TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY Pickler Memorial Library Truman State University
Book Search
Search the Library Catalog: for:

More library catalogs:   MOBIUS  | WorldCat

All Items by Source

Articles

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource openURL Resource contains images Some full text available

The world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.


DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals Some full text available
Scientific and scholarly journals which have been peer-reviewed and are free.

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available

Provides a wide range of full-text news, business, legal, and reference information.


LexisNexis News Restricted Resource Some full text available
A wide variety of newspapers with a variety of days covered. The Guided News Search can narrow searches to business, legal, medical, university, arts & sports, and non-English language news (Dutch, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish).
Readers' Guide Retrospective. Restricted Resource openURL
1890-1982.  Index to older magazine articles.
SPORTDiscus Restricted Resource openURL
Comprehensive coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines provided by the Sport Information Resource Center (SPIRS).  Includes over 700,000 records of monographs and journal articles going back as far as 1800.

Biographical Information

Notable Sports Figures.
Print Location: Reference GV 697 A1 N68 2004 Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available


Data/Statistics

ESPN Sports Almanac.
Print Location: Reference GV 741 I58 2009 Restricted Resource Some full text available


Statistical Encyclopedia of North American Professional Sports.
Print Location: Reference GV 581 G37 2008 Restricted Resource Some full text available


Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Abbreviations.com Some full text available
An extensive collection of hundreds of thousands of acronyms, abbreviations, and initialisms. 
Berkshire Encyclopedia of World Sport.
Print Location: Reference GV 567 B48 2005 Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available


Credo Reference Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Over 600 online reference titles in all subject areas.  Allows cross-referencing between titles and expanding searches into the Truman catalog and other library resources.
Famous First Facts About Sports.
Print Location: Reference GV 571 F73 2001 Restricted Resource Some full text available


Sports Rules Book.
Print Location: Reference GV 731 H85 Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available


Handbooks & Guides

The Sports Book: The Games, the Rules, the Tactics, the Techniques
Print Location: General Collection GV 707 S698 2007 Some full text available


Online Book Collection

eBook Collection (EBSCO) Restricted Resource Some full text available
This EBSCOhost eBook collection provides access to over 138,000 titles covering a wide variety of subject areas. It is comprised of the following sub-collecctions:

      eBook Academic Collection
      eBook Clinical Collection
      eBook Community College Collection
      eBook High School Collection
      eBook K-8 Collection
      eBook Public Library Collection
ebrary Restricted Resource Some full text available
ebrary's Academic Complete is a growing ebook collection offering online, full-text access to over 70,000 titles in all academic subject areas.

Streaming Video Collections

Films on Demand Restricted Resource Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Films on Demand is a multi-disciplinary collection of streaming videos from Films Media Group. It includes over 8,000 full-length videos / 90,000 clips  that cover a wide range of academic disciplines: psychology, history, literature, languages, engineering, business, art, sociology, sciences and more. A tutorial is available that will show you how to access Films On Demand from anywhere.  It also instructs on how to add a Films On Demand video to Blackboard.  The tutorial is available at: http://clockhar.sites.truman.edu/films-on-demand/

Style & Citation Guides

Citation and Writing Guides Some full text available
Guides for how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation style; the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation style; and the Chicago/Turabian citation style.  This page also has information on how to use tools that automatically format bibliographic information for you such as: EndNote, Zotero, and EasyBib.com.

Web Sites

Sport Science@The Exploratorium Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
"Learn about the science behind sports, including ice hockey, balls, and rock climbing. Also includes a sports science links and bibliography section, and the opportunity to ask a question about sports and science."  from Internet Public Library

Subject Specialist
Picture: Carol Lockhart

Carol Lockhart
Reference Librarian
Tel: (660) 785- 7417

Research Assistance Program
  • Provides one-on-one assistance for research assignments with a subject reference librarian.
  • Helps you find appropriate sources of information (databases, electronic sources, etc.) based on the requirements of your assignment.
  • Shows you search techniques.Helps you find valuable resources outside of Pickler through our MOBIUS and Interlibrary Loan service.
To schedule a RAP consultation, you can:
  • Send an email to: RAP session
  • Call 660-785-4051
  • Come to the Library Service Desk
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files