.
Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, 1802-1906.
Shelf Location: Reference AI 3 P7
Reviews of fiction, poetry, and drama are entered under the author of the work. Reviews of subject books are entered under the subject.
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature.
Shelf Location: Reference Table B AI3 R48 Restricted Resource
1890+ In the back of each current issue or annual volume is a section of book review citations arranged alphabetically by author of the book.
Science Fiction Book Review Index .
Shelf Location: Ref PN3433.8 H35 1985 Restricted Resource
An index to more than 13,800 book reviews appearing in over 70 science fiction, fantasy, and general periodicals from 1980-1984 as well as research index featuring the history of, or criticism on science fiction and fantasy literature, television programs, motion pictures, and graphic arts. 
Shakespearean Criticism .
Shelf Location: Ref PR 2965 S43 Restricted Resource
This resource provides valuable insight into Shakespeare's drama and poetry through "a multiplicity of viewpoints documenting the critical reaction of scholars and commentators from the seventeenth century to the present day."- Preface
Short Story Criticism .
Shelf Location: Ref PN 3373 S56 Restricted Resource
This resource concentrates on short story writers of "all eras and nationalities" and includes biographical information, criticisms, and a bibliography of each short story writer.
Film Review Annual.
Shelf Location: Ref PN1995 F55
This annual reprints reviews "of full-length films released in major markets in the United States during the course of the year." - Pref. The reviews are arranged by title of film and taken from magazines, journals, and newspapers; the date and page are part of the citation.
Magill's Survey of Cinema .
Shelf Location: Ref PN 1993.45 M3 Restricted Resource
The series covers American, British, Canadian, Australian, and other English language films of 1927-1981 (the sound era).
New York Times Film Reviews.
Shelf Location: Ref PN 1995 N4 Restricted Resource
About 16,000 reviews appear chronologically in the 1913/68 set; these are reprints of the reviews as they appeared in the newspaper.  It is published biennially.
New York Times Theater Reviews .
Shelf Location: Ref PN 2266 N48 1870-2000
The Times has published, in chronological order, the reviews as they appeared in the newspaper beginning with 1870.  The historical sets and the biennial volumes have indexes of titles, production companies, and personal names.
Variety Film Reviews .
Shelf Location: Ref PN 1995 V34 1983 Restricted Resource
The coverage begins with 1907 and includes the reviews as they appeared in Variety.  The inclusion of international film festivals is especially strong.

Variety Television Reviews .
Shelf Location: Ref PN 1992.3 U5 V36 Restricted Resource
The coverage begins with 1946 and includes the reviews as they appeared in Variety.

Serials Review .
Shelf Location: Ref PN 4832 S47 Restricted Resource

Internet Scout Project - Archives .
The Scout Report Archives is a searchable and browseable database to over nine years' worth of the Scout Report and subject-specific Scout Reports. It contains 16,969 critical annotations of carefully selected Internet sites and mailing lists.

ipl2:Information You Can Trust
The mission of Librarians' Index to the Internet is to provide a well-organized point of access for reliable, trustworthy, librarian-selected Internet resources.

 


Subject Specialist
Picture: Daisy Rearick

Daisy Rearick
Head of Periodicals/Microforms
Tel: (660) 785-4048

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files