TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
Book Search
Search the Library Catalog: for:

More library catalogs:   MOBIUS  | WorldCat

All Items by Source

Articles

Humanities International Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 1,200 journals.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
MLA Bibliography Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
A bibliography of scholarship in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4400 journals and series and 1000 book publishers.  About 75% are language and literature journal articles.
Art Full Text Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
A comprehensive resource for art information featuring full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, high-quality indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations.
Art Index Retrospective Restricted Resource openURL
A companion to Art Full Text, this database provides citations to older articles published between 1929 - 1984 in international arts periodicals. 
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective Restricted Resource openURL
Indexing of over 1200 periodicals, some going back as far as 1907.  Also has coverage of many important scientific journals up to the 1950s.
L'Année Philologique Online Restricted Resource
 L' Année philologiqueis a specialized bibliographic database of scholarly works relating to all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilizations. It covers a wide array of subjects, including Greek and Latin literature and linguistics—which includes early Christian texts and patristics—Greek and Roman history, art, archaeology, philosophy, religion, mythology, music, science, and scholarly subspecialties such as numismatics, papyrology and epigraphy.

Abstracts of journal articles are in English, German, Spanish, French or Italian. Books entries often include tables of contents and book review information.

Published by the Société Internationale de Bibliographie Classique


MLA Directory of Periodicals Restricted Resource
Detailed descriptions of over 7100 journals, including information on editorial contacts, publication frequency, circulation, subscription prices, and submission guidelines.
Essay and General Literature Index,1900-2001.
Print Location: Reference AI 3 E752
A detailed index by author, subject, and some titles to essays published in books.

Biographical Information

Who's Who in Classical Mythology.
Print Location: General Collection BL715.G68 2002 Restricted Resource

Who's Who in the Classical World.
Print Location: Reference DE 7.W48 2000 Restricted Resource

Who's Who in the Greek World.
Print Location: Reference DE 7.H39 2000 Restricted Resource

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Atlas of the Greek and Roman World in Antiquity.
Print Location: Reference Atlases G1033.A84 1981 Restricted Resource

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas.  Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Makers of Classical Archaeology.
Print Location: Reference DE9.A1 M43 2000

Oxford Companion to Classical Literature.
Print Location: Reference PA31 H69 1989

Oxford History of Classical Art.
Print Location: General Collection N 5610.O84 1993 Restricted Resource

Battles of the Greek and Roman worlds.
Print Location: Reference D25.A2 M66 2000 Restricted Resource

Cassell Dictionary of Classical Mythology.
Print Location: Reference BL715 M37 1999 Restricted Resource

Classical Studies: a guide to the reference literature.
Print Location: Reference PA 91 J45 1996 Restricted Resource

Crowell's Handbook of Classical Drama.
Print Location: Reference PA 3024. H35 Restricted Resource

Dictionary of Greek and Roman Antiquities.
Print Location: General Collection DE5 S6 1973 Restricted Resource

Greek and Latin authors, 800 B. C. - A. D. 1000.
Print Location: Reference PA 31 G7 Restricted Resource

Greek and Roman architecture.
Print Location: General Collection NA 260 R6 1969 Restricted Resource

Greek-English Lexicon.
Print Location: Reference PA445 E5 L6 1996 Restricted Resource

Handbook of Greek art .
Print Location: General Collection N 5630 R49 1967 Restricted Resource

Oxford Latin Dictionary.
Print Location: Reference PA 2365.E5 O9 Restricted Resource

Library Catalogs

WorldCat Restricted Resource
Combined catalog of thousands of libraries around the world. You can order books online, and they will be delivered usually within two weeks.  This service is available to current Truman students, faculty, and staff.  A modified version of  WorldCat  is also available for free.


Online Book Collection

eBook Collection (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:

      eBook Academic Collection
      eBook Clinical Collection
      eBook Community College Collection
      eBook High School Collection
      eBook K-8 Collection
      eBook Public Library Collection
ebrary Restricted Resource Some full text available
ebrary's Academic Complete is a growing ebook collection offering online, full-text access to over 70,000 titles in all academic subject areas.
Internet Classics Archive
Collection of ancient texts, primarily Greek and Latin.
Online Medieval and Classical Library
at Berkeley Digital Library SunSITE

Primary Sources

Perseus Project
Extensive digital library of ancient texts, art catalogs, secondary essays, and more.

Style & Citation Guides

Citation and Writing Guides Some full text available
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style.  This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: EndNote, Zotero, and EasyBib.com.

Web Sites

ABZU--Guide to Ancient Near Eastern Resources
Resource guide with numerous links about the Ancient Near East.

Ask the Oracle
Answers questions on ancient Greek and Roman literature, history and mythology.  Translates parts of ancient Greek and Latin texts.   Provides information on women in the ancient world, virtual maps and much more.

Classical and Medieval History
An annotated list of reference web sites developed by the Library of Congress

Classics Collections Page
A comprehensive site providing links grouped into categories such as Art & Archeology, Bibliographies, Classical Mythology, Databases, E-texts, Greek/Roman History and Journals.

Diotima
Wonderful interdisciplinary resource for women and gender in the ancient world.

Greek Mythology Link
The Greek Mythology Link is a collection of myths retold by Carlos Parada, author of Genealogical Guide to Greek Mythology, published in 1993  The GML contains texts, images, tables and maps. The mythical accounts are based exclusively on ancient sources.

Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists
TOCS-IN provides the tables of contents of a selection of Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals, both in text format and through a Web search program.
VROMA
Vroma is a site developed by teachers and scholars to create a virtual learning environment for classicists. It includes virtual tours of Rome as well as lists of resources.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Subject Specialist
Picture: Stephen Wynn

Stephen Wynn
Head of Technical Services
Tel: (660) 785- 4535

Tips

The Loeb Classical Library, through original text and English translation, gives access to all that is important in Greek and Latin literature. The editors provide substantive introductions as well as essential critical and explanatory notes and selective bibliographies.  Click here for a listing of titles from the Loeb Classical Library available in Pickler Memorial Library.