TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
Book Search
Search the Library Catalog: for:

More library catalogs:   MOBIUS  | WorldCat

All Items by Source

Articles

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available

The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.


Humanities International Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 1,200 journals.
MLA Bibliography Restricted Resource openURL Some full text available
A bibliography of scholarship in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4400 journals and series and 1000 book publishers.  About 75% are language and literature journal articles.
Readers' Guide Retrospective. Restricted Resource openURL
1890-1982.  Index to older magazine articles.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
An archive of more than 1200 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Fulltext back to their date of first publication to within the current 2-5 years.
Literature Resource Center (LRC) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers from around the world in all disciplines and time periods.
Project MUSE Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full-text titles from over 100 scholarly journals in the Basic Undergraduate Collection. There is no way to limit to language on Project Muse searches. 

Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective Restricted Resource openURL
Indexing of over 1200 periodicals, some going back as far as 1907.  Also has coverage of many important scientific journals up to the 1950s.
L'Année Philologique Online Restricted Resource
 L' Année philologiqueis a specialized bibliographic database of scholarly works relating to all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilizations. It covers a wide array of subjects, including Greek and Latin literature and linguistics—which includes early Christian texts and patristics—Greek and Roman history, art, archaeology, philosophy, religion, mythology, music, science, and scholarly subspecialties such as numismatics, papyrology and epigraphy.

Abstracts of journal articles are in English, German, Spanish, French or Italian. Books entries often include tables of contents and book review information.

Published by the Société Internationale de Bibliographie Classique


ARTFL Project, Some full text available
Over 2000 French texts from the 13th-20th centuries are included, ranging from classical works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing.
Discovering Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
A collection of essays, critical analyses, biographical information, primary sources, and multimedia elements in the core subject areas of history, literature, biography, science and social studies.
ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages & Renaissance Restricted Resource
A bibliography of articles, essays, books, dissertation abstracts, and encyclopedia entries pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400 - 1700 AD). This material has been collected from 10,360 publications, including 1,710 journals.
MLA Directory of Periodicals Restricted Resource
Detailed descriptions of over 7100 journals, including information on editorial contacts, publication frequency, circulation, subscription prices, and submission guidelines.
Communication Abstracts, 1967-2001
Print Location: Reference P90 C65
Provides coverage of recent literature in the areas of general communication, mass communication, advertising and marketing, broadcasting, communication theory, interpersonal and intrapersonal communication, small group communication, organizational communication, journalism, public relations, radio, public opinion, speech, and television. 
Essay and General Literature Index,1900-2001.
Print Location: Reference AI 3 E752
A detailed index by author, subject, and some titles to essays published in books.
Index to Journals in Communication Studies
Print Location: Reference P87 M37
Often referred to as the Matlon guide, this subject and author index covers a number of important communication journals.
Language Teaching, 1982+
Print Location: Periodicals PB35 L322
Indexes scholarly journals on learning and teaching languages.

Biographical Information

Biography and Genealogy Master Index Restricted Resource
 A comprehensive index to biographical sources. One simultaneous user.

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Credo Reference Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas.  Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
American Writers.
Print Location: Reference PS 129 A55

Benet's reader's encyclopedia.
Print Location: Reference PN41.B4 1996

Bloomsbury Guide to Women's Literature.
Print Location: Reference PN 471 B57 1992

Contemporary literary criticism.
Print Location: Reference PN771.C62
211 volumes
Dictionary of literary biography.
Print Location: Reference PS221 D5 1989

Encyclopedia of folklore and literature.
Print Location: Reference PN41.E48 1998

Encyclopedia of the novel.
Print Location: Reference PN41.E487 1998

Encyclopedia of world literature in the 20th century.
Print Location: Reference PN 774 L433

Literary research guide : an annotated listing of reference sources in English literary studies.
Print Location: Reference PR83 .H27 2002

Magill's survey of world literature.
Print Location: Reference PN523.M29 1993

Oxford Companion to English literature.
Print Location: Reference PR19.O94 2000

Twentieth-century literary criticism.
Print Location: Reference PN94. T94
168 volumes

Online Book Collection

eBook Collection (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:

      eBook Academic Collection
      eBook Clinical Collection
      eBook Community College Collection
      eBook High School Collection
      eBook K-8 Collection
      eBook Public Library Collection
ebrary Restricted Resource Some full text available
ebrary's Academic Complete is a growing ebook collection offering online, full-text access to over 70,000 titles in all academic subject areas.
Alex Catalogue of Electronic texts
collection of public domain documents from American and English literature as well as Western philosophy

American Verse Project
electronic archive of volumes of American poetry prior to 1920 at University of Michigan

Bartleby: Great Books online.
Comprehensive literature works collection
Electronic Text Center
digital collection of publications in about 12 languages at University of Virginia, part of it is freely accessible

Folklore and Mythology Electronic Texts
collected by D. L. Ashliman of University of Pittsburgh.  Coverage is international, but is particularly rich in Nordic/Germanic selections.

Online Books Page
website that facilitates access to books that are freely readable over the Internet hosted by the University of Pennsylvania Library

Online Medieval and Classical Library
at Berkeley Digital Library SunSITE

Project Gutenberg
oldest producer of free e-books on the internet

Primary Sources

America's Historical Imprints Restricted Resource
Digital collection of books, pamphlets, and  broadsides published in America from 1670-1819
Includes:
  • Early American Imprints, Series I: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1670-1800;
  • Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819;
  • Early American Imprints, Series II: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1801-1819

Style & Citation Guides

Citation and Writing Guides Some full text available
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style.  This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: EndNote, Zotero, and EasyBib.com.

Web Sites

Center for Applied Linguistics
a group of scholars and educators who use the findings of linguistics and related sciences in identifying and addressing language-related problems

Subject Specialist
Picture: Daisy Rearick

Daisy Rearick
Head of Periodicals/Microforms
Tel: (660) 785- 4048

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files