TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
Book Search
Search the Library Catalog: for:

More library catalogs:   MOBIUS  | WorldCat

All Items by Source

Articles

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available

The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.


EconLit Restricted Resource openURL
An index of economic literature including journals, books and working papers.  Four simultaneous users.
Humanities International Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 1,200 journals.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
MLA Bibliography Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
A bibliography of scholarship in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4400 journals and series and 1000 book publishers.  About 75% are language and literature journal articles.
Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource openURL
Historical coverage of  the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Articles from 1800 jouranls are indexed, same dating back to 1955.

Data/Statistics

African Statistical Yearbook -
Print Location: Reference HA1955 A49 Restricted Resource

International Historical Statistics : Africa, Asia & Oceania, 1750-1993
Print Location: Reference HA4675 .M55 1998   Restricted Resource

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Africa and the Americas: culture, politics, and history : a multidisciplinary encyclopedia Restricted Resource Some full text available
Explores the many long-standing influences of Africa and people of African descent on the culture of the Americas, while tracing the many ways in which the Americas remain closely interconnected with Africa.
African Studies Companion: A Guide to Information Sources -
Print Location: Reference DT19.8 Z45 2003

Encyclopedia of African History - Restricted Resource Some full text available

This three volume set provides entries on the history of the entire African continent, ranging from the earliest evolution of human beings in Africa to the beginning of the twenty-first century. Includes 99 maps.
Also availalbe in print: Reference DT20 E53 2005


Encyclopedia of African History and Culture.
Print Location: Reference DT3 .P27 2001
Volume 1. Ancient  Africa (prehistory to 500 CE) -- Volume 2. African kingdoms (500 to 1500) -- Volume 3. From conquest to colonialization (1500 to 1850).
Encyclopedia of precolonial Africa : Archaeology, History, Languages, Cultures, and Environments -
Print Location: Reference DT2 .E53 1993

New Encyclopedia of Africa.
Print Location: Reference DT2 .N48 2008
The 5 volume set addresses the entire history of African cultures from the pharaohs and the ancient civilizations of the south through the colonial era to the emergence of 53 independent countries, some of them, like Nigeria, newly emergent in world commerce and others deep in conflict (Sudan, Liberia, Congo).
Peoples of Africa : an Ethnohistorical Dictionary.
Print Location: Reference GN645 .O47 1996
provides a brief description of the more than 1,800 individual African ethnic groups living today in Africa. Where possible, the individual ethnic groups are discussed in terms of their geographical settings, religion, population, and local economy.

Online Book Collection

eBook Collection (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:

      eBook Academic Collection
      eBook Clinical Collection
      eBook Community College Collection
      eBook High School Collection
      eBook K-8 Collection
      eBook Public Library Collection
eBook Collection (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:

      eBook Academic Collection
      eBook Clinical Collection
      eBook Community College Collection
      eBook High School Collection
      eBook K-8 Collection
      eBook Public Library Collection
ebrary Restricted Resource Some full text available
ebrary's Academic Complete is a growing ebook collection offering online, full-text access to over 70,000 titles in all academic subject areas.

Primary Sources

Abolition & Emancipation
Microform Location: Microfilm HT 1025 A26 1996 Restricted Resource
Includes papers of Zachary Macaulay (1768-1838), Scottish philanthropist who was the Governor of the Sierra Leone colony that had been established in 1788 for freed slaves. He held the post of Governor for six years, and then Secretary of the Sierra Leone Company for a further nine years. In 1823 he was instrumental in the founding of the Anti-Slavery Society
Africa through Western Eyes
Microform Location: Microfilm DT 32.5 A37 1999 Restricted Resource
This 9 reel set of microfilm is especially strong for Nigeria, Uganda, South Africa, Congo, and Kenya.  Some of the collections featured are:
  • 41 notebooks of Cuthbert Christy, the explorer, featuring accounts of his experiences in Nigeria, 1896-1899, in Uganda, 1902-1903, the Congo, 1903-04 & 1912-1916; Calabar & Benin, 1909, East Africa, c 1910, and recording his work for the International Commission of Enquiry looking into slavery in Liberia.
  • African diaries of A R H Mann recording a journey in 1935 from London, via Egypt, to the Sudan, Kenya, Uganda, Belgian Congo, French Equatorial Africa, the Cameroons and South Africa.
  • Letterbooks and diaries of Sir John Hawley Glover describing the Ashanti campaign, 1873-1874
  • 5 volumes of notes concerning the local history, customs and administration of Senegambie
  • Reminiscences of Philip Louis Tengely about life in Benin, Accra and Sierra Leone at the turn of the century
  • An account of a journey in French West Africa, c 1901, by S Forbes White
  • George K Baskerville's manuscript history of missionary activity in Uganda, 1876-1927
  • T O Fraser's Boer war diary and Charles du Val's "The News of the Camp", issued during the Siege of Pretoria (the only complete collection)
     

British documents on foreign affairs--reports and papers from the Foreign Office confidential print -
Print Location: General Collection - varies JX632 - JX832
Series G, Africa, 1848-1914, General Collection Non-circulating JX632 .B769 1995. Series G, Africa, 1914-1939, General collection Non-circulating JX632 B769 1994.
Church Missionary Society Archive: Africa Missions -
Microform Location: Microfilm BV2500.A2 C58 Restricted Resource
Contains the papers of the West Africa (Sierra Leone) Mission 1803-1949, the Nigeria - Yoruba Mission papers 1844-1934, Nigeria - Niger 1857-1934, Nigeria - Northern Nigeria 1900-1934 and Nigeria Missions 1935-1949. The other papers included are the Sudan Mission 1905-1949, Egypt 1889-1949, South and East Africa 1836-1949 and East Africa 1875-1949, Mauritius and Madagascar 1856-1929, Persia (Iran) 1875-1949 and Turkish Arabia (Iraq) 1898-1949 and the Mediterranean and Palestine 1811-1949.
Transatlantic Slave Trade 1595-1866
Database containing information on over 30,000 slaving voyages.

Specialized Sources

eHRAF World Cultures Restricted Resource Some full text available
eHRAF World Cultures is a cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The database includes more than 350,000 pages of descriptive information on cultures and ethnic groups. The easiest way to use eHRAF is to browse by culture. Click Browse along the top then click on Browse Cultures by Regions. Africa is divided by country then by cultures (i.e. Niger-Hausa, Kanuri.)

Streaming Video Collections

Films on Demand Restricted Resource Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Films on Demand is a multi-disciplinary collection of streaming videos from Films Media Group. It includes over 8,000 full-length videos / 90,000 clips  that cover a wide range of academic disciplines: psychology, history, literature, languages, engineering, business, art, sociology, sciences and more. A tutorial is available that will show you how to access Films On Demand from anywhere.  It also instructs on how to add a Films On Demand video to Blackboard.  The tutorial is available at: http://clockhar.sites.truman.edu/films-on-demand/

Web Sites

Africa Past and Present
Podcasts about African history, culture and politics.
Africa South of the Sahara
Sponsored by Stanford University, with links to all countries and areas including national archives and government resources.
African National Congress
Contains government resources, historical documents, and full texts of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission reports.

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Janet Romine

Janet Romine
Head of Public Services
Tel: (660) 785- 7418