TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
Book Search
Search the Library Catalog: for:

More library catalogs:   MOBIUS  | WorldCat

All Items by Source

Articles

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available

The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.


Chronicle of Philanthropy Some full text available
A newspaper for the nonprofit world.
Foundation Center Catalog of Non-Profit Literature Some full text available
A searchable database of the literature of philanthropy. It incorporates the unique contents of the Foundation Center's five libraries and contains more than 28,000 full bibliographic citations, of which more than 20,000 have descriptive abstracts. It is updated daily
LexisNexis News Restricted Resource Some full text available
A wide variety of newspapers with a variety of days covered. The Guided News Search can narrow searches to business, legal, medical, university, arts & sports, and non-English language news (Dutch, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish).
Philanthropy News Digest Some full text available
A newsletter from  the Foundation Center.

Government Information

Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance Some full text available
The primary catalog for federal government grants.
ED.gov Some full text available
The Department of Education is providing grants to students, teachers, parents, and administrators.
Grants.gov Some full text available
A site to find and apply for government grants.
National Science Foundation-Active Funding Opportunities Some full text available
Find grant opportunities and that are being funded now. Biological sciences; computer science; information science; engineering; education; human resources; geoscience; integrative activities; polar programs; mathematics; physical sciences; social, behavioral and economic sciences; and international programs are included.

Online Book Collection

eBook Collection (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:

      eBook Academic Collection
      eBook Clinical Collection
      eBook Community College Collection
      eBook High School Collection
      eBook K-8 Collection
      eBook Public Library Collection

Specialized Sources

Developing and Writing Grant Proposals Some full text available
A must-read for those applying for federal grants.  By the staff of the Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance

Grants.gov. Applicant Resources Some full text available
A useful site with many links to FAQs, User Guides, Checklists, Animated Tutorials, and more...

Guide for Writing a Funding Proposal Some full text available
Has a nice example of a completed grant proposal.
How to Develop and Write a Grant Proposal Some full text available
This report is intended for people who are assisting graant seekers. It includes writing proposals for both government and private foundations grants.

Proposal Writing Short Course Some full text available
By The Foundation Center. This site offers excellent tips and strategies for grant writing.
What Do Winning Proposals Have in Common? Some full text available
Ten of the common elements found in winning proposals.

Web Sites

Foundation Center Some full text available
This comprehensive site has: a Foundation Finder, for finding basic information about foundations; news about grants including the Philanthropy News Digest, and the Foundation Directory Online (although to search the Foundation Directory Online you need assistance from the Truman State University Office of Grants and Foundation Relations 660-785-7459.)

Grant Advisor Plus Some full text available
A newsletter in Acrobat PDF format, database searches, deadline listings with extensive hyperlinks by discipline.
GrantsNet Some full text available
From AAAS.  This  site provides information about new grants.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Carol Lockhart

Carol Lockhart
Reference Librarian
Tel: (660) 785- 7417

Tips

The Grants Office helps students, faculty and staff find funding opportunities and write winning grant proposals. 

They are located at:
             
Office of Grants
McClain Hall 203
Kirksville, MO 63501
Ph: 660.785.7245 --- Fax: 660.785.7460
E-Mail:
kmckim@truman.edu

 
 

 

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files