The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Complete collection of bibliographic references covering life science and biomedical literature published from more than 4,000 journals internationally.
BioOne Complete is BioOne's aggregation of more than 180 high quality, subscribed and open-access titles focused in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
Scientific and scholarly journals which have been peer-reviewed and are free.
Serves horticultural enthusiasts of all levels with more than 3.6 million articles from more than 100 journals, as well as more than 20 reference titles.
Scholarly journal articles on all subjects, some are full text; many have links to cited references.
GREENR (Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources) is an electronic resource that focuses on the study of sustainability and the environment. Topics include global warming, food safety, access to health care, and the impact of economic development on international relations.
A searchable database of American botanical literature from late 1995 to present. Search by subject category (eg. algae, fungi, etc.), author, article title, journal name, publisher, and keywords. New York Botanical Garden. Free to the public.
SciCentral is a science research news current awareness website. It has todays research news on biosciences, health sciences, physics, chemistry, earth & space, and engineering.
this is a Web search engine that searches across and federates more than 300 science related public and commercial Web Collections in real time. Collections include: Agricola; Directory of Open Access Journals; E-Print Network; NOAA PhotoLibrary; OAISter, NTIS, PubMed; Scholarpedia; Science.gov and numerous other science journals.
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
Print Location: Reference Q 141 B5285 2000
Biographical information for 2,500 women scientists from antiquity to mid-20th century ( all are dead). Give several paragraphs of information for each woman and bibliographic references.
Biographical information for over 1000 scientists. Can search by name, gender, minority status, historical period, nationality, and prize winners
This dictionary provides an authoritative and accessible guide to the lives, labours and achievements of the men and women who have shaped the world of science.
Lists the most cited researchers in 21 subject categories. Includes biographical information and a listing of publications. You can search by name, category, country, and institutional affiliation.
Print Location: Reference Q 141 N45 2008
An extensive collection of hundreds of thousands of acronyms, abbreviations, and initialisms.
An easy-to-use reference source covering the full range of subject areas associated with plant pathology.
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas. Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Print Location: Reference QK 99 A1 R2813 2005
Print Location: General Collection QK 110 F55 1993
Print Location: Reference QK 9 D52 2006
Produced by the U.S. Department of Agriculture, Natural Resources Conservation Service, this site is meant to serve as a central location for plant information presentated in a standardized format. It includes vascular plants (ferns, gymnosperms such as conifers, and flowering plants), mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens.
Science Reference Center™ is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content. Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Science Reference Center also satisfies the demand for standards-based content by providing teachers and librarians with articles correlated to state and national curriculum standards.
Print Location: General Collection QK 170 Y38 1999
Print Location: Reference QK 100 N6 B87 2001
Print Location: General Collection QK 98.5 U6 E35
Searchable database to Audubon animal and plant field guides.
Print Location: General Collection QK 115 P46 1998
Print Location: General Collection QK 99 U6 F68 2000
Print Location: General Collection QK 133 P43 1998
Print Location: General Collection QK 170 D45 2008
Print Location: General Collection QK 617 M84 1995
Print Location: General Collection QK 110 B73 2010
Print Location: QK 100 N6 T87 2009
Print Location: General Collection QK 100 A1 F7613 2005
Print Location: General Collection QK 98.5 M8 P48 1998
Deals with the critical area of energy, helps develop mineral resources in an environmentally safe manner, protects Missouri's land, air and water resources and works to preserve the state's historic and natural heritage through state parks and state historic sites.
Provides information about the abundance, distribution and conservation needs of both plant and animal species in Missouri. Produced by the Missouri Departtment of Conservation.
Science.gov searches over 38 databases and 1,950 selected websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results.
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:
eBook Academic Collection
eBook Clinical Collection
eBook Community College Collection
eBook High School Collection
eBook K-8 Collection
eBook Public Library Collection
ebrary's Academic Complete is a growing ebook collection offering online, full-text access to over 70,000 titles in all academic subject areas.
Global plants is the world's largest database of digitized plant specimens.
Films on Demand is a multi-disciplinary collection of streaming videos from Films Media Group. It includes over 8,000 full-length videos / 90,000 clips that cover a wide range of academic disciplines: psychology, history, literature, languages, engineering, business, art, sociology, sciences and more. A tutorial is available that will show you how to access Films On Demand from anywhere. It also instructs on how to add a Films On Demand video to Blackboard. The tutorial is available at: http://clockhar.sites.truman.edu/films-on-demand/
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style. This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: EndNote, Zotero, and EasyBib.com.
Botanical Society of America site which lists major botany links and resources on the Web. Includes botanical e-journals and newsletters.
Has description with picture of the plant; impact, management and reference list.
The Encyclopedia of Life (EOL) is an ambitious, even audacious project to organize and make available via the Internet virtually all information about life present on Earth. At its heart lies a series of Web sites—one for each of the approximately 1.8 million known species—that provide the entry points to this vast array of knowledge. The entry-point for each site is a species page suitable for the general public, but with several linked pages aimed at more specialized users.
The International Plant Science Center: New York Botanical Garden is a welll organized page. The main page is divided into three major sections, Collections, Research and Resources. Collections section includes links to the Steere Herbarium and The C.V. Starr Virtual Herbarium. The virtual herbarium offers a wealth of information including project information specimen lists, and a searchable specimen catalog. There are Flash presentations on selected topics. The Resources section offers access to the NYBG's Index Herbariorum, a searchable database of nearly 4,000 public herbaria and 10,000 specialists/professionals.
This site provides access to the Missouri Botanical Garden's VAST (VAScular Tropicos) nomenclatureal database and associated authority files.
Research & Instruction
Tel: (660) 785- 7417
- Provides one-on-one assistance for research assignments with a subject reference librarian.
- Helps you find appropriate sources of information (databases, electronic sources, etc.) based on the requirements of your assignment.
- Shows you search techniques.Helps you find valuable resources outside of Pickler through our MOBIUS and Interlibrary Loan service.
- Send an email to: RAP session
- Call 660-785-4051
- Come to the Library Service Desk