SubjectsPlus: Fellowships & Scholarships

TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
Book Search
Search the Library Catalog: for:

More library catalogs:   MOBIUS  | WorldCat

All Items by Source
Government Information
Specialized Sources
Web Sites

Government Information

FAFSA - Free Application for Federal Student Aid Some full text available

"The Free Application for Federal Student Aid (known as the FAFSA) is a form that can be prepared annually by current and prospective college students (undergraduate and graduate) in the United States to determine their eligibility for student financial aid (including the Pell Grant, Federal student loans and Federal Work-Study).[1]

Despite its name, the application is not for a single federal program, being rather the gateway of consideration for:

  1. the nine federal student-aid programs
  2. the 605 state aid programs
  3. most of the institutional aid available" (Wikipedia)

FAFSA: Federal School Code Search Some full text available
A searchable list of the school codes used to complete the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA). From the U.S. Department of Education.
GovLoans.gov Some full text available
"Five federal agencies -- U.S. Department of Agriculture, U.S. Department of Education, U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, U.S. Small Business Administration, and the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs -- have come together to create this single point of access for federal loan information on the Web." Browse or search for loans for farming, businesses, students, disaster relief, and more. Includes a glossary of loan terms and links to additional resources."
Student Aid on the Web Some full text available
This site from the U.S. Department of Education's Federal Student Aid (FSA) program describes funding and loan repayment considerations relating to attending schools from elementary through graduate. Also find information about preparing for college, selecting a school, and applying to a program. Provides information for students, parents, and counselors. Available in English and Spanish. Searchable.

Specialized Sources

Money for Graduate Students in the Arts and Humanities
Shelf Location: Reference LB 2337.4S3536 2010-2012 Restricted Resource Some full text available


Money for Graduate Students in the Biological Sciences
Shelf Location: Reference LB 2337.2 M663 2010-2012 Restricted Resource Some full text available


Money for Graduate Students in the Social and Behavioral Sciences
Shelf Location: Reference LB 2337.2 M667 2010-2012 Restricted Resource Some full text available


Scholarships, Fellowships and Loans
Shelf Location: Reference LB 2338 S35 2012 Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides information on financial aid for the student who is completing high school; who is starting or is already enrolled in post-secondary education; who is a graduate student, a post-graduate student, a researcher, or a student of law, medicine, dentistry or veterinary medicine.

Ultimate Scholarship Book 2013: Billions of Dollars in Scholarships, Grants and Prizes
Shelf Location: General Collection LB 2338 T36 2012


Web Sites

Back to College Some full text available
Resource center for re-entry and nontraditional students, with lots of information about everything from choosing a college to using academic reference materials.
Boren Awards for International Study Some full text available
 "National Security Education Program (NSEP) is a unique scholarship opportunity for U.S. undergraduates to gain knowledge of languages and cultures in areas of the  world less frequently studied."
Fastweb! Some full text available
A free website for finding scholarships. This requires an extensive registration.

Foundation Scholarships - Truman State University Some full text available
This scholarship application site is for currently enrolled Truman students to apply for scholarships that will be awarded in subsequent semesters at Truman. 
Peterson's Undergraduate Financial Aid Database Some full text available
Peterson's Undergraduate Financial Aid Database is a comprehensive source of information about college- administered financial aid sources for undergraduate students. The data elements included describe the kinds of aid these students receive at a given institution, and how much aid of each type—need- based and non-need based (specific characteristics, special talents, or achievements)—is typically awarded, as well as self-help options like work-study jobs and various college-administered loan programs. Also included are data describing aid awarded to the entering freshman class and undergraduate international students. Required financial aid forms and filing deadlines, notification dates, and reply deadlines are also contained in this database.
Truman Scholarships Some full text available
This site has information for Truman students about automatic scholarships; competitive scholarships and scholarship renewal.

United Negro College Fund Some full text available
Features information about the programs, scholarships, and member colleges of this "minority higher education assistance organization." Include a timeline of the organization, information about scholarships for students attending historically Black colleges and universities, and profiles of member colleges (browsable by name and discipline).
Subject Specialist
Picture: Carol Lockhart

Carol Lockhart
Reference Librarian
Tel: (660) 785-7417

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files