SubjectsPlus: Spanish

TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
Book Search
Search the Library Catalog: for:

More library catalogs:   MOBIUS  | WorldCat

All Items by Source
Articles
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Online Book Collection
Primary Sources
Style & Citation Guides
Web Sites

Articles

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available

A multi-disciplinary database that provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.


Ciencia.Science.gov

Ciencia.Science.gov provides the same breadth and depth in science search as does Science.gov, covering over 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results from 17 organizations within 13 federal science agencies. Free access is provided to over 55 scientific databases and more than 2,100 selected scientific web sites. Integrating Microsoft's Translator, Spanish-language queries to Ciencia.Science.gov initiate searches of U.S. databases and web sites with results appearing in Spanish. This represents an innovative use of existing commercial technology to broaden public access to federal science information.


JSTOR Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years. JSTOR allows you to limit searches by English, Dutch, French, German, Italian, Latin, Portuguese, and Spanish language.
MLA Bibliography Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
A bibliography of scholarship in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4400 journals and series and 1000 book publishers.  About 75% are language and literature journal articles.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) Restricted Resource Some full text available
authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States.  You can limit your searches by the following languages: English, Spanish, Portuguese, French, German, and Italian. Click here for a list of journals indexed in HAPI since 1970.
Informe Restricted Resource Some full text available
Created exclusively for Spanish-speaking users, this reference tool provides full-text of popular Hispanic magazines - not just translations.

LexisNexis News Restricted Resource Some full text available
A wide variety of newspapers with a variety of days covered. The Guided News Search can narrow searches to business, legal, medical, university, arts & sports, and non-English language news (Dutch, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish).
Literature Resource Center (LRC) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers from around the world in all disciplines and time periods.
Project MUSE Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full-text titles from over 100 scholarly journals in the Basic Undergraduate Collection. There is no way to limit to language on Project Muse searches. 

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas.  Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Enciclopedia hispánica.
Shelf Location: Reference AE61 E57 2005 Restricted Resource

Dictionary of Hispanic biography.
Shelf Location: Reference CT1343 .D53 1996 Restricted Resource

Encyclopedia of contemporary Spanish culture.
Shelf Location: Reference DP233.5 .E63 1999 Restricted Resource

Encyclopedia of Latin American literature.
Shelf Location: Reference PQ7081.A1 E56 1997 Restricted Resource

Encyclopedia of world literature in the 20th century.
Shelf Location: Reference PN 774 L433

Hispanic culture of Mexico, Central America, and the Caribbean.
Shelf Location: General Collection F1234 .H794 1996 Restricted Resource

Hispanic writers.
Shelf Location: Reference PQ 7081.3 H58 1999 Restricted Resource

Larousse gran diccionario : inglés-español, español-inglés.
Shelf Location: Reference PC4640 .L393 2004 Restricted Resource

Latin American writers.
Shelf Location: Reference PQ 7081 A1 L37 1989 Restricted Resource

The Oxford companion to Spanish literature.
Shelf Location: Reference PQ6006 .O93 Restricted Resource

Online Book Collection

Electronic Text Center
digital collection of publications in about 12 languages at University of Virginia, part of it is freely accessible

Electronic Text Collections in Western European Literature
Lists internet sources for literary texts in the western European languages other than English

Primary Sources

World Digital Library

The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.


Style & Citation Guides

Citation and Writing Guides Some full text available
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style.  This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: EndNote, Zotero, and EasyBib.com.

Web Sites

American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (ACTFL)
The American Council  on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (ACTFL) is the only national organization dedicated to the improvement and expansion of the teaching and learning of all languages at all levels of instruction. ACTFL is an individual membership organization of more than 9,000 foreign language educators and administrators from elementary through graduate education, as well as government and industry.
American Translators Association
ATA is a professional association founded to advance the translation and interpreting professions and foster the professional development of individual translators and interpreters.
Center for Applied Linguistics
a group of scholars and educators who use the findings of linguistics and related sciences in identifying and addressing language-related problems

Center for Language Education and Research at Michigan State University

The Center of Language Education and Research (CLEAR) at Michigan State University was established in 1996 as a Language Resource Center (LRC) through a Title VI grant from the U.S. Department of Education. As an LRC, CLEAR strives to promote and support the teaching and learning of foreign languages in the United States through its various projects and outreach activities.


Defense Language Institute Foreign Language Center
 The acknowledged leader in all aspects of culturally based foreign language education, DLIFLC is an innovative and continuously adapting organization, operating on the cutting edge of language instruction and technology."
Ethnologue
a catalogue of more than 6,700 languages spoken in 228 countries
Foreign Language and Culture Page
offers easy access to hundreds of language-related sites, easily organizing them by language. In addition, you can find links to everything from the CIA World Factbook to crossword puzzles in Dutch.

iLoveLanguages
a comprehensive catalog of language-related Internet resources; it has over 2,400 of the best language links the Web has to offer. Whether you're looking for online language lessons, translating dictionaries, native literature, translation services, software, language schools, or just a little information on a language in which you are interested, this site probably has something to suit your needs.

LANIC: Latin American Network Information Center
associated with the Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies at the University of Texas (UT)-Austin, LANIC seeks to "provide Latin American users with access to academic databases and information services throughout the Internet, and to provide Latin Americanists around the world with access to information on and from Latin America."

Lexicool
This web site provides a searchable directory to over 6000 freely available online bilingual and multilingual dictionaries and glossaries. Searches may be entered by language(s), subject, or title/keyword. Search results provide the number of entries and links to the online dictionaries. The site also provides a directory of translation and interpreting courses, a listing of translator and interpreter associations worldwide, language resources, freeware to download and links to sites for currency conversion, text analysis and language identification. Language-related software and products may be purchased at the website.

Modern Language Association Language Map
The MLA Language Map uses data from the 2000 United States census to display the locations and numbers of speakers of thirty languages and three groups of less commonly spoken languages in the United States.

radio-locator
A list of radio stations on the internet

UCLA Language Materials Project
provides learning resources for less commonly taught languages of the world, ranging from Armenian to Zulu.

Word Reference.com
Superior translation dictionaries for French, Italian, and Spanish
Yamada Language Center at the University of Oregon
guide to language resources on the World Wide Web.