SubjectsPlus: Women's and Gender Studies

TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
Book Search
Search the Library Catalog: for:

More library catalogs:   MOBIUS  | WorldCat

All Items by Source
Articles
Biographical Information
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Handbooks & Guides
Online Book Collection
Primary Sources
Specialized Sources
Web Sites

Articles

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available

A multi-disciplinary database that provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.


JSTOR Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
PsycARTICLES Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
Full text access to over 50 journals of the American Psychological Association (APA).
PsycINFO Restricted Resource
Citations and abstracts of articles from journals in Psychology and other social science disciplines including Anthropology, Education, Medicine, Nursing, and Psychiatry, from mid-19th century to present.  Also includes citations to books and book chapters from 1987 to present.
SocIndex with Full Text Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
A comprehensive sociology research database with more than 1.9 million records and the full text for over 400 journals dating back to 1908.  Also contains full text for more than 700 books and monographs and more than 6000 conference papers.  Journals related to Criminology & Criminal Justice, Education, Gender Studies/GLBT Studies, History, and Education are also found in this database.  For some journals, there may be a 12 month delay in provision of full text content.

Biographical Information

Biography and Genealogy Master Index Restricted Resource
 A comprehensive index to biographical sources. One simultaneous user.

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Dictionary of Feminist Theory.
Shelf Location: REF HQ1115 .H86 1995


Encyclopedia of Feminist Literature.
Shelf Location: REF PN471 .S58 2006


Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures.
Shelf Location: REF HQ 1170 .E53 2003 (6 vols.)


Encyclopedia of Women and Religion in North America.
Shelf Location: REF BL458 .E52 2006


Encyclopedia of Women in American History.
Shelf Location: REF HQ1410 .E53 2002 (3 vols)


Encyclopedia of Women in American Politics.
Shelf Location: REF HQ 1236.5 .U6 E53 1999


Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide: Asia and Oceania.
Shelf Location: REF HQ1726 .G74 2003

Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide: Central and South America.
Shelf Location: REF HQ1467 .G74 2003

Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide: Europe.
Shelf Location: General HQ1588 .G74 2003

Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide: North America and the Caribbean.
Shelf Location: REF HQ1400 .G74 2003

Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide: The Middle East and North Africa.
Shelf Location: REF HQ1726.5 .G74 2003

Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues: Sub-Saharan Africa
Shelf Location: REF HQ1788 .G74 2003

Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women: Global Women's Issues and Knowledge.
Shelf Location: REF HQ1115 .R69 2000 (4 vols)


Handbooks & Guides

Handbook of the Sociology of Gender.
Shelf Location: General HQ 1075 .C47 1999
Click here for Table of Contents

Online Book Collection

ebrary Restricted Resource Some full text available
ebrary's Academic Complete is a growing ebook collection offering online, full-text access to over 70,000 titles in all academic subject areas.

Primary Sources

Defining Gender, 1450-1910 Restricted Resource Some full text available

A digitized collection focusing on many aspects of gender, sexuality and culture in Great Britain. The wide range of original sources include ephemera, pamphlets, commonplace books, diaries, periodicals, letters, ledgers, manuscript journals, poetry, receipt books and conduct and advice literature. The collections and contextual essays by leading scholars are grouped into these five main themes:

  • Conduct and Politeness
  • Domesticity & the Family
  • Consumption & Leisure
  • Education & Sensibility
  • The Body


 


Specialized Sources

Web Sites

Childinfo: Monitoring the Situation of Children and Women
"The links on this site, produced under the auspices of UNICEF, connect to the vast resources of UN databases and publications.  Information on the site is updated frequently. . .the scope and comprehensiveness of coverage of topics on children and women is impressive.  .  .articles, pamphlets, photo essays, and videos available for uploading in a variety of formats.  Not all are equally easy to access. . .files with many illustrations and graphs require some patience. . .Overall, this is a treasure trove for students and researchers interested in convenient access to UN information on women and children.  .  .Highly recommended.  Koblitz, A.H., Arizona State University.  Choice Reviews Online.  Aug. 2010.  Web.  10 Aug. 2012.

Feminist Theory Web Site
". . .The site is undeniably useful for anybody interested in learning more about feminist theory. . .The feminist fields cover everything from aesthetics and body studies to religion, separatism, and science. . .The English-language pages offer remarkably complete bibliographic listings and serve as an excellent tool for researchers at any level.  Highly recommended."  Standish, R.A., University of Maryland University College.  Choice Reviews Online.  July 2006.  Web.  9 Aug. 2012.

Guttmacher Institute
"The Guttmacher Institute keeps track of the changing legality, availability, and safety of various methods of abortion and contraception all over the world, and has broadened its focus to include sex education, HIV/AIDS, and reporductive health.  Theirs is one of the most authoritative web sites of the hundreds that deal with women's reproductive health and rights."   
Koblitz, A.H., Arizona State University.  Choice Reviews Online.  Oct. 2009.  Web.  9 Aug. 2012.

Please note that the reviewer also found  some problems with navigation, "dead links" and inconsistencies in some of the statistcis presented, but still gives a "recommended" vote for the site.

Institute for Women's Policy Research
"The Institute for Women's Public Policy Research (IWPR) is a nonprofit scientific research organization that 'conducts rigorous research and disseminates its findings to address the needs of women, promote public dialogue, and strengthen families, communities, and societies.'  It works in affiliation with graduate programs in public policy and women's studies at George Washington University. . .Among available publications is the monthly online Research News Reporter (RNR). . .Most RNR articles include URLS to the original research and are archived back to 1998. . .Highly recommended."  Peelle, J.E., Kenyon College.  Choice Reviews Online.  May 2006.  Web.  9 Aug. 2012.

The Men's Bibliography: A Comprehensive Bibliography of Writing on Men, Masculinities, Gender, & Sexualities
"Now in its 18th edition since 1992, The Men's Bibliography is a remarkable achievement, given that its subject matter until recently was often not even recognized as a distinct, legitimate field of academic inquiry and research.  .  .created and maintained by Michael Flood (sociology, Univ. of Wollongong, Australia), provides access to more than 19,600 books and articles arranged in 30-plus major categories (e.g. 'violence and responses to violence,'). . .Highly recommended."  Elmore, M.P., Southern Connecticut University.  Choice Reviews Online. May 2008. Web. 9 Aug. 2012.

WomanStats Project
Through the efforts of research assistants and professors at several U.S. universities, the Woman Stats Project seeks to examine the relationship between the circumstances of women and the stability of particular nations. . .The capability of searching several countries at once allows researchers to easily compare and contrast data. . .Variables are catagorized under such areas as women's health, physical security, and legal security.  Currrently the database features 260 variables for 174 countries. . .Useful for researchers in women women's studies and other areas in the social sciences."
Ganster, L.A. University at Buffalo Libraries.  Choice  September, 2009.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Lisa Glaubitz

Lisa Glaubitz
Reference
Tel: (660) 785-7412

Research Assistance Program
  • Provides one-on-one assistance for research assignments with a subject reference librarian.
  • Helps you find appropriate sources of information (databases, electronic sources, etc.) based on the requirements of your assignment.
  • Shows you search techniques.Helps you find valuable resources outside of Pickler through our MOBIUS and Interlibrary Loan service.

    To schedule a RAP consultation, you can:
  • Send an email to: RAP session
  • Call 660-785-4051
  • Come to the Library Service Desk
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files